Dairy, Egg and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Pure Vanilla Ice Cream

My first memory of savouring the genuine flavour and texture of pure vanilla ice cream was back in grade school when our class was studying the pioneers…we churned our own ice cream.

It was one of those ‘ah ha’ moments when I could fully understand and appreciate my father’s love of vanilla ice cream. Of all the 31 flavours that Baskin Robbins would sell…my father always opted for vanilla…it used to baffle me.

On our trips to visit relatives in England and Scotland…I would fall under my father’s spell of vanilla ice cream. Our mission…to search for signs advertising Wall’s Chocolate Covered Ice Cream Bars. Their ice cream bars were so rich and creamy…they had this gorgeous hue of butter, covered in a rich crunchy layer of chocolate.

I hoped to capture that true vanilla flavour with the Dairy, Egg and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Vanilla Ice Cream in the ice cream maker…I believe this recipe manages to do just that.

Rich and creamy with a lovely vanilla almost butterscotch flavour.

A bowl of Dairy, Egg and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Vanilla Ice Cream

Michael’s eyes lit up when he had his first spoonful. “Mmmmmm, now this is good”, he exclaimed with a Cheshire cat-like grin on his face.

This recipe has been slightly adapted from Allergic Living Magazine’s  Senior Editor, Alisa Fleming’s recipe in the Summer 2013 Edition.

Dairy, Egg and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Vanilla Ice Cream

4 tsp cornstarch
1/4 cup plus another 1 1/4 cup Natur-a Soy Beverage
1 1/2 cups Belsoy Cuisine Creamer
2/3 cup granulated sugar
2 tbsp. honey
1/4 tsp salt
2 1/2 inches of a vanilla bean…scrape out the seeds and reserve the bean

Whisk the cornstarch with the 1/4 cup of soy beverage…set aside.
In a saucepan, combine the rest of the soy beverage, sugar, honey and Belsoy.
Bring to a boil slowly.
Boil for 3 minutes.
Whisk in the cornstarch mixture and continue to boil for another 2 minutes.
Remove from heat and stir in the salt, scraped vanilla bean seeds and the vanilla bean.
Let cool for 10 minutes.
Pour mixture into a 4 cup liquid measuring cup, cover and leave for at least 24 hours. ( I made it in the morning and then made the ice cream the next evening)
Be sure to remove the vanilla bean before pouring into the ice cream machine.
Follow your ice cream makers instructions.

Enjoying a bowl of Dairy, Egg and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Vanilla Ice Cream

Enjoy!

P.S. Did you know that it’s National Ice Cream Month?  Why not enjoy a Sundae on Sunday to celebrate!  For a great Dairy Free Chocolate Sauce to drizzle over top of your Sundae click here for a recipe.

Michael’s next flavour to try…Dairy, Egg and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Mint Chocolate Chip Ice Cream.

11 thoughts on “Dairy, Egg and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Pure Vanilla Ice Cream

  1. Pingback: Dairy, Egg and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Mint Ice Cream | The Food Allergy Chronicles

  2. Yum! Your blog is going to SAVE-MY-LIFE the next 6-8 weeks!! I already have tons of allergies, but after seeing a naturopath this week she wants me to go on a allergen free diet to reintroduce things to try and weed out some mild allergies! No Peanuts/Cows Milk/Gluten/Tomatoes/Grapefruit/Pork/Beef!! So glad I can try your recipes!

    • Happy to be at your service! lol Are you going off them all at the same time? For myself, I do limit my dairy, wheat, pork and beef intake and do notice I feel better for it. I eat a high fruit, vegetable, grain and fish diet…with lots of EVOO. In fact, all my baking for my family and friends are dairy and egg free…no one is the wiser! Let me know if you figure anything out for the better. 🙂

      • Yes! All at the same time 😦 6 weeks without to get my histamine antagonists to stop responding, and then every three days (to allow for reaction time) after that I am allowed to start adding back! The naturopath believes my thyroid, asthma and PCOS problems are stemming from lifelong allergies which are exacerbating in not-so-obvious ways!

      • I do hope you find a resolution…I know how frustrating it can be trying to figure out what is the underlying cause of allergic reactions. 🙂

  3. Pingback: Strawberry Rhubarb Sauce Spooned Over Dairy, Egg and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Vanilla Ice Cream | The Food Allergy Chronicles

  4. Pingback: Dairy, Egg and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Caramel Ice Cream Sundae With Dairy Free Caramel Sauce | The Food Allergy Chronicles

  5. Pingback: Dairy, Egg and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Caramelized Peach Ice Cream | The Food Allergy Chronicles

Shall we discuss?

