Hearty Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Pumpkin Oatmeal Muffins

                                   H A P P Y   H A L L O W E ‘ E N  ! ! ! ! !

3 lighted hallowe'en pumpkins

Pumpkin season is here…pumpkins are everywhere…time to pull out the pumpkin recipes!

dairy, egg, soy peanut/tree nut free pumpkin oatmeal muffins in a basket

Strangely enough, as much as I love Pumpkin Muffins, Cakes and Loaves, I cringe at the mere mention of Pumpkin Pie. Not sure if it is the texture or the fact that it is usually topped with whipped cream. (not keen on that either)

Needless to say, I will not be baking pumpkin in a pie…sorry.

Every year I have good intentions of purchasing a Pie Pumpkin for my muffins…and then I forget…and purchase the can.

This year I remembered! (not that there is anything wrong with canned pumpkin, I have just always wanted to make my own to see the difference…if any)

Normally, I wait to get the pumpkin seeds for roasting from the pumpkins my husband carves for Hallowe’en. It’s all very exciting! The boys decide specifically how they want the eyes, nose, ears and overall look of their pumpkins. Their father then embarks on the cutting, the cleaning and then the cutting out of the boys’ designs. Quite the father/sons’ bonding experience.

This year, however, the boys did most of the work!

Matthew cleaning out his pumpkin seeds:  To be honest, Matthew thought this part was ‘disgusting’. He did not like cleaning out the pumpkins ‘guts’, as he put it.

Matthew cleaning out his pumkin seeds

His pumpkin design…which to my relief, his father cut out…was to resemble Frankenstein. His pumpkin is the one on the far right of the lighted pumpkins in the top photo.

Michael carving out his pumpkin face…this made me uneasy

Michael carving his pumpkin face

Michael would like me to point out that his pumpkin is the one on the far left of the lighted pumpkins in the top photo…note his fine handiwork!

However, this year…with our Hallowe’en Party the week before…it was too early for our usual pumpkin carving. (The above pumpkin cleaning and carving took part yesterday in the garage between hockey games and dinner)

Purchasing a Pie Pumpkin gave me the pumpkin seeds I needed for roasting and the opportunity to cook the pumpkin…minus the skin…for baking.

A win/win situation with no waste!

I have to say, cooking up the pumpkin was no trouble at all. I had enough pumpkin to make a batch of Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Hearty Oatmeal Pumpkins and Pumpkin Bundt Cake with Orange Drizzle.

To make the cooked pumpkin, I just followed the instructions which were stuck to the Pie Pumpkin.

Cooking Pie Pumpkin Recipe

Wash, slice, peel, and dice Pie Pumpkin.

peeled and diced pie pumpkin in a bowlDrop into boiling water and cook until tender and drain.

cooked and drained pumpkin Mash or force through a sieve or ricer. (I mashed mine)

mashed pumkin in a bowlStore in jars without adding water. (I put mine in a bowl covered with plastic)
Refrigerate until ready to use.

This adapted recipe for Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Oatmeal Pumpkin Muffins comes from the September 2002 issue of Chatelaine. I first baked them November 8, 2004. I think I will eventually replace all the all-purpose flour with whole wheat.

Hearty Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Oatmeal Pumpkin Muffins

dairy, egg, soy, peanut/tree nut free oatmeal pumpkin muffins on a plate

2 tbsp water
1/2 cup Natur-a Rice Beverage
1 3/4 cup cooked pumpkin/398 mL can pumpkin puree (not pie filling)
1/4 cup canola oil
1 tsp pure vanilla
1 1/4 cup whole wheat flour
1 cup unbleached all-purpose flour
1 cup large flake oats (not instant)
1/2 cup Demerara sugar
3 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp kosher salt
1 1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp ground ginger
1 cup dried cranberries or raisins (I used cranberries. Love the contrast of the tartness)

In a large bowl, combine all the dry ingredients including the cranberries.

whole wheat and all purpose flour, oats, cinnamon,ginger,sugar, salt, baking powder and soda, dried cranberries for dairy,egg,soy,peanut/tree nut free oatmeal pumpkin muffinsIn another bowl, combine all the wet ingredients until evenly blended.

wet ingredients combined for dairy, egg, soy,peanut/tree nut free oatmeal pumpkin muffinsScrape the pumpkin mixture into the dry ingredients and stir just until well combined.
(Mixture will be quite thick)

wet and dry ingredients mixed together for dairy, egg, soy, peanut/tree nut free oatmeal pumpkin muffinsSpoon batter into paper-lined muffin cups. (There is enough batter for 16 muffins or 12 large ones)

dairy, egg, soy, peanut/tree nut free oatmeal pumpkin batter in paper lined  muffin tinBake at 375 F for 20-25 minutes.
Let rest for 10 minutes before cooling muffins on cooling rack.

dairy, egg, soy, peanut/tree nut free oatmeal pumpkin muffins cooling on cooling rack(Fill the remaining batter into 4 paper-lined muffin cups and fill the other muffin cups with a bit of water and bake as above)

Enjoy!

Tip: Muffins freeze well. Just reheat in the microwave for that just out of the oven taste.

P.S. Andy and I love these muffins…unfortunately, my boys are not fans of pumpkin…nor are they fans of dried fruit in baked goods. There is still hope…

Consequently, I decided to share our plethora of pumpkin baked goods (Muffins and Bundt Cake) with a neighbour. As they were in the middle of cooking their dinner…I provided dessert for them…perfect timing!

Always CHECK INGREDIENTS each time you purchase products.

 

5 thoughts on “Hearty Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Pumpkin Oatmeal Muffins

  1. These look amazing! I’ve never boiled my pumpkin before, I’ve only roasted it, but I’ll have to try it this way sometime!

    • I bought a cooking pumpkin today to roast for a pumpkin soup. The recipe didn’t call for it to be roasted but I think roasting brings out the best in all vegetables! Roasting the pumpkin seeds from the kids pumpkins as I write…we have pumpkin seeds galore! Still on the hunt for the Sweet Darling Squash that you highly recommended in your blog. I will soon be back to baking with apples. Thanks for your comments! ~Susan H.

  2. Pingback: Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Pumpkin Bundt Cake with Orange Drizzle | The Food Allergy Chronicles

  3. Pingback: Girls’ Getaway: Vancouver here I come! | The Food Allergy Chronicles

  4. Pingback: Hearty Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Wholewheat Pumpkin Oatmeal Muffins For The Lovely Ladies At My Knitting Class | The Food Allergy Chronicles

Shall we discuss?

