Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Oatmeal Pumpkin Cranberry Muffins

I have a soft spot when it comes to hearty homemade muffins!

Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Oatmeal Pumpkin Cranberry Muffins

Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Oatmeal Pumpkin Cranberry Muffins are a thing of beauty in the morning light!

When I found a recipe for pumpkin muffins in my April 2010 Chatelaine magazine…I ripped it out eager for fall to arrive!

I could not wait to adapt the recipe…I could easily imagine how good these muffins would taste…I was not disappointed!

I’ll be honest…I baked these muffins for Andy and I…the mere mention of pumpkin in a muffin would have my boys running for the hills!

Just baked muffins, slightly cooled…so the top is nice and crunchy and the inside is soft and warm…is my favourite!

Just out of the oven Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Oatmeal Pumpkin Cranberry Muffins

I decided I would bake a batch of Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Oatmeal Pumpkin Cranberry Muffins first thing in the morning…perfect with my cup of green tea…perfect grab-to-go breakfast for Andy to enjoy at work with his morning ‘cup of joe!’

I prepared all the ingredients the night before…mixed all the dry ingredients, wet ingredients and the crumble topping in separate covered bowls.

In the morning, I simply mixed the wet with the dry, filled up my muffin cups, sprinkled the muffin batter with the crumble topping and popped them in to the oven. They were ready, just in time for Andy to fly out the door with a muffin to warm up his hands!

Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Oatmeal Pumpkin Cranberry Muffins cooling

My adaptions for my Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Oatmeal Pumpkin Cranberry Muffins are as follows:

I used 2 cups of whole wheat flour, 1 tsp of baking soda, 1 tsp of cinnamon, 2 tsp of ginger, 2 tbsp water, omitted the pumpkin seeds and orange peel (I didn’t want to confuse the flavours of the pumpkin, cinnamon and ginger…maybe next time) and increased the dried cranberries to 1/2 cup.

For the original Chatelaine recipe click here.

I enjoyed my morning Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Oatmeal Pumpkin Cranberry Muffin split in half with one side spread with apple butter.

Enjoying a Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Oatmeal Pumpkin Cranberry Muffin with apple butter

Yummy!

Tip: Next time I would add a touch of cinnamon to the crumble topping and 1 tsp of pure vanilla to the muffin batter…two adaptions I forgot to do in my haste to put together the ingredients last night.

P.S. My favourite part…the crunchy toasted pumpkin seeds on top! Toasted pumpkin seeds add a nuttiness that my taste buds rarely get to embrace…I gobbled up all the seeds that fell off the muffins just like a squirrel foraging for its acorns.

P.P.S. I dropped a couple muffins off at my neighbour, Joanne @ That Thing I Made. She was busy putting together a ‘Haunt’ for ‘Hallowe’en Night’ with another neigbour. Keeping them fueled was my way of helping out as I am indisposed at the moment with my neck and back injury.

In the afternoon, I surprised Joanne and another neighbour, with this sweet treat!

A Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Chocolate Crinkle Cookie

A little something I am working on for my Secret Sister Swap over at Carla’s blog My Half Dozen Daily. I hope they travel well! Stay tuned…a recipe with a post on my Secret Sister Swap is in the works.

2 thoughts on “Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Oatmeal Pumpkin Cranberry Muffins

Shall we discuss?

