Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Butter Tarts To Celebrate Canada Day

When you think of Canada…what comes to mind?  For many Canadian foodies…the answer would be Butter Tarts.

Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Butter Tarts

Butter Tarts…the quintessential Canadian bakery treat.

My first memories of Butter Tarts date back to when my Grandmother visited from England…my mother always had a box of Butter Tarts specifically for her mother…well, she did share them.

Grandma loved her Butter Tarts…as did I!

Unfortunately, I have not been able to share my love for Butter Tarts with my boys. For years, my boys have watched family members enjoying the simple pleasure of devouring the sweet and sticky tarts…dairy, eggs and the possibility of peanut/tree nuts make Butter Tarts .

So you can imagine my boys delight when I was able to re-create the famous Butter Tart to be dairy, egg and peanut/tree nut free for them to enjoy.

I am still trying to perfect this recipe with the right cooking time and amount of filling.  My advice is to ere on the lighter side for the filling than to fill them too full. Refrigerating the pastry lined muffin tin before baking does make a difference on how much the filling overflows. Take the time to do that step.

Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Maple Butter Tarts

Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Butter Tarts cooling

Filling

2 tbsp. canola oil
2 tbsp. applesauce (I used cinnamon applesauce as it was all I had on hand)
1 tbsp. flaxmeal mixed with 3 tbsp. of water and left in the refrigerator overnight or until it thickens
1 cup packed Demerrera Sugar
2 tbsp. unbleached all-purpose flour
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp pure vanilla
pinch kosher salt

In a bowl, mix together the above ingredients.

Dairy and Egg Free Pastry

2 cups plus 2 tbsp. unbleached all-purpose flour
1 tsp kosher salt
2/3 cup canola oil
1/3 cup water

In a large bowl measure the flour and salt together.
Combine the oil and water in measuring cup.
Using a wooden spoon, carefully fold together the wet with the dry until just combined.
Divide dough in two.
Roll each dough ball out between floured wax paper until about 3 mm thick and cut 4 inch circles and tuck into muffin tins. Fill all 12.
Refrigerate for 30 minutes.
Fill each pastry lined muffin tin with less than a 1/4 cup of the filling.
Bake at 325 F for 20-25 minutes watching carefully that they do not overflow…which mine did.
Let cool in tin for at least 10 minutes. (Do not fret if the filling has spilled over…just scrap as much as you can back in the tart.)
Carefully lift the tarts out of the muffin tin to finish cooling on a cooling rack.

Enjoy!

Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Butter Tarts

They may not have looked pretty but my boys loved them!

Happy Canada Day Weekend!

10 thoughts on “Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Butter Tarts To Celebrate Canada Day

  1. They look great! Strangely enough, I find filling my tarts a bit more makes the bubbling over less. Maybe because they need more heat to bring the filling to boil?? I also have started lining my muffin tins with muffin cups (I flatten them out and place them in the tin with the pastry already on the paper cup). Then, I have no worry about losing a butter tart if too much filling overflows. I used to spend lots of time “spinning” the tarts while they cooled in the tin to help keep them from sticking. Now I can just walk away and remove the muffin cup after they have cooled 🙂

    • Thanks Leslie…you are the Butter Tart Queen. I should have known to talk to you about them. Refrigerating them with the batter in them also helped. I think it is the different ingredients in the filling that need to be heated up slowly so as to give the pastry time to bake. 🙂

  2. Hello,
    What a wonderful resource! My 23 year old daughter has multiple serious food allergies (peanut, tree nut, sesame, all fish…unfortunately the list goes on). I would have loved the support your blog has to offer as we found our way around all the pitfalls as she was growing up. The good news is that she is now a happy and healthy adult working and living in Kyoto, Japan. We never thought it possible as she is allergic to most of the core foods used in Japanese cooking. Where there’s a will there’s a way! She was determined to live her dream. Fortunately she is a real foodie and loves to cook so she recreates Japanese and Korean meals for herself. She has her own blog which she uses to share her food adventures. Just thought you would be interested in hearing from a mom whose a little further down the road! Thank you for sharing your recipes and ideas!

    • Yes, thank you! Sometimes I feel like we are trailblazing our way through. So happy to hear of your daughter’s successes…her positive attitude is an inspiration for others living with multiple food allergies. Thank you so much for your comment! Would you be able to share the name of her blog? 🙂

  3. Oh my!! I am sooooo excited about these! Never in my wildest dreams did I think i’d ever be able to eat a “butter tart” again! eek!! These are going on my list! Thank-you Susan!!

Shall we discuss?

