Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Oatmeal Lemon Raspberry Mini Muffins

This Sunday morning I had the pleasure of baking my Allergy Friendly Monday Muffins at my mother’s house.

Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Oatmeal Lemon Raspberry Mini Muffins

A plate of Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Oatmeal Lemon Raspberry Muffins

My mother and I love the flavour combination of lemons and raspberries…combined with whole-wheat and oatmeal in a mini muffin…yes please!

While out grocery shopping for our evening meal on Saturday…my mother spied a mini muffin tin…the inspiration for the mini muffin version.

Mini muffins make the perfect mini snack…especially for my mother who watches her carbohydrate intake due to her being a Type 1 Diabetic.

This recipe was adapted from the March 2000 edition of Canadian Living Magazine.

Adaptions for this recipe include:

1)  Replace 1 1/4 cups of buttermilk with 1 1/4 cups Natur-a Rice Beverage or Natur-a Soy Beverage mixed with 1 tbsp. white vinegar…let rest while you measure the ingredients.
2)  Replace the 2 eggs with 1 tbsp. flaxmeal mixed with 3 tbsp. water…let rest over night in the refrigerator (or in the refrigerator as you measure the rest of the ingredients), increase baking soda to 1 1/2 tsp (add to dry ingredients) and add 2 tbsp. of water to the wet ingredients.
3)  I replaced the all-purpose flour to whole-wheat flour to increase the fibre.
4)  I sprinkled the tops with large flake oats and topped each with a fresh raspberry.

Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Oatmeal Lemon Raspberry Mini Muffins

A plate of Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Oatmeal Lemon Raspberry Muffins

Dry Ingredients

2 cups whole-wheat flour
1 cup packed Demerara Sugar
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1 1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp kosher salt
1 cup quick oats
1 tbsp. lemon zest

Wet Ingredients

1 1/4 cups Natur-a Rice Beverage or Natur-a Soy Beverage mixed with 1 tbsp. of white vinegar…let rest
1/3 cup canola oil
1 tbsp. flaxmeal mixed with 3 tbsp. of water (refrigerate overnight or until it thickens)
2 tbsp. water
1 tsp pure vanilla
3/4 cup frozen raspberries

Topping

24 fresh raspberries plus more for any regular muffins
whole oats

In a large bowl, mix together all the dry ingredients.
In a separate bowl, mix together all the wet ingredients…excluding frozen raspberries.
Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and stir to just combine…gently stir in the frozen raspberries.
Spoon batter into mini muffin tin…sprinkle with whole oats and top with a fresh raspberry.

Tip: I was able to bake 24 mini muffins and 5 regular sized muffins. (bake at 375 F for 20-25 minutes)

Bake at 375 F for 10-15 minutes.
Let cool on cooling rack for 10 minutes before turning out on cooling rack.

Enjoy!

A basket of Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Oatmeal Lemon Raspberry Muffins

P.S. On my drive home from my visit to my mom…I stopped in to see Carla @ My 1/2 Dozen Daily. I thought her daughter’s would enjoy a basket of my freshly baked Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Oatmeal Lemon Raspberry Mini Muffins.

P.P.S. Carla @ My 1/2 Dozen Daily’s posted a draw (click here for the story) to support the Brain Tumour  Foundation of Canada in support of Joanna @ That Thing I Made‘s friend, Jen, who has a brain tumour.  

Summer tote bag made by Carla @ My 1/2 Dozen Daily

The winner of the draw wanted Jen to have the beautiful tote bag that Carla made, along with a book, so I have brought it home to give to Joanna to pass on to Jen.

6 thoughts on “Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Oatmeal Lemon Raspberry Mini Muffins

  1. Hi Susan–I have a question for you. Have you worked with goat’s milk? I just tasted it this past week and am enjoying it as my alternative to cow. Trying to decide if I should bite the bullet and cut out all dairy. Thank you, ~janet

    • When my eldest, with a dairy allergy, was young, we did try goat’s milk…unfortunately, he did have an allergic reaction. We have not tried it since. I consider goat’s milk to be in the dairy family…if you are cutting out all dairy, this could include goat’s milk products. I do love goat’s cheese but not to partial to goat’s milk. Thanks for your question. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Oatmeal Wild Blueberry Muffins | The Food Allergy Chronicles

  3. Pingback: Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Oatmeal Carrot Raisin Muffins

Shall we discuss?

