Dairy, Egg and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Chocolate Chip Snowball Cookies

I have reinvented my favourite holiday cookie and created a new holiday favourite…

Dairy, Egg and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Chocolate Chip Snowballs.

dairy, egg and peanut/tree nut free chocolate chip snowball cookies in a dishMuch to Matthew’s delight!

I grew up loving anything ‘shortbreadish.’ Not too sweet and extremely versatile. Sugar Cookie cut outs were a favourite as were my mother’s Pecan Balls.

Last holiday season, I was describing my mother’s Pecan Balls to my son, Matthew. It’s a pecan studded shortbread cookie ball, rolled in icing sugar. “Mmmmm”, says Matthew. “I would love it with chocolate chips!”

The next thing I knew, we were whipping up an adapted version…eureka…we have a winner!

The Sugar Cookie is a simple shortbread (most likely why I love it) which, with a little imagination, can be elevated into something so much more! (Stay tuned for Friday’s post for another twist on this easy to make and bake dough)

This recipe hails from Canadian Living’s 1977 special edition magazine they put out that year. The recipe was called ‘Quick and Easy Holiday Cookies’. I can still remember all the variations of cookies that could be made with this dough. I just loved gazing at all the cookies. My mother still owns her copy!                

How appropriate that my reinvented childhood recipe be paired in a picture with my childhood christmas tree ornaments.  Don’t you love the colours!

Dairy, Egg and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Chocolate Chip Snowballs

dairy, egg and peanut/tree nut free chocolate chip snowball cookies in a dish

1 cup Earth Balance vegan butttery sticks
1 1/4 cups icing sugar
1 1/2 tsp pure vanilla
2 tbsp water
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp kosher salt
2 1/2 cups all-purpose unbleached flour
1/2 cup Enjoy Life chocolate chips (for half the batter)

In a large bowl, cream the Earth Balance and sugar until light and fluffy.
Stir in the vanilla and water.

creamed earth balance and sugar with vanilla and water

In another bowl, combine the flour, baking soda and salt.
Gradually add the flour mixture to the creamed mixture until combined.

creamed mixture combined with flour mixture for dairy, egg and peanut/tree nut free chocolate chip snowball cookies

Divide dough in half. (only if you want to make two types of cookies with this dough)
Add chocolate chips to half the dough.

enjoy life chocolate chips added to half the dough for dairy,egg and peanut/tree nut free chocolate chip snowball cookies

Roll a tablespoon of dough into a ball and place on cookie sheet lined with parchment paper or a silicone pad.

dairy, egg and peanut/tree nut free chocolate chip snowball dough rolled into balls on silicone covered cookie sheetBake at 375 for 15 minutes.
Let cool for 5 minutes.

dairy, egg and peanut/tree nut free chocolate chip snowball cookies coolingRoll cookies in icing sugar while still warm and let finish cooling on rack.
Roll once again in icing sugar once fully cooled.

dairy, egg and peanut/tree nut free chocolate chip snowball cookies rolled in icing sugar for the second time

Makes approximately 24 cookies and one snowman!

dairy, egg and peanut/tree nut free chocolate chip snowball cookies on a plateEnjoy!

P.S. I had to add Michael’s comment on the cookies…”Mmmm…these are good…really good…I don’t remember them tasting this good!” Too funny!

P.P.S. Have you reinvented an allergy free version of a childhood favourite for your children?

15 thoughts on “Dairy, Egg and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Chocolate Chip Snowball Cookies

  1. Thank you for this recipe! What a great idea… my mom also used to make pecan balls dusted with icing sugar – they were a family favourite. What a great idea to add choc. chips instead of pecans!

    • Matthew thinks everything tastes better with a little bit of chocolate in it! Stay tuned for Friday’s post when I use the other half of this recipe in another family favourite!

  2. Oh Susan, those look so tasty I could eat them off my screen LOL. I have a recipe that is similar that includes chopped nuts, which I now know that your children cannot have. I haven’t posted it yet, but will shortly after Christmas. And then of course, in our case, we have to have the GF flour blend.
    Thanks for visiting my blog. I enjoyed your comments 🙂 Have a wonderful weekend!

    • Hi Mary! My mother’s Pecan Balls were the inspiration for this recipe…it is now the favourite holiday cookie! I am interested in GF flour blend cookies…a friend of mine’s 2 year old son is allergic to wheat. I will be busy this weekend baking my mother’s adapted version of her Orange Shortbread…with my mother. Thank you for your comment. Susan H.

  3. Pingback: Dairy, Egg and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Thumbprint Cookies | The Food Allergy Chronicles

  4. This looks great! I am excited to try to make it. I just wondered do you mix the Earth’s Balance with Icing Sugar, or regular sugar? I saw you only had icing sugar under the ingredients. Thanks!!!

    • Hi Angela! Yes, the sugar in this recipe is icing sugar…and then extra to roll them in…yummy! These cookies are my boys’ favourite during the holidays. Enjoy! Susan H.

  5. Pingback: Christmas Past and Present: Adapting to an Allergen Free Christmas | The Food Allergy Chronicles

  6. Pingback: Dairy, Egg and Peanut/Tree Nut Free ‘Oreo’ Style Cookies | The Food Allergy Chronicles

    • Thank you for your comment. I have updated my link. I use the Earth Balance vegan buttery sticks. It is just about that time of year to bake up our first batch of the holiday season! 🙂

  7. Pingback: Busy Baking For An Allergy Friendly 2012 Christmas | The Food Allergy Chronicles

  8. Pingback: Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Sugar Cookies Are A Hit! | The Food Allergy Chronicles

Shall we discuss?

