Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Apricot Oatmeal Muffins

The muffin for today’s Allergy Friendly Muffin Monday was chosen especially for my Mother’s Day breakfast.

Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Apricot Oatmeal Muffins

Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Apricot Oatmeal Muffins

Full of oats, bran and plump apricots…perfect with a cup of tea!

I have been holding on to this recipe for awhile…waiting for the perfect time to give them a try…Mother’s Day breakfast was ideal. This recipe is from the June 2002 issue of Canadian Living Magazine. Click here for the original recipe.

Adaptions:

1)  I replaced the buttermilk with 1 cup of Natur-a Rice Beverage or Natur-a Soy Beverage mixed with 1 tbsp. white vinegar left to set while I measured the rest of my ingredients.
2) I replaced the egg with a flax egg…1 tbsp. of flax meal mixed with 3 tbsp. water and left in the refrigerator over night or until it thickens.
Update:  3) I added 1 tsp pure vanilla to the wet ingredients.

Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Apricot Oatmeal Muffins

Thanks to a reminder from Candace…I baked the Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Apricot Oatmeal Muffins in my silicone muffin cups instead of paper. The muffins popped out perfectly.

Enjoy!

Enjoying my Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Apricot Oatmeal Muffin

I think next time…a touch of ginger would be a nice addition. In the meantime, a drizzle of local honey was the finishing touch.

I packaged up a few Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Apricot Oatmeal Muffins for my mother-in-law for Mother’s Day…she was quite pleased.

A few Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Apricot Oatmeal Muffins for my mother-in-law to enjoy

Don’t worry mom…I have popped a few in the freezer for your next visit.

P.S. Go Leafs Go!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Shall we discuss?

