The Toronto Star’s 2012 Cookie Calendar Countdown: Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free ‘100 Good Cookies’

I have to admit…everything about the Toronto Star’s 2012 Day 9 Cookie Calendar Cookie grabbed my attention.

For starters, the name itself…’100 Good Cookies’…piqued my interest.

Secondly, there were the interesting ingredients…both butter (or non-dairy alternative such as Earth Balance Vegan Buttery Sticks or Earth Balance Soy Free Buttery Spread) and vegetable oil are required, cream of tartar, as well as a fun mix of oatmeal, rice krispies and coconut.

Thirdly, once again the timing of this recipe is stellar! Ever since both the boys tested negatively for coconut on their allergy skin testing, I have been looking for a recipe to introduce coconut…bingo!

Attention:  Anaphylaxis Canada does not include coconut as a tree nut, although they can cause allergic reactions. Therefore, consult with your allergist. Click here for a link to Anaphylaxis Canada’s list of top food allergens.

However, the actual selling point for me was the story…I love a recipe with a good story!

The recipe for 100 Good Cookies was sent in to the Toronto Star by Joyce Stephenson of Oakville. “Here is my favourite cookie,” the article states. “It is not fancy, not particularly Christmas-y, not exotic-but this recipe makes the best cookies you will ever taste. Every time I make them, people just gobble them up and want the recipe.”

Sold!

Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free ‘100 Good Cookies’

A plate of Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free '100 Good Cookies'

I adapted the original recipe to meet my boys’ food allergies…I replaced the butter with Earth Balance Vegan Sticks (for a soy free recipe use Earth Balance Soy Free Buttery Spread), and the egg with 2 tbsp of water added just before the canola oil and an extra 1/2 tsp baking soda to the flour mixture. Click here for the original recipe in the Toronto Star.

After baking up a few sheets of cookies, I tried one. I felt it was missing something…pure vanilla. I added about 1 1/2 tsp of pure vanilla to the remaining batter…they still needed something. Matthew and I both couldn’t taste the coconut, so I added a bit more coconut to some of the batter…both Matthew and I agreed we liked this version the best. Michael could not tell the difference…he liked them both.

My taste testers (with no food allergies), Victoria and William, enjoyed them…even Victoria who is not a coconut fan!

Topped with dab of Dairy Free Vanilla Icing and sprinkled with toasted coconut…

Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free '100 Good Cookies'

…creates a festive touch for Christmas!

Tip 1: Next time, I would add 2 tsp of pure vanilla and at least another 1/2 – 3/4 cup of unsweetened desiccated coconut.

Tip 2:  I made the cookies slightly more than 1 tsp and baked the cookies for approximately 10 minutes.

6 thoughts on “The Toronto Star’s 2012 Cookie Calendar Countdown: Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free ‘100 Good Cookies’

  1. Oh Susan, you have unwittingly brought tears to my eyes. I’ve had this exact recipe for years – maybe 10??
    These cookies were one of my Mother-in-Law’s cottage staples for when we went to visit. She never iced hers, though. I have made them several times, over the years, but they are never the same as when enjoying them with a cup of tea in the sunfilled eating area of the cottage looking out onto the lake. One of many favourite moments spent with my late Mother-in-Law.
    My kids really liked hers and they liked yours a lot. I had one of your very first batch and then one of your number 3’s. I liked the number 3’s better, even though I am not a fan of icing. While munching I thought – “gee, the cookie part tastes a lot like my 100 Good Cookies!!” and “I would like them better without the icing!” Duh!
    I will defintitely make these again soon as a little tribute to my MIL and to your blog which has been a great guide to many good things – like 100 good cookies.

    • Wow! What a beautiful memory to have of your late Mother-in-Law. Thank you for sharing. 🙂 There must be ‘100 Good Stories’ to go along with each and every lover of ‘100 Good Cookies.’ 🙂

  2. The taste testers from 4 doors down thought cookie number 2 was the winner! There was something about the crispiness that seemed right about the cookie. The cookies were very familiar tasting to me, and delicious! Thank you for the opportunity to taste test!! We have become like Pavlov’s dogs in this house……the door bell rings, we see Susan at the door, and our mouths start to water 🙂

    • You are too funny! 🙂 Number 2 cookie was with the added pure vanilla. Don’t be surprised if you hear the door bell ringing today…Gluten, Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free ‘Sugar Plum Fairy Cookies.’ are up for tasting! 🙂

Shall we discuss?

