Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Chocolate Chunk Oatmeal Cookies

Heading back to Toronto today from beautiful Vancouver. I have thoroughly enjoyed my ‘girls’ getaway’ with my two BFF’s. Looking forward to getting home and hugging my boys and hubbie!

I am sure the boys have eaten through the stash of cookies I left for them. They will be clamoring for more! The following cookies are definitely at the top of the list!

It seems like a lifetime ago that I spent many a day in my kitchen perfecting a recipe for  Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Oatmeal Cookies.

dairy,egg,peanut/tree nut free oatmea lchocolate chunk cookiesBefore Earth Balance and Becel Vegan Margarine (dairy-free margarine) I was using Crisco Vegetable Shortening. I used it as a substitute for the butter called for in my cookie recipes. I wasn’t keen on using it and preferred an alternate…...canola oil.

Many tries later, using Canadian Living’s Country Cooking Cookbook’s recipe for Old-Time Oatmeal Raisin Cookies as a basis, my recipe for shortening free cookies was created! (Note all my cross-outs and notations in the margin)

canadian living country cookbook oatmeal raisin cookie recipeMy boys have never been fans of raisins in baked goods. Personally, I love them. Until Enjoy Life chocolate chips were available, I baked their Oatmeal Cookies without any additions.

You can imagine how excited I was when I spied Enjoy Life’s new product:

Enjoy Life's Chocolate ChunksMEGA CHUNKS!

Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Chocolate Chunk Oatmeal Cookies

jar of dairy,egg,peanut/tree nut free oatmeal chocolate chunk cookies

3/4 cup canola oil
1 cup firmly packed Demerara sugar (brown sugar)
1/2 cup granulated sugar
2 tsp pure vanilla
3 tbsp water
1 1/2 cups all-purpose unbleached flour
3/4 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp kosher salt
1 tsp baking soda
1 cup large flake whole oats
1/2 cup Enjoy Life’s Mega Chunks

In a large bowl mix oil, sugar, water,and vanilla. (make sure to incorporate the oil well)
In another bowl mix together the flour, cinnamon, salt, and baking soda.
Slowly mix in the dry ingredients with the wet.
Add in the oats and chocolate chunks.

batter of dairy,egg,peanut/tree nut free oatmeal chocolate chunk cookiesForm the batter into balls and flatten slightly on parchment or silicone covered cookie sheet.

batter of dairy,egg,peanut/tree nut free oatmeal chocolate chunk cookies on cookie sheetBake at 350 F for 10-12 minutes.
Cool on cookie sheet for 10 minutes before removing to a cooling rack.

dairy,egg,peanut/tree nut free oatmeal chocolate chunk cookies coolingGrab one quick….

dairy,egg,soy,peanut/tree nut free chocolate chunk cookies

…and Enjoy!

Tip: Michael and Matthew both suggested more chocolate chunks were needed. On my second time round, I added a few more…apparently still not enough! Not sure I can cram anymore in guys!

Exciting announcement…The Food Allergy Chronicles is now on Facebook and Pinterest!

I would love to see you there!

P.S. As always, any products I mention in these posts are my own personal recommendations. No one’s paying me to recommend them. They’re just what has worked for our family. Your own needs and preferences may be different!

2 thoughts on “Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Chocolate Chunk Oatmeal Cookies

Shall we discuss?

