Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Pumpkin Bundt Cake with Orange Drizzle

Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Pumpkin Bundt Cake with Orange Drizzle is my latest favourite Bundt Cake recipe.

dariy, egg, soy,peanut/tree nut free pumpkin bundt cake with orange drizzle

This allergy friendly Bundt Cake is moist, dense, not too sweet, a perfect combo of cinnamon and ginger, healthy-ish, and the orange drizzle on the top…marries all the flavours together beautifully.

At the end of the day…with a cup of tea…pure heaven.

I have to admit…this cake had me overindulging!

I had just the right amount of cooked pumpkin left over (1 3/4 cup) to finally make this recipe. I have been hanging on to this recipe, cut out from Chatelaine Magazine, since October, 2003. I know, what took me so long?

I just knew I would love this adapted version of their recipe. I am so glad to have finally baked it, sampled it and now have shared it with you.

Just the mere mention of pumpkin in baked goods makes my boys’ noses turn up.(perhaps that is the reason I waited) They both passed on sampling the pumpkin muffins…however…I managed to entice my boys to try a piece of bundt cake. (I think the orange drizzle tempted them)

Michael was pleasantly surprised…Matthew loved the orange drizzle…baby steps!

Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Pumpkin Bundt Cake with Orange Drizzle

a slice of dairy, egg, soy and peanut/tree nut free pumpkin bundt cake with orange drizzle

1 cup raisins
2 1/2 cups whole-wheat flour
1 tbsp baking powder
1 1/4 tsp baking soda
1 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp ground ginger
1/2 tsp kosher salt
1 cup Demerara sugar
1/4 cup cinnamon applesauce
2 tbsp water
2/3 cup rice milk
1/4 cup canola oil
1 tsp pure vanilla
1 3/4 cup cooked pumpkin/398 mL can pumpkin puree (not pumpkin pie filling)

Preheat oven to 350 F.
Spray a 9 cup (2.25 L) bundt pan with canola oil.
In a large bowl, mix together all the flour, brown sugar, baking soda and powder, salt, raisins,cinnamon and ginger.
In another bowl, mix together the water, rice milk, canola oil, vanilla, and cooked pumpkin until very well combined.

bowl of dry ingredients and wet ingredients for dairy, egg, soy and peanut/tree nut free pumpkin bundt cakeMix the pumpkin mixture into the dry ingredients until just mixed. (mixture will be very thick, make sure to incorporate all the dry ingredients)

wet and dry ingredients mixed together for dairy, egg, soy, and peanut/tree nut free pumpkin bundt cakeScrape mixture into prepared bundt pan and smooth top.

dairy, egg, soy and peanut/tree nut free pumpkin cake batter in bundt panBake for 55-60 minutes. Cake tester should come out clean.

dairy, egg, soy and peanut/tree nut free pumpkin bundt cake out of the ovenCool in pan for 10 minutes before turning out on cooling rack.

dairy, egg,soy and peanut/tree nut free pumpkin bundt cake cooling on rackPrepare Orange Drizzle (recipe below) to top off the cooled bundt cake.

Orange Drizzle

1/4 cup freshly squeezed orange juice
2 cups icing sugar
1-2 tsp orange zest

I like to use a reamer to ‘squeeze’ the juice out of my oranges and lemons.

juice squeezed from half an orange with a reamer

I love my rasp for zesting oranges and lemons. Look at all that zest!

an orange zested with a rasp for orange drizzle

Pour juice and zest in a medium-sized bowl.
Using a fork, slowly add icing sugar until consistency for drizzle is reached.

orange drizzle for dairy,egg, soy and peanut/tree nut free pumpkin bundt cake

Spoon over cooled cake, scooping up pooled drizzle and re-spooning over cake.

Enjoy!

P.S. My neighbours gave my Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Pumpkin Bundt Cake a rave review. They are awaiting the arrival of their next bundt cake…Dairy, Egg, and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Apple Bundt Cake anyone?

Always CHECK INGREDIENTS each time you purchase products.

Have you recently discovered and ‘fallen in love’ with an allergy friendly recipe. I’d love to hear about it. Please share in the comments!

P.P.S.  As always, any products I mention in these posts are my own personal recommendations. No one’s paying me to recommend them. They’re just what has worked for our family. Your own needs and preferences may be different!

One thought on “Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Pumpkin Bundt Cake with Orange Drizzle

  1. Pingback: Hearty Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Pumpkin Oatmeal Muffins | The Food Allergy Chronicles

Shall we discuss?

