Gluten, Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Vanilla Cupcakes with Dairy and Soy free Vanilla Icing

My successful attempt at baking gluten-freeGluten, Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Chocolate Cupcakes with Chocolate Ganache Icing led me to try my luck a second time.

Gluten, Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Vanilla Cupcakes with Dairy and Soy Free Vanilla Icing!

Gluten Dairy Egg Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Vanilla CupcakesAnother success!

I followed my recipe for Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Vanilla Cupcakes. Just substitute Namaste Perfect Flour Blend for the all-purpose unbleached flour and increase the pure vanilla to 1 tsp. Top them off with Dairy/Soy Free Vanilla Icing.

A Gluten Dairy Egg Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Vanilla Cupcake with Dairy/Soy Free Vanilla Icing

Yummy!

Michael is still not a fan of gluten-free baking…”I like the taste, I just can’t wrap my head around the texture.”

Matthew is still on board…”Not bad. If these were served at a party…I would eat them.”

My husband…”They are better than I thought they would be.”…after he engulfed one!

I would love to try them spread with some homemade strawberry jam, topped with fresh fruit and honey, or with a rhubarb compote.

I sent Matthew out to deliver our latest baked items to two neighbourhood families…our ‘guinea pigs!’ The same two families that taste tested the Gluten Dairy Egg Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Chocolate Cupcakes with Chocolate Ganache Icing.

I think offering samples of gluten-free baking to my neighbours and their children is a great opportunity for them to experience gluten-free baking.

When I am invited to family/friends homes, I often volunteer to bake a French Stick and the dessert.  All are pleasantly surprised when they discover all my baking is dairy, egg, soy and peanut/tree nut free! I would like to imagine the same could be said about gluten-free baked goods.

In a world where more and more people are eating gluten-free, one never knows when your next dinner guest may be gluten intolerant.

Our family may not be a gluten-free family…but I like to think that should the time come when a family/friend who is gluten-free sits at my table…I will be able to offer them a delicious gluten-free meal that is suitable for all!

P.S. In the early years, it would irk me when someone would say to me, “You know, he’s going to have to get used to the ‘real world’!” Excuse me? I like to think times are changing and the ‘real world’ is starting to catch up to the fact that there is no ‘magic wand’ for me to wave away my children’s food allergies! All I ask for is a little compassion…

Tip: Dairy Free ‘Cream Cheese’ Lemon/Orange Icing, Dairy/Soy Free Chocolate Icing or Chocolate Ganache Icing would also be a tasty topping!

Question: How do you deal with your food allergies when entertaining in your own home, at friends and/or family? Do you bring something special for everyone or just the individual with the food allergies? How accepting are friends/family with your allergy friendly dishes or do they offer to make you something special?

2 thoughts on “Gluten, Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Vanilla Cupcakes with Dairy and Soy free Vanilla Icing

  1. My mother in law has newly cut Gluten out of her diet, and it is tricky, we usually choose wheat free meals when she comes over rather than try to have bread, pasta, cake etc, although she will often bring some sort of baking for dessert.

    • Hi Toni! It is great to hear how supportive you are of your mother-in-law’s gluten-free lifestyle. I am sure it means a lot to her to know she can count on you to provide a safe meal while she whips up a gluten-free dessert…perfect! Thanks for sharing!

Shall we discuss?

