Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Hearty Irish Soda Bread And Sweet Potato Leek Soup

I couldn’t resist baking up a loaf of Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Hearty Irish Soda Bread.

A bowl of Sweet Potato and Leek Soup with a slice of Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Irish Soda Bread

A favourite of mine to accompany a hot bowl of soup on a cold and blustery day.

The Irish Soda Bread recipe originates from the Canadian Living Step By Step Cookbookspying this recipe had me craving a slice…now I just needed a bowl of soup!

I came across a very simple recipe for Potato Leek Soup over at lucys friendly foods. Click here for the original recipe.

I just so happened to have most of the ingredients…a partly used carton of vegetable stock and leeks were already in my refrigerator, however, I switched up the potato with sweet potato.

Three simple ingredients = a quick, easy, nutritious soup!

With a soup recipe to try…I had the perfect excuse to bake a loaf of Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Hearty Irish Soda Bread! Click here for Canadian Living’s original recipe.

Click here for the post I did on a plain version of Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Irish Soda Bread.

Of course, I made a few adaptions:

Buttermilk replacement: 1 1/2 cups of buttermilk with Natur-a Soy Beverage (for a soy free version use Natur-a Rice Beverage) mixed with 1 1/2 tbsp white vinegar.
Flour replacement: I used 2 cups of whole wheat flour and 1 cup of unbleached all-purpose flour.
Flaxseed replacement:  I used and equal amount of flaxmeal and I sprinkled the top with flaxmeal instead of the unbleached all-purpose flour.

Tip: The dough is very sticky when you mix the wet with the dry ingredients…I mean very sticky

Kneading the very sticky Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Hearty Irish Soda Bread with lots of extra flour

I encourage you to make sure you really dust with flour the area that you will be kneading the dough, as well as, have a pile of flour at your finger tips to dust the top of the dough in between kneading to reduce the amount of stickiness. The picture above shows my completed kneading of the dough with the extra flour to the side.

Enjoy!

Toasted Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Hearty Irish Soda Bread spread with homemade strawberry jam

Delicious toasted with jam, honey or a spread of Vegan Becel Margarine.

P.S. Posting my favourite winter soup soon.

P.P.S. Carla @ My 1/2 Dozen Daily is having another giveaway of one of her beautiful handmade items. Click here to check it out!

What is your favourite winter soup…what do you like to accompany it?

5 thoughts on “Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Hearty Irish Soda Bread And Sweet Potato Leek Soup

  1. maybe I’ll see you tonight at Penny and Co if I make it out , we have peanut and tree nut allergies in my home , seeing what your dealing with makes me grateful we only have peanut and tree nut allergies I know it can’t be easy facing such challenges .
    Take care ,
    Chris

    • Yes, there are a few more challenges navigating Michael’s mulitple food allergies to Matthew’s peanut/tree nuts. I am looking forward to a night out at Penney and Co’s meet and greet with Cobi Ladner…I am a House and Home fan! 🙂 If you do make it…please, feel free to introduce yourself. 🙂

      • Cobi is so great , she came to my house for the Steven and Chris show just about two years ago and did a filmed house tour of my beachy house , she was such a nice warm lady, I admire her so much and miss her presence in H&H .

      • Just got back…big turn out, Cobi was impressed! I had a chance to ask her about some tartan wool left over from my wedding…pillows! I love her concept of decorating one’s home with the things you love…my kind of decorating! 🙂 Sorry I missed you.

  2. Pingback: My Favourite Winter Soup…Roasted Vegetable Soup | The Food Allergy Chronicles

Shall we discuss?

