Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Chocolate Crinkle Cookies

I was inspired to bake up a batch of Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Chocolate Crinkle Cookies by my Secret Sister. Carla @ My 1/2 Dozen Daily’s Secret Sister Swap, hosted the event.

Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Chocolate Crinkle Cookies

Chocolate Crinkle Cookies are one of my Secret Sister’s favourite cookies to bake at Christmas time…therefore, I thought it would be fun to bake an adapted version.

A win/win situation…my boys are able to try out a new cookie and my Secret Sister will receive a sweet treat in the mail!

My search through the internet for an adaptable Chocolate Crinkle Cookie recipe led me to Kate @ Living The Frugal Life. I loved her idea of freezing the cookie batter balls…

Forming Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Chocolate Crinkle Cookie balls of dough for the freezer

before tossing them in icing sugar and baking them.

Frozen Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Chocolate Crinkle Cookie batter balls rolled in icing sugarPerfect for the times when one craves a freshly baked cookie!

The only necessary adaption was the 2 eggs…I replaced them with 2 tbsp of water and 1/4 cup of prune puree added to the wet ingredients and an extra 1/2 tsp of baking soda to the dry ingredients.

I always believe that a recipe is only as good as the ingredients one uses…therefore, I made sure to use real cacao powder…Mum’s Original Organic Criollo Arriba Cacao Powder and Wholesome Sweeteners Organic Sugar. Click here for Kate’s yummy recipe.

Enjoy!

Matthew enjoying a freshly baked Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Chocolate Crinkle Cookie

P.S. Unfortunately, in my rush to get my Secret Sister’s package off in the mail…I ended up deleting all the pictures  I took of the items in her package. I am hoping she will be posting her gifts I sent on her blog, at which point I will attach a link.

P.P.S. I want to thank Tara @ Sew Tara for her DIY section on her blog. It was my inspiration for one of the gifts for my Secret Sister…a Tomato Pin Cushion Revamp!  

P.P.P.S. I also want to give a shout out to my neighbour, Joanna @  That Thing I Made. She had the perfect material for the revamp…with a few colorfully topped pins…I was really pleased with the outcome, considering I am not much of a sewer! Joanna also threw in some awesome bamboo handles which inspired me to search for a sewing pattern for a bag and some funky 70’s material.

8 thoughts on “Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Chocolate Crinkle Cookies

  1. I want to make the cookies too. And I have some Namaste flour thanks to you and Carla informing me 🙂 Now, if going egg free, can I cheat and buy baby prunes? (I’ve been experimenting with cooking mostly vegan).

    • Excellent! Yes, my adaption replaces the 2 eggs with 1/4 cup of prune puree, 2 tbsp of water and an extra 1/4 tsp of baking soda. It worked out great…let me know how they turn out using the Namaste Perfect Flour Blend! Enjoy! P.S. All my baking is dairy and egg free.

  2. Pingback: An Update On My Secret Sister Swap | The Food Allergy Chronicles

  3. Pingback: Gluten, Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Chocolate Crinkles For Carla | The Food Allergy Chronicles

Shall we discuss?