Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Carrot Cake

I love Carrot Cake!

A slice of Dairy, Egg and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Carrot Cake with Dairy Free 'Cream Cheese' Icing

In honour of my birthday on Easter Sunday…I was determined to whip up a new favourite for the family…Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Carrot Cake!

My boys have never tasted Carrot Cake…I think the word ‘carrot’ turned them off!Chocolate and Vanilla were more to their liking!

Now that they are ‘mature teenagers’…lol! I decided it was the perfect time to try my luck with my ‘all-time favourite’.

Carrot Cake has not always been a favourite of mine…the typical presence of walnuts in the cake made it taste ‘funny‘ to me.

I have no memory of my mother making Carrot Cake as a child…however, she assures me she made it…she even has a note written on her recipe stating even my brother, David, liked it! He was always all about chocolate!

A memory I do have involving walnuts is the avoidance of them!

As a child growing up, around Christmas, my mother would fill a basket of nuts and place them by the fireplace with a nutcracker. As kids, my brother and I would love to try to break the nuts open with the nutcracker…not very easy…but a fun challenge!

I believe that would have been my first encounter trying a walnut. I have this memory of my mouth going dry and my tongue feeling ‘funny’…not tingly but more ‘numb like’.

Hard to describe as I have not had a walnut in years!.

It wasn’t until my son, Michael, began describing the feeling in his mouth when he ate something he was allergic to. I put ‘two and two’ together and came to the conclusion that I might have a possible walnut allergy!

Suffice it to say…I tend to overlook Carrot Cake as it tends to be baked with walnuts.

As a special treat for my birthday weekend, I chose to create a Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Carrot Cake.

And so, the quest to find the best recipe to adapt began!

Original recipes for Carrot Cakes that I adapted to be allergen friendly

The first Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Carrot Cake recipe I adapted was from The Toronto Star’s Susan Sampson, Cooking 101. I have been hanging on to this recipe for a while now…I was excited to finally put it to the test! Susan Sampson adapted the recipe, Carrot Cake With Ginger Icing (click here) from epicurious.com. (click here)

I further adapted the recipe to make it allergen friendly: I replaced the 2 eggs with 1/2 tsp of baking soda, 2 tbsp of water and 1/4 cup of cinnamon applesauce.

I chose to bake the batter in a small bundt pan rather than a 9 inch cake pan, spread a Lemon Icing for the topping and decorated the cake with grated carrot and Surf Sweets Jelly Beans.

Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Carrot Cake with Lemon Icing in a Bundt pan

Verdict: Delish! Both Michael and Matthew were sceptical at first…but easily converted once they had a mouthful! Michael seemed to be pleasantly surprised at the taste and moist texture. “Are there bananas in this?”, he queried, upon discovering a piece of crushed pineapple and then proceeded to pick all the ‘bits’ out.

Note to self: Omit crushed pineapple. Both enjoyed the ‘twist’ of a Lemon Icing. I assured them the icing will taste even better when I get my hands on a container of Tofutti Cream Cheese!

The second, Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Carrot Cake to adapt, came from my mother’s cake recipe archives. She retrieved her original clipping of Easter Bunny Cake from the Lifestyle Food Section of The London Free Press, Wednesday, April 18, 1984.

Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Carrot Cake with Orange Icing in a loaf pan

This recipe had the lovely addition of orange juice in the cake and in the icing. I baked it in a loaf pan to rave reviews!

The third and final Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Carrot Cake I adapted came from my mom’s sister…my Aunt Frances.

Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Carrot Cake with Lemon Icing baked in a round cake pan

As much as we all loved my mother’s recipe…Aunt Frances’ was the clear winner in the ‘taste buds’ of my boys. Perhaps it was that extra teaspoon of cinnamon!                   (The cake above was 1/2 of the following recipe)

Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Carrot Cake

2 cups granulated sugar
1 1/2 cups canola oil
1/2 cup cinnamon applesauce
4 tbsp water
2 cups unbleached all-purpose flour
2 tsp baking soda
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp kosher salt
2 tsp ground cinnamon
3 cups grated carrots

In a large bowl, combine the sugar, oil, applesauce, water and grated carrots. Combine well until the oil is incorporated throughout the mixture.
In a separate bowl, combine the flour, baking soda, powder, salt and cinnamon.
Stir the dry ingredients into the bowl of the wet ingredients.
Pour batter into a 9 inch cake pan that has been lined with parchment paper, oiled and floured.
Bake at 350 F for 1 hour and 15 -20 minutes depending on your oven. Check to make sure that a toothpick comes out clean from the centre of the cake.
Let cool in cake pan on a cooling rack for 10 minutes before turning cake out to finish cooling.
Once cooled it is ready to ice and decorate.

If you have a soy allergy, a simple Lemon or Orange Icing is the perfect complement to Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Carrot Cake. Click here for my Vanilla Icing recipe. Replace the vanilla with lemon/orange juice and add about 3/4-1 tsp of lemon/orange zest. Taste to adjust to your liking.

Dairy Free ‘Cream Cheese’ Icing

1 227g tub of Tofutti Better Than Cream Cheese
1/4 cup Earth Balance Vegan Stick
1 tbsp lemon juice
3 cups sifted icing sugar
3/4-1 tsp of lemon zest

In a large bowl, cream the Tofutti and Earth Balance until well blended.
Stir in the lemon juice and slowly start to blend in the icing sugar.

I spread about 3/4 of the Dairy Free ‘Cream Cheese’ Icing over the top of the Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Carrot Cake. Sprinkled the edge with grated carrot that I let sit on paper towels to soak up any moisture and decorated with Surf Sweet Jelly Beans.

Dairy, Egg and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Carrot Cake with Dairy Free 'Cream Cheese' Icing

Yummy!

P.S. I will be posting the adapted version of my mother’s recipe from The London Free Press on Friday.

P.P.S. Carla @ My 1/2 Dozen Daily has another ‘giveaway’. Click here to check out her latest idea!

10 thoughts on “Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Carrot Cake

  1. It has been a while since I read your blog!!! Easter cooking and cleaning up after home renovations had me far, far away from my laptop. And oh the news I missed! Happy Belated Birthday!!!! The photo of you with your birthday cake is a very pretty one of you. Congrats on the amazing progress with your training. And in my opinion there is no greater reward than a piece of carrot cake! I am so happy that you have adapted a recipe that your boys can enjoy. Not sure which version you sent over for us to sample but it was delicious.

    • Hi Linda! Thanks for the birthday wishes! This past week has been all about Carrot Cake! Your sample was the winner…my Aunt Frances’ recipe that is posted today. Truly, they were all winners in my book!

  2. I absolutely *LOVE* the recipes you post because I can eat most of them! I haven’t had carrot cake in FOREVER! I’m excited to try out this recipe.. I may add raisins to mine! YUM!!

  3. I think we will try Aunt Frances’ version…sounds like the one my boys’ tastes will match. Thanks for the idea. We avoid carrot cake and most commercial desserts too due to my son’s nut allergy. I had not thought to try it ’cause sometimes I don’t hide my veggies well enough for them! Another quick question…do you recommend Allergic Living mag for us in the US? Or do you know of a US counterpart? Thanks! Julie

    • Hi Julie! Instead of Carrot Cake this could be called ‘Spice Cake’and hopefully your boys would be none the wiser! I love Allergic Living Magazine, I think you would find it helpful no matter where you lived. VegNews and Living Without are two other magazines I will pick up from time to time to get new ideas and learn about new products. Hope that helps! Enjoy the cake!

  4. Pingback: Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Carrot Cake Loaf with Dairy Free Orange Icing | The Food Allergy Chronicles

  5. Pingback: My Son’s Mystery Allergic Reaction Solved | The Food Allergy Chronicles

  6. Pingback: Gluten, Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Vanilla Cupcakes with Dairy and Soy free Vanilla Icing | The Food Allergy Chronicles

Shall we discuss?

