Dairy, Egg, and Peanut/Tree Nut Free ‘Sour Cream’ Chocolate Chip Bundt Cake

My all-time favourite childhood cake has to be Sour Cream Chocolate Chip Bundt Cake!

Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Chocolate Chip Cake

I have always been a fan of a really moist, dense, simple, white cake such as Pound Cake or as my English Grandmother would make…Madeira Cake.

My mother’s Sour Cream Chocolate Chip Bundt Cake took it to the next level for me…the addition of chocolate!

Of all the desserts my mother could make…this one ‘took the cake!’ Both my brother and I would request this cake when we visited during our University days.

It quickly became Matthew’s favourite cake! I would make it for parties and let him sample a piece…unfortunately, Michael was unable to try it due to his dairy and egg allergies. This limited my desire to make the cake…I haven’t made it in years.

Matthew is always begging me to adapt this recipe so that we all might enjoy this classic childhood favourite of his and mine, yet again. Now that allergen free products are on the market, I am able to resurrect this ‘diva’ of a cake!

I present to you my adapted recipe….Dairy, Egg, and Peanut/Tree Nut Free ‘Sour Cream’ Chocolate Chip Bundt Cake in all it’s glory!

Dairy, Egg, and Peanut/Tree Nut Free ‘Sour Cream’ Chocolate Chip Bundt Cake

Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Chocolate Chip Cake

1/2 cup Earth Balance at room temperature
1 cup granulated sugar
2 tbsp water
1/2 tsp pure vanilla
1 container of a 340g tub of Tofutti Sour Supreme.
1 /12 cups flour
1 1/2 tsp baking soda
1 cup Enjoy Life chocolate chips

Grease a 8 1/2 inch Bundt pan with Earth Balance and dust with flour.
In a large bowl, cream Earth Balance.
Add sugar and cream until very smooth. Very important to cream the Earth Balance and sugar together well, until lightened.
Add vanilla and water and stir until well combined.
In another bowl, combine the flour and baking soda.
Stir the dry into the creamed mixture until combined.
Add in the Enjoy Life chocolate chips and stir.

adding enjoy life chocolate chips to the batter

The mixture is quite thick so dollop the batter, carefully, into the greased and floured bundt pan. Smooth the top.

batter in bundt pan with the top smoothenedBake at 350F for one hour.
Cool in pan on cooling rack for 10 minutes.

cake cooling in bundt pan on cooling rackRelease from pan and let cool.

cake released from pan and cooling on cooling rackWhen cool enough, simply dust with icing sugar, slice and serve. (Michael went a little crazy with the icing sugar on his piece!)

dairy, egg, soy and peanut/tree nut free chocolate chip cake dusted with icing sugar, sliced and served on a plate

Enjoy!

enjoying a slice of dairy,egg,soy and peanut/tree nut free chocolate chip cake

P.S. Michael had a friend over and we all enjoyed a piece or two while still warm…though, not warm enough to melt the icing sugar on top.

Oh my…moist, dense, chocolatey… yummy! Just how I remember it!

Tip: Michael has discovered warming his piece up in the microwave to give it that just baked taste!

Question: Have you adapted a childhood favourite to suit food allergies?

8 thoughts on “Dairy, Egg, and Peanut/Tree Nut Free ‘Sour Cream’ Chocolate Chip Bundt Cake

  1. Yum! That looks great! I have a whole tub of dairy-free sour cream in my fridge. If you were going to add eggs, how many would you add?
    My favorite dessert as a kid was angel food cake topped with a combo of vanilla pudding, sour cream and cherry pie filling. It was completely out until Max outgrew his egg allergy last year. You really need real angel food cook. Neither one loves it like I do/did. I will say the pudding isn’t the same without the dairy. It’s still good though IMHO anyway. 🙂

    • Hi Jennifer! You are all set to make the cake with a tub of dairy free sour cream! I cut the original recipe in half as it called for 4 eggs and I didn’t have the 500ml of ‘sour cream’ needed. If your tub of ‘sour cream’ is 340g then use 2 eggs, omit the 2 tbsp of water and use 1 tsp of baking soda. I hope this will become a family favourite like it is in our house!

  2. I am so excited for your kids!!! Of all the recipes we have shared over the years this cake is my family’s favourite too. I have fond memories of my dad really enjoying it as well. In the past few years when I make it (using the original recipe) I have been adding real vanilla bean seeds as well as the vanilla extract. I think it ups the yummy vanilla flavour of the cake and it enhances the chocolate chip taste as well. However, if real vanilla beans are not handy, I make it anyway and it disappears just as fast!!! Imagine!

  3. I am so happy that you were able to adapt this recipe! Of all the recipe sharing we have done, this cake is top of the wish list in our house too! Even though there is no icing, my kids request it for their birthday cake. And that is saying alot!

  4. Hi, the hyperlink of your mom’s version of the bundt cake isn’t working. Would like to see her recipe too. Hope the glitch can be fixed. Thanks! 🙂

    • Hi Magi! That would be because there is not a hyperlink to my mom’s recipe. If you are not allergic to dairy and eggs her measurements are: 1/2 pound butter, 2 cups sugar, 4 eggs, 1 pint sour cream, 1/2 tsp pure vanilla, 3 cups all-purpose flour, 1 tsp baking soda and a bag of chocolate chips. Omit the water. Let me know what you think. Enjoy! 🙂

Shall we discuss?

