An Update On My Secret Sister Swap

I was relieved to hear that the package I sent to my Secret Sister arrived safe and sound! I can now reveal her to you…Virna @ craftmates.

She has just posted about the package I sent her for the Secret Sister Swap that was hosted by Carla @ My 1/2 Dozen Daily. Click here to view.

Thankfully, Virna posted pictures of all the gifts…unfortunately, in the rush to get the package off, I accidentally deleted all the pictures I had taken of the gifts from my camera. 😦

I focused Virna’s gifts on her love of everything to do with sewing, the 70’s and chocolate…she loved the Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Chocolate Crinkle Cookies! Click here for the adapted recipe.

For the 70’s aspect, I found a funky 70’s mug and put together 6 mini packages of individual cacao mixes…2 tbsp of Wholesome Sweeteners Organic Sugar and 1 tbsp of Mum’s Original Organic Cacao Powder…along with a recipe for her to enjoy. All she has to do is mix 1 tbsp of milk or milk substitute with the cacao mix, add 1 cup of hot milk or milk substitute, stir and enjoy!

Michael enjoys his hot cacao made with soy milk!

I also discovered, in one of my decluttering phases, stationary from when I was a child. Would you believe I still had a letter and envelope set with the ‘Brownie Owl’ at the top of the page! I couldn’t resist using it to write a letter to Virna explaining all the items in her Secret Sister package. 

For Virna’s love of everything to do with sewing, I revamped a tomato pin cushion following the directions from Tara @ Sew Tara. Click here for her DIY tutorial. My neighbour, Joanna @ That Thing I Made, had the perfect 70’s material for the job…she even threw in some bamboo bag handles for me to give to Virna.

The bamboo handles had me off on the hunt for a pattern and material. I tried to stay as close to Virna’s favourite colours of mustard, olive-green and turquoise as possible…while keeping that 70’s vibe. I was so pleased when I found, what I considered, the perfect material on the clearance rack at Fabricland …the lovely ladies swinging bags with olive-green and turquoise polka dots! There was just enough material for the budget friendly pattern…yeah!

I love to bake! I believe the quality of one’s ingredients = the quality of the product.

With that in mind, I put together a little bottle of pure vanilla…I split one vanilla bean and added it to 1/2 cup of vodka. The mixture will need to rest for at least a month.

All in all, I truly enjoyed my quest to put together a fun, creative budget friendly package for around $20. 

A thank you, once again to Carla @My 1/2 Dozen Daily for hosting the event.

P.S. If you live in and around the Milton area, you might be interested in the first craft show that Virna and her other friends @ craftmates will be attending on the weekend of November 10 and 11th 2012. Click here for more information.

4 thoughts on “An Update On My Secret Sister Swap

  1. You put together such a wonderful package!! I love how you find such unique & great gifts!! 🙂 You’re so right about food ingredients, you get what you pay for!

    • Thank you again for hosting the Secret Sister Swap! I had so much fun putting it all together while learning all about Virna and her very talented friends at craftmates.

  2. I totally forgot to mention about the vintage notepad that you used from when you were a brownie – I loved it!!! Thanks again Susan for such a wonderful package and for mentioning our craft show this weekend.

Shall we discuss?

