Dairy,Egg and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Apple Bundt Cake

Words cannot describe how unbelievably delicious this Dairy, Egg and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Apple Bundt Cake tastes!

dairy,egg and peanut/tree nut free apple bundt cake

When I spied the recipe in my Fall 2011 Allergic Living MagazineI knew I had to bake it!

I headed over to Macmillan’s Orchards to get their opinion on the perfect apples to use. The verdict: Spy apples. apparently they are good to bake in pies and cakes because they do not release a lot of water, therefore, they do not make your baked dish soggy. Perfect…I’ll take 4…thank you.

I made a few adaptions, as usual, to meet our specific tastes and allergen needs…and voila…the most delicious Dairy, Egg and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Apple Bundt Cake was born!

Dairy, Egg and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Apple Bundt Cake

dairy,egg and peanut/tree nut free apple bundt cake

4 large apples, peeled, cored and thinly sliced (preferably Spy)
1/2 cup Earth Balance  (for a soy free recipe use their soy free brand)
1 cup Demerara sugar
3/4 tsp cinnamon
3 cups unbleached all-purpose flour
2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp kosher salt
1 cup sugar
1 cup canola oil
1/4 cup applesauce
2 tbsp water
1 cup rice milk
1 tsp apple cider vinegar
1 tsp pure vanilla

In a medium saucepan, melt the Earth Balance, add the Demerara sugar and heat until boiling while stirring.

earth balance and brown sugar boiling for caramel

Pour half the caramel in a greased bundt pan dusted with flour.
Mix half of the sliced apples with 1/2 tsp of cinnamon. Place them over the caramel, overlapping.

sliced cinnamon apples over caramel in bundt pan

Chop remaining sliced apples and mix with remaining 1/4 tsp of cinnamon and stir into remaining caramel. Set aside.

chopped cinnamon apples in caramel sauce

In a large bowl, mix together the flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt.
In a liquid measure, mix together the rice milk and vinegar and let sit 5 minutes.
In another bowl, mix together the sugar, oil, applesauce, water, and vanilla. Add the milk and vinegar mixture.

wet ingredients,dry ingredients and bundt pan with caramel and apple layer

Add the wet ingredients to the dry and mix until combined.
Cover the apples in the bundt pan with 2/3 of the batter.

caramel and apple layer covered in batter

Top with the apple/caramel mixture.

chopped caramel apples on top of batter layer

Cover with the remaining batter.

remaining batter added to cover caramel apples

Bake 350 F for 1 hour.

Let cool for 20 minutes in bundt pan before inverting on a platter.

dairy,egg,peanut/tree nut free apple bundt cake cooling in bundt pan

 Slice and Enjoy!

slice of dairy,egg, peanut/tree nut free apple bundt cake

Simply divine while still warm…even better the next day!

Michael declared that this cake is really close to his favourite: Apple Kuchen.

Even Matthew was smitten with this version of an Apple Cake!

Do your kids ‘hound you’ to bake their favourite dessert recipes? (Michael is already questioning when I will bake Apple Kuchen!) What are their favourites? Please leave a comment I would love to hear your stories. 

P.S. I have subscribed to Allergic Living Magazine since the beginning. I look forward to my copy every season. From their coverage of new products, question and answers with the allergiest to their articles and recipes…I thoroughly enjoy each and every one!

P.P.S. As always, any products I mention in these posts are my own personal recommendations. No one’s paying me to recommend them. They’re just what has worked for our family. Your own needs and preferences may be different!

14 thoughts on “Dairy,Egg and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Apple Bundt Cake

  1. Thanks so much for your responses on Kath’s blog and on mine about Brendan’s eczema. Something has made it worse within the past three months. Unfortunately, up to this point I have just followed the doctor’s instructions and apparently, I should have been doing my own research. We have an appointment Monday, and I’m determined to leave there with a plan to get him tested for allergies. However, since we live overseas our providers are limited and I’m afraid I’m in for an uphill battle. Thanks for letting me know about your blog, and about the other one. I’ll definitely be checking back!

    • Hi Erin- So glad to hear from you! I too felt lost and overwhelmed by it all…there are many good sites and information out there. Use what you know to figure out what you don’t know. I would get on that list for the dermatologist (pediatric if you can). Once you are in…you are in. Very worth it to get many opinions…it is a matter of trial and error. It may take a bit to adjust to a new lifestyle and way of thinking. Remember…you are not alone! ~Susan H P.S. If you are reading this and have or are experiencing living with eczema…please leave Erin a reply of support! Thanks!

  2. This looks sooo good!!!!!! I will be trying this for thanksgiving 😉
    quick question.. you first coat the pan with butter and then put flour on top of the coat?

    • It tastes even better! I actually sprayed the bundt pan with canola then put a bit of flour in the pan, shaking it around to cover and stick to the oil, tap out the excess and your ready to go! Have a happy thanksgiving! ~Susan H.

  3. Pingback: Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Pumpkin Bundt Cake with Orange Drizzle | The Food Allergy Chronicles

  4. Oh wow!! This looks SOO amazing! Yum! Thanks for sharing! I need to hunt down some soy-free earth balance… Can you tell me if there’s Sunflower oil in it?

    I still haven’t subscribed to Allergic Living, but have seen a couple issues, it’s a great magazine!

    • I had trouble pulling up info on the soy-free Earth Balance on their web-site. Popped over (walked) to my Foodland and checked the ingredient list:palm fruit oil,canola oil,filtered water,safflower oil,salt, flax oil, natural flavour,pea protein,sunflower lecithin,olive oil,lactic acid (non-dairy)and naturally extracted annatto for colour. (made with non-gmo canola)

      I did try making the caramel with canola, but the sugar just got all hard. Weird. Perhaps just mixing the canola and brown sugar together and adding it like a crumble to the bottom of the pan and with the chopped apples would work.

      I so want you to be able to make yourself a treat!

  5. Gorgeous! We need to make something fall-ish for the Cub Scout cake auction on Monday. Bet this would bring in top dollar! Nobody would notice that it’s free of all those allergens! Might have to make two!

    • Hi Jennifer- Definately! Apples are truly one of Fall’s best features…pumpkins too…check out my Dairy,Egg,Soy,Peanut/Tree Nut Free Pumpkin Bundt Cake with Orange Drizzle recipe. Happy to hear from you! ~Susan H.

    • Hi Lynn- Bundt pans make a statement! Bundt cakes are sculptures…easily decorated with icing sugar or drizzles of icing…and always scruptiously delecious! Give them a try…they are definately unique!~ Susan H.

  6. Susan – in the process of trying to find your post on how to ‘administer epipen’, I went through a lot of your archives – what amazingly detailed recipes and each of them so beautifully presented. Oftentimes I feel it is a ‘privilege’ to have food allergies because we eat healthier and eat such excotic food 🙂 I still could not find that post – could you please send me the link. Thanks!

    • Hi Anu! I did a post on my Grade 8 presentation. I don’t actually go in detail in the post on how to administer an epipen. I just demonstrated to the students and had them practice using an epipen trainer. Sorry for the confusion. I wish I had had the video you present on your blog, Allergy Foodie, to show to the class. It is a really great video which I think all schools should present to their staff and students. Before the year is out, I may try to do just that! P.S. Photography is not my strong point, I therefore appreciate the positive comments regarding presentation! I love our healthy lifestyle…I feel a noticable difference. The best part is that anyone can choose to live this way and benefit just as we do!

Shall we discuss?

