Hearty Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Wholewheat Pumpkin Oatmeal Muffins For The Lovely Ladies At My Knitting Class

My Saturday morning knitting class gave me the opportunity to try revamping one of my adapted muffin recipes. The result… 

Hearty Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Wholewheat Pumpkin Oatmeal Muffins

A Hearty Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peannut/Tree Nut Free Wholewheat Pumpkin Oatmeal Muffin

Topped with crunchy toasted pumpkin seeds on the outside, tender and moist on the inside with the added sweetness of plump raisins…yum!

The lovely ladies of my knitting class loved them!

I had been meaning to sign up for a knitting class for a while. My two BFF’s have been encouraging me for quite some time now…they are both avid knitters.  On a recent visit of my one BFF, Anne, we stopped on in at The Kniterary.

A beginner knitting class just so happened to be offered in January…which I just happened to mention to my mother…next thing I know, I am signing up for a beginner knitting class using my Kniterary Christmas Gift Certificate!

It was time for me to try my hands at a new creative outlet…pottery destroyed my hands and sewing…well, let’s just say the sewing machine and myself did not get along very well!

Getting out and meeting new people, stepping away from the constant pressure and stress of food allergies and the calming effects that I have heard knitting can provide…were all encouraging. surrounding  myself

Well, it didn’t take long before I discovered that my knitting teacher is allergic to bananas, soy, latex, Angora wool, and fruits and vegetables depending on the season.  This, of course, started a whole conversation about food, lifestyle and the environment…so much for getting away from food allergy topics…it seems to be everywhere!

It was with great pleasure to bake a batch of allergy friendly muffins to share with my teacher and classmates on our last knitting class this past Saturday.

As we celebrated all that we had accomplished…check out the beautiful scarves the lovely ladies and I have been knitting…

The beginings of knitted scarves by the lovely ladies in my knitting class

we were excited to hear all that we have to learn in the subsequent classes…I think we will all be signing up…I need a hat to match my scarf! 

Hearty Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Wholewheat Pumpkin Oatmeal Muffins

A basket of Hearty Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Wholewheat Pumpkin Oatmeal Muffins for the lovely ladies in my knitting class

Replacing all the flour with wholewheat flour and the rice beverage with Good Karma Flax Delight Fortified Flax Beverage did not compromise texture, moistness or flavour…the muffins were delish!

Adapted ingredient list:

1/4 cup pumpkin seeds for the topping (Sprinkle on before baking)
1/2 cup Good Karma Flax Delight Fortified Flax Beverage
2 tbsp water
1 3/4 cup pumpkin puree (not pie filling) Click here for directions to follow to make your own pumpkin puree with a pie pumpkin.
1 tsp pure vanilla
2 1/4 cups whole wheat flour
1 cup whole oats (not instant)
1/2 cup Demerara Sugar
3 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
1 1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp ground ginger
1 cup raisins or dried cranberries

The original recipe comes from Chatelaine Magazine’s September 2002 issue. Click here to follow the original recipe direction.

Enjoy!

Tip: Next time I would like to replace the egg with a flax egg…mix 1 tbsp of flax meal mixed with 3 tbsp of water and let sit in the refrigerator or overnight.

P.S. Anyone that knows me would think that I was knitting the red and yellow scarf. As I have enough red hats and scarfs…I am knitting the cream scarf just behind the red one…I am stitching it in the moss/seed stitch. I hope to knit it long enough to combine the ends to create a cowl to wrap around my head a couple of times. I am very excited!

What types of hobbies or extracurricular activities do you participate in for pleasure/stress relief?

5 thoughts on “Hearty Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Wholewheat Pumpkin Oatmeal Muffins For The Lovely Ladies At My Knitting Class

  1. Funny to read your P.S……I was trying to guess which scarf was yours and I did assume it was the red and yellow one 🙂
    The muffins look delish! The ladies in the knitting group didn’t realize how lucky they were going to have it when they signed up 🙂

  2. Well look at you Mrs Knitter extraordinaire! The next time we’re together we’ll have to sit and chat and knit and sip something delicious… wait, that makes us sound 65! Ah well, at least we’ll have a fun activity to do together into our dotages! M xo

  3. Pingback: Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Oatmeal Blueberry Muffins | The Food Allergy Chronicles

Shall we discuss?