Thank You Evan and Eric Edwards…My Boys Have Their Allerjects

In 1998, my eldest son, Michael was 2 years old…suffering from severe eczema, multiple food allergies, sensitivities and asthma. At the end of the year, I gave birth to my second son, Matthew…only to discover, years later, he also had food allergies, eczema and asthma.

Who knew, that same year, 18 year old twin brothers, Evan and Eric Edwards, (allergies include peanut/tree nuts, shellfish, fish and antibiotics), had sketched on a napkin...a design for an auto-injector that would fit inside their blue jeans pocket.

An activity that ultimately…determined the brothers’ educational paths (pharmaceutical science/medicine and engineering)…career paths (founded a specialty pharmaceutical company named Intelliject)…business decision (Sanofi bought the North American licensing rights to the new auto-injector)…and created, some 15 years later, the first voice-prompted auto-injectorAllerject.

The boys' first Allerject auto-injector

Click here for a link to their site. Take note of their offer for a free Allerject trainer and Allerject carrying case per household.

I first learned of Allerject from my Winter 2013 Allergic Living Magazinethere was an Allerject advertisement plus…a fantastic article written by Mary Esselman titled, “The Auto-Injector That Talks”. (The information for this post derives mostly from this article.)

I received my copy (December 2012) just days before heading out for the boys’ annual allergy testing at the allergist…I brought it along. My allergist was surprised to see that Allerject was almost ready to ‘hit the shelves’…at this point, Allerject was awaiting approval from Health Canada…hopefully becoming available in early 2013.

The allergist wrote a prescription for both the boys for Epi Pens and Allerjects…thus becoming the allergist’s very first written prescription for Allerject.

As the boys’ Epi Pens expired this month…I was eager to get to the pharmacy to fill their prescriptions for Allerject. I was pleased to discover…not only was Allerject available but the pharmacy had an Allerject trainer.

I have to say…I think the pharmacist and her assistant were just as eager to try out the Allerject trainer as I was…it was very cool.

My favourite quote from Mary Esselman’s article:

” ‘When I see it come in front of me in a pharmacy bag, that’s when reality will set in,’ said Eric. ‘Wow, we finally did something. We did something that we originally set out to do that one day when we were sketching a credit card thing with a retractable needle on a napkin. That’s when I think I’ll be most excited.’ “

Surprising my boys with the Edward twins ‘dream come true’…their very own Allerject…priceless!

Allerject fits in the palm of your hand.

Allerject fits in the palm of your hand

Michael just loves it…perfect for a teen that is uncomfortable carrying around a bulky auto-injector. Allerject has fit into his life at an ideal time.

Thank you, thank you, thank you!

Thank you for dreaming big…thank you for following your dream…thank you for proving that taking what you know (I need to carry an auto-injector because I have anaphylaxis) to solve that which you don’t know (how can I improve this auto-injector so it is easy to carry around, easy to use and teen friendly) is do-able…that dreams really can come true no matter how big.

P.S. I have just received my free Allerject trainer to practice with my boys, family members, friends and staff at my boys’ high school. Yippee!

Allerject trainer to the left and an actual Allerject auto-injector

The Allerject trainer is well marked and a totally different colour than the actual Allerject.

I will be heading to the high-school today with a letter outlining the boys’ new auto-injector…Allerject. I will be speaking to the Vice-Principal to discuss the best method of training for the administration of the Allerject to the boys’ immediate teachers and overall high-school staff. I hope they are excited about this opportunity as I am!

P.P.S. The United States equivalent to the Allerject is called the Auvi-Q. Click here for a link to their site.

Will you be choosing the Allerject/Auvi-Q for your next auto-injector for yourself or your child? How will the Allerject/Auvi-Q make a difference in your life? If you have one already…what do you think?

18 thoughts on “Thank You Evan and Eric Edwards…My Boys Have Their Allerjects

  1. How fabulous! I have goosebumps and I am so excited. I would love the training so I can spread the word at my work.
    How lucky we all are to have you keeping abreast of all the new advances and sharing the knowledge with us. Thank you!

    • It is very exciting…especially for those who find carrying an Epi-Pen a challenge. I would love to train you and your children…they seem to spend half their time with my boys! lol 🙂

  2. What a great and much needed new product! I just refilled my Epi-pen and for now i’m ‘good’. I think it’s different if you’re a kid or a man… women and most girls carry a purse of some type, but men on the other hand don’t really have anything but a “pocket”, so something like this is awesome!! So glad you got yours for your boys!

    • I agree…I have never had a problem carrying around my back-up Epi-Pen for the boys…plus their own when the need arises. For my boys…the Allerject is the perfect solution for carrying around an auto-injector for their anaphylaxis. 🙂

  3. As mom to a 13 yr old boy, I am thrilled about this! I anxiously and excitedly read the article when it made it in the US edition of Allergic Living. We are going to the allergist in May and will request a prescription. My plan is to keep Epi-pens for the school since he only has one year left there and then probably move 100% to these for high school because he will carry it full time by that time. Thanks for all the info. you have provided!

  4. Even Though I Carry A Massive Purse, This is Still Awesome Because It’d Let Me Lug Around A Slightly Smaller Purse 🙂 (Sorry, My Phone Capitalizes Every Word In The WordPress App!)

  5. I have the Allerject as well ( although in the US where I live, it’s called Auvi-Q) for my allergies to peanuts, all tree nuts and shellfish. Like you said, it’s a lot easier for a teenager or anyone to carry their medicine with them. When I was in high school, carrying my Epipens would be a pain since they were so big. It didn’t even fit in my purse for prom! Thank god some created a smaller epinephrine device!

    • Yes, the Allerject definitely is easier to ‘pocket’ for guys and fits into girls’ ‘hip’ little purses without taking up too much room. I know this, as I often carry the back-up Allerjects.

Shall we discuss?

