Vanilla, cupcakes and icing, oh my!

Finally figuring out how to cope with my son’s severe atopic dermatitis freed me up to perform all my best ‘mad scientist tricks’ in the kitchen.

Adapting my favourite recipes to be dairy, egg and nut free has become a passion of mine!

What kid doesn’t love cupcakes? My boys are no exception!

Michael has always favoured vanilla cupcakes over chocolate. He wanted to have vanilla cupcakes for his birthday celebration with the family and to share with his friends.

In honour of Michael’s 15th birthday, here is my recipe for Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Cupcakes.

Michael blowing out his candles on his birthday Dairy, Egg and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Vanilla Cupcakes


Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut  Free Vanilla Cupcakes

This recipe is adapted from my ever faithful Better Homes and Gardens NEW COOK BOOK. The original recipe is called Yellow Cake.

3 cups all-purpose unbleached flour
2 cups granulated sugar
1 tbsp baking powder
½ tsp baking soda
1 1/2 cups rice/soya milk
1/2 cup canola oil
1 1/2 tsp vanilla (homemade recipe below)
2 tbsp water
1/4 cup applesauce

Preheat oven to 375 F

In a mixing bowl, combine all the dry ingredients. In a large liquid measure, measure all the wet ingredients. Stir well. Add the wet to the dry and stir until just combined.

Line cupcake tin with paper liners. Fill with batter. This recipe will make more than 12 cupcakes. If you fill the liners with too much batter you will get giant cupcakes that will take 30 min to bake. With extra batter leftover to bake a few more.

Bake in oven for 25 minutes. Cool in cupcake tin on cooling rack for 10 minutes before removing. Ice when cooled with vanilla icing recipe below or dust with icing sugar and fill with your favourite jam or serve with fresh berries and ice cream. Yummy!

Recipe can be halved. It will make 9 cupcakes. Omit the applesauce and keep the ½ tsp of baking soda and 2 tbsp of water. Halve all the rest of the ingredients. Fill the 3 remaining cupcake spaces ¼ full of water. Bake at 375 for 25 min and let rest 10 min.

I always like to freeze a few cupcakes for those occasions when I need to send something into the school for a celebration or I need an impromptu treat! I just make a quick simple icing to swish on top.

Homemade Vanilla Extract

The smell of pure vanilla is heavenly!

My boys beg to have a whiff when I pull it out of the cupboard!

I have always splurged and purchased pure vanilla. In June 2008, I took the next step…I made my own!

The Barefoot Contessa (from her The Barefoot Contessa cookbook) had a recipe I couldn’t resist! I hunted around for a suitable glass bottle and purchased my vanilla beans a few each time I went grocery shopping. When I had my dozen vanilla beans, I put them in my glass bottle, filled the bottle with vodka and let them rest, hidden in my basement pantry.

So hidden, I forgot about my experiment for two years!

Two bottles of homemade pure vanilla

The Barefoot Contessa recommends leaving the beans to marinate for at least a month. One just needs to keep adding beans and vodka to keep a constant supply. She’s had hers for almost 20 years!

I have two on the go now, as my mother brought me back a kit to make your own vanilla from one of her travels. It came with a small bottle and the vanilla beans. It recommended splitting the beans open lengthwise, adding them to the bottle with vodka or light rum. I used vodka. Yummy!

My boys swear they can taste the difference! They are my biggest supporters!!

Dairy and Soy Free Vanilla Icing

I love icing! To me it has always been the best part of a cake or cupcake. I eat the cake first, and leave the last few mouthfuls for the sweet and gooey icing. My boys feel the same way!

I have never been a fan of store bought icing. To me there has always been something just not right with it. Frankly, I would rather just not eat it and go without cake than to suffer through it!

Homemade is truly the only way to go…why not give it a try…it’s so easy to make your own.

Once again, Better Homes and Gardens NEW COOK BOOK comes to my rescue! Their Butter Frosting recipe is the starting point for my dairy/soy free icing.

It is SCRUMDELICIOUS!!

This recipe is enough to frost the tops and sides of two 8 or 9 inch cake layers. I halved this recipe to ice 12 cupcakes with some leftover.

1/3 cup Earth Balance vegan sticks (for a soy free version use Earth Balance Soy Free Spread)
4 ½ cups sifted powdered sugar
¼ cup water
1 ½ tsp pure vanilla

In a bowl, beat the Earth Balance or dairy free margarine to soften. Gradually add 2 cups of the powdered sugar, beating well.
Combine the water and vanilla in a separate measure. Slowly beat in to the icing mixture.
Slowly beat in the remainder of the powdered sugar.
Now you are ready to ice your cupcakes!

Enjoy!

Always CHECK INGREDIENTS before you purchase products.

P.S: I discovered the best container for the cupcake to travel in, without disturbing the icing on top: Cup-a-Cake. I love them! I purchased mine from Williams Sonoma.

P.P.S. I have also seen cupcake holders at Kitchen Stuff Plus and some dollar stores.

 

54 thoughts on “Vanilla, cupcakes and icing, oh my!

  1. Pingback: What’s for dinner? Spaghetti, meatballs and French stick | The Food Allergy Chronicles

  2. Pingback: Dairy Free Rice Krispie Squares | The Food Allergy Chronicles

  3. Pingback: Dairy, Egg and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Chocolate Chip Cookies | The Food Allergy Chronicles

  4. Pingback: Dairy and Egg Free Chocolate Birthday Cake | The Food Allergy Chronicles

  5. Pingback: Dairy, Egg, Soy, and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Decadent Brownies | The Food Allergy Chronicles

  6. Pingback: Dairy, Sesame, Peanut/Tree Nut Free Granola Bars | The Food Allergy Chronicles

  7. Pingback: 2011 Allergy Friendly Hallowe’en Party | The Food Allergy Chronicles

  8. Pingback: Dairy, Egg, and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Chocolate Sandwich Cookies | The Food Allergy Chronicles

  9. Pingback: Dairy, Egg and Peanut/Tree Nut Sugar Cookie Ghost Cookies on a Stick | The Food Allergy Chronicles

  10. Pingback: Hearty Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Pumpkin Oatmeal Muffins | The Food Allergy Chronicles

  11. Pingback: Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Pumpkin Bundt Cake with Orange Drizzle | The Food Allergy Chronicles

  12. Pingback: Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free DOUGHNUTS | The Food Allergy Chronicles

  13. Pingback: Dairy,Egg and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Apple Bundt Cake | The Food Allergy Chronicles

  14. Pingback: Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Chocolate Chunk Oatmeal Cookies | The Food Allergy Chronicles

  15. Pingback: Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Cinnamon Buns | The Food Allergy Chronicles

  16. Pingback: Dairy, Egg and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Chocolate Chip Snowball Cookies | The Food Allergy Chronicles

  17. Pingback: Dairy, Egg, and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Chocolate Yule Log with Chocolate Bark | The Food Allergy Chronicles

  18. Pingback: Multiple Food Allergies: How To Survive Living A Life Of Limitations | The Food Allergy Chronicles

  19. Pingback: Dairy, Egg, and Peanut/Tree Nut Free ‘Sour Cream’ Chocolate Chip Bundt Cake | The Food Allergy Chronicles

  20. Pingback: Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free French Toast | The Food Allergy Chronicles

  21. Pingback: Gluten, Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Shortbread Easter Cookies | The Food Allergy Chronicles

  22. Pingback: Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Mini Vanilla Cupcakes for Easter | The Food Allergy Chronicles

  23. Pingback: Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Carrot Cake | The Food Allergy Chronicles

  24. Pingback: Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Carrot Cake Loaf with Dairy Free Orange Icing | The Food Allergy Chronicles

  25. Pingback: Gluten, Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Vanilla Cupcakes with Dairy and Soy free Vanilla Icing | The Food Allergy Chronicles

  26. Pingback: Celebrating With Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Chocolate and Vanilla Sheet Cakes | The Food Allergy Chronicles

  27. Pingback: I Love Carrot Cake! | thegrandparentsguide.com

  28. Pingback: Secret Sister Swap: My Basket For My Secret Sister | The Food Allergy Chronicles

  29. Pingback: Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Grade 8 Graduation Cupcakes! | The Food Allergy Chronicles

  30. Pingback: Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Chocolate Chip Zucchini Bundt Cake | The Food Allergy Chronicles

  31. Pingback: The Food Allergy Chronicles’ 2012 Summer Rented Cottage Holiday | The Food Allergy Chronicles

  32. Pingback: Michael Celebrates His Sweet Sixteenth…Cottage Style | The Food Allergy Chronicles

  33. Pingback: Happy Thanksgiving and Happy Birthday! Let’s celebrate with Dairy, Egg and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Apple Kuchen | The Food Allergy Chronicles

  34. Pingback: Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Chocolate Chip Banana Muffins | The Food Allergy Chronicles

  35. Pingback: Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Apple Cinnamon Muffins | The Food Allergy Chronicles

  36. Pingback: Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Oatmeal Pumpkin Cranberry Muffins | The Food Allergy Chronicles

  37. Pingback: The Toronto Star’s 2012 Cookie Calendar Countdown: Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free ’100 Good Cookies’ | The Food Allergy Chronicles

  38. Pingback: Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Mini Vanilla Cupcakes with Dairy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Chocolate Fondue | The Food Allergy Chronicles

  39. Pingback: Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Hot Cross Buns | The Food Allergy Chronicles

  40. Pingback: Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Oatmeal Lemon Raspberry Mini Muffins | The Food Allergy Chronicles

  41. Pingback: Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Chocolate Covered Oatmeal Bars | The Food Allergy Chronicles

  42. Pingback: Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Oatmeal Wild Blueberry Muffins | The Food Allergy Chronicles

  43. Pingback: Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Apricot Oatmeal Muffins | The Food Allergy Chronicles

  44. Pingback: Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Mini Lemon Bread | The Food Allergy Chronicles

  45. Pingback: WEEKLY DISH: Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Oatmeal Wild Blueberry Muffins | 1st Choice Weight Loss

  46. Pingback: Allergy Friendly Cupcakes To Celebrate A Job Well Done: Co-op Placement | The Food Allergy Chronicles

  47. Pingback: Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Brown Sugar Cinnamon Muffins/Cupcakes | The Food Allergy Chronicles

  48. Pingback: A Belated Father’s Day Family Barbecue: The Boys Help Make Dairy and Egg Free Pierogis | The Food Allergy Chronicles

    • Yes. I like Namaste Perfect Flour Blend…it can be used 1:1 with regular flour. Namaste products do not contain wheat, gluten, corn, soy, potato, dairy, casein, peanuts/tree nuts and are made with no genetically modified ingredients in a dedicated allergen-free facility. 🙂

      • Yay, thank you 🙂 I got a diagnosis of allergies to wheat, gluten, dairy, eggs, and peanuts yesterday…when I thought I was only allergic to dairy. Thank you for the response, I’m pretty lost right now!

      • Hang in there! 🙂 There is a learning curve but it can be done…you are not alone. Most of my recipes are not gluten-free but can be adapted. All are dairy and egg free. Anaphylaxis Canada is a great resource for information as is the magazine Allergic Living. 🙂

  49. Pingback: Dairy, Egg, and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Coconut Ice Cream Drizzled in Dairy Free Chocolate Sauce | The Food Allergy Chronicles

  50. Pingback: Joining My Boys With Food Allergies High School School Council | The Food Allergy Chronicles

Shall we discuss?