How Do You Control Your Allergy Related Anxiety?

Tip # 7 from Anaphylaxis Canada’s Youth Advisory Panel. Click here for the entire list.

“Be careful showing allergy related anxiety around us. We pick up on it and may start to become anxious ourselves”

This one really got me to thinking…

How do we balance our own fears of our children’s food allergies…while at the same time, educating those around our children about the seriousness nature of anaphylaxis without being an alarmist?

When I think back to when my boys were younger and very impressionable…I tried to deliver their medical history in a ‘matter-of-fact’ manner. I discovered this to be the most effective way, due to the fact, that as soon as I would mention Michael’s long list of food allergens (dairy, egg, beef, lamb, fish, shellfish, peanut/tree nuts, sesame, mustard and raspberries), along with his eczema and asthma issues…the reaction on the face of the person receiving the information would be one of complete shock…they would seem completely overwhelmed.

My calm delivery was to meant to offset the reaction so my boys did not feel they were being left in the hands of someone who seemed ‘anxious themselves’.

I often found myself reassuring the recipient of the information that with a few simple measures set in place (no sharing of food, my boys were only to eat food from home, washing hands before eating, and at school, my boys kept the same desk all year which the custodian cleaned daily)…the chance of an anaphylactic reaction could be minimized.

Reviewing the signs and symptoms of anaphylaxis and the administration of an auto-injector and having my boys carry an auto-injector, as well as, having one in the classroom and in the office…relieved some of the anxiety.

Maintaining a sense of calm, assurance and control is not always easy…how do you control your allergy related anxiety around your children with food allergies?

4 thoughts on “How Do You Control Your Allergy Related Anxiety?

    • If find, living with multiple food allergies becomes a lifestyle one must embrace in order to relieve some of the anxiety. Great tips…thanks for sharing! 🙂

      • Great topic and great tips. I ditto the approach you both take and must remind myself of these steps – particularly since we just had to administer the Epipen for the 4th time in our 11 year old sons’ life this past Friday! Being organized, always being prepared with medication, safe foods and a safe place to eat, and having a plan in place, and being willing to FOLLOW THROUGH with the plan are so important to caring for individuals at risk for anaphylaxis.

      • Thank you! I love the Scout motto: “Be prepared”…we live it everyday! 🙂 So sorry about your son…have you heard of the new auto injector Allerject? My boys love it’s compact size…I love the verbal instructions! 🙂

Shall we discuss?

