Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Mini Lemon Blueberry Cornmeal Muffins

I enjoyed a beautiful weekend away visiting my mother to celebrate her birthday.

Early Sunday morning I was busy in the kitchen baking mini muffins…

Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Mini Lemon Blueberry Cornmeal Muffins

A basket of Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Lemon Blueberry Cornmeal Muffins

The perfect treat to bring along to my mother’s church for their coffee/tea meet and greet after the service…they loved them!

This recipe comes from my neighbour, Linda…who in turn was given this recipe from a friend. I cut the recipe in half, adapted it to be dairy, soy and egg free and opted to bake mini muffins.

Did you notice the beautiful tea towel the mini muffins are wrapped in?

Patchwork Tea Towel handmade by Carla @ My 1/2 Dozen Daily

Carla @ My 1/2 Dozen Daily sewed it for me.

The ‘Little Red Riding Hood’ pattern was from a Scrap Swap Carla held. As soon as I saw it…I knew I needed her to sew me something with it.

After my husband referred to me as ‘Little Red Riding Hood’…I went delivering my muffins in my basket through the neighbourhood last week…I knew just what Carla could sew for me…a patchwork tea towel for my muffin basket.

Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Lemon Blueberry Cornmeal Muffins

1/2 cup canola oil
2 tbsp. water
1/2 tsp pure vanilla
2 tsp freshly squeezed lemon juice
1 tbsp. lemon zest
3/4 cup granulated sugar
1 1/4 cups unbleached all-purpose flour
1/4 cup cornmeal
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 cup of a non-dairy beverage such as Natur-a Rice Beverage mixed with 1 tsp freshly squeezed lemon juice
3/4 – 1 cup fresh or frozen blueberries (I used fresh blueberries in this recipe)

In a large bowl, mix the dry ingredients (flour, cornmeal, baking soda, baking powder, sugar and lemon zest) excluding the blueberries.
In a separate bowl, mix the wet ingredients (oil, lemon juice, vanilla and water) excluding the non-dairy beverage.
Add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients alternating with the non-dairy beverage. (ending with the dry ingredients with the blueberries)
Fill mini muffin tin paper liners with batter.
Tip 1:  I was able to fill a 24 cup mini muffin tin and then baked another 8.
Bake at 350 F for 10 – 15 minutes.
Let cool in muffin tin for 10 minutes before removing to continue cooling on cooling rack.

Enjoying Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Lemon Blueberry Cornmeal Mini Muffins with a cup of tea

Enjoy!

Tip 2:  Wondering what to do with the leftover lemon juice?  I love it stirred into water for a refreshing drink or sprinkled over fresh fruit with a drizzle of local honey.

5 thoughts on “Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Mini Lemon Blueberry Cornmeal Muffins

  1. They turned out great didn’t they!? They look delicious! The cookies you gave the girls were gone probably before you got to your moms.. .hahaha!! The tea towel looks great! 🙂 So glad you like it!

  2. Pingback: Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Homemade Strawberry Jam Filled Lemon Cornmeal Muffins | The Food Allergy Chronicles

Shall we discuss?

