My New Allergy Friendly Toy…An Ice Cream Maker

Summer is here and the time is right for…eating ice cream.

A summertime staple…however, when some of one’s food allergies include dairy, egg, peanut/tree nut’s…ice cream is hard to come by.

My son used to enjoy Natur-a’s Soy Frozen Dessert…but unfortunately, they seem to have disappeared from the frozen food section as well as on their website.

I have always dreamed of making my own ice cream…now that I cannot find a single solitary ice cream that is dairy and peanut/tree nut freeI am heading out today to purchase my own ice cream maker.

Apparently, it was meant to be…they go on sale today at Sears!

Super excited to bring one home and get the insert in the freezer so I can start making some dairy and peanut/tree nut free ice cream over the weekend!

My purchasing an ice cream maker is perfect timing with the Summer 2013 Edition of my Allergic Living MagazineSenior Editor Alisa Fleming, author of Go Dairy Free: The Guide and Cookbook for Milk Allergies, Lactose Intolerance and Casein Free Living wrote an entire article on Dairy, Gluten and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Ice Cream!

I will ‘play’ with my new ‘toy’ this weekend…I will report back my results next week.

As the summer holidays have started…my postings may start to become a bit irregular.

I wish you all a fun, allergy friendly summer! 🙂

Do you make Dairy, Egg and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Ice Cream? What is your favourite flavour? What ice cream maker do you use?

4 thoughts on “My New Allergy Friendly Toy…An Ice Cream Maker

  1. In Australia, we have a soy icecream that we can buy. I’ve also found a few other ice blocks made just from fruit juice, in the freezer section. And, in the normal isles, I’ve also found some coconut/mango iceblocks, next to the coloured ice blocks. Funny thing is that when my husband occasionally goes shopping, with my son in tow, they actually browse the shelves looking for food he can buy! Unlike shopping with mum who is always on a mission with no time to stop. I’m sure you’ll enjoy your icecream maker too, but it’s also nice to be able to buy stuff every now and then!

    • There are some fruit ices out there…but Michael is not so keen on them. There is that artificial quality to them. It would be nice to just pick up a carton on the spur of the moment. ‘Churning’ one’s own takes time and planning…but then again, most everything I make does so I am just learning to fit it into our food rotation schedule. Luckily, the quality of the ice cream is worth the effort. 🙂

Shall we discuss?

