My Evening at Jennifer Bain’s Toronto Star Cookbook Launch

I was thrilled to have received an invitation to Monday’s launch of Jennifer Bain’s new cookbook…

Toronto Star Cookbook More Than 15 Diverse And Delicious Recipes Celebrating Ontario.

Toronto Star Cookbook by Jennifer Bain

Look at those mouth-watering photos taken by photographer Ryan Szulc.

Driving in from Whitby, I arrived at the venue a bit early…

The Cookbook Store where Jennifer Bain's Toronto Star Cookbook had her launch party

The Cookbook Store on Yonge St. Toronto. Click here for a link.

The Cookbook Store is celebrating it’s 30th Anniversary this year. Click here for a story The Toronto Star recently wrote about owner Alison Fryer’s cookbook store journey.

My early arrival gave me the opportunity to catch up with Jennifer and to meet her husband, young daughter and 6 month old son.

Not to mention, purchase my very own Toronto Star Cookbook

Jennifer Bain and I at the Cookbook Store ready to sign my copy of the Toronto Star Cookbook

…and have Jennifer personally sign it for me! I am over the moon!

With a bit of time on my hands…I engaged in a conversation with Jennifer’s daughter, Hazel.  I was curious to know what a 5 five-year would choose as her favourite recipe from her mother’s cookbook. In a very decisive manner…with no hesitation at all she declared…Mango Lassi.

Luckily, Jennifer was in ear shot and helped to describe Mango Lassi to me. Mango Lassi is a drink made up of yogurt, mango pulp, ice cubes and sugar…sounds delish!

I now have it marked with a bookmark that Hazel so kindly offered for me to take home.

The Toronto Star Cookbook is filled with a collection of some of the Toronto Star’s best recipes from “chef’s farmers, home cooks, food writers, store owners” with the addition of “25 READERS CHOICE  recipes, chosen by Star readers as their favourite of all time.”

The Toronto Star Cookbook reads like a book…full of Jennifer’s tales as a food editor, stories of reader’s love of recipes with a variety of recipes celebrating Ontario.

Of course there were selections from Jennifer’s Toronto Star Cookbook for us all to sample…Za’atar Pita Chips, My Favourite Hummus, Go-To Guacamole, Red Pepper Relish, Curried Red Lentil And Apricot Soup and my favourite of the evening…

A bowl of Cumin Carrots with Cilantro Vinaigrette served at the Cookbook Store at the launch of Jennifer Bain's Toronto Star Cookbook

Cumin Carrots With Cilantro Vinaigrette.

The Toronto Star Cookbook’s photography is stunning…the recipes were hand selected and personally tested by Jennifer herself…so I know, if the recipe sounds delish, it will be delish.

What better way to start one of my allergy friendly adaptations. I cannot wait to whip up my first dish!

The recipes I had sent in as my favourites for the Toronto Star Cookbook may not have made it in the top 25 READERS CHOICE…but I did make it in the book!

I am thrilled, honoured, ‘tickled pink’ that I made it in the Star READERS SPEAK OUT section of the cookbook…20 rave reviews from Star reader’s favourite dishes made it.

My quote read, “In your 2011 Cookie Calendar, I was pleased to note that the first cookie you presented, Peppermint Crisps, was dairy-and egg-free,” writes Susan Hawrylow of Whitby, Ont.  “Also offered was a gluten-free cookie, Spiced Chocolate Crackles.  Nowadays, when there are so many people with food allergies, intolerances and health issues, it is great to be able to find a variety of recipes to suit each of our unique needs.”

How cool is that?

Even if my dream of publishing my family’s journey and compilation of our favourite allergy friendly recipes into my very own cookbook remains but a dream…I feel honoured to have made it into the pages of Jennifer Bain’s Toronto Star Cookbook.

Click here to read all about Jennifer Bain’s journey of the making of the Toronto Star Cookbook in her article “So you think you can write a cookbook”.

As daunting as it may sound…my dream lives on!

10 thoughts on “My Evening at Jennifer Bain’s Toronto Star Cookbook Launch

  1. What a terrific experience! I read the article in the Star about that very cookbook store and thought to myself that I should visit it the next time I’m in the vicinity. And I don’t know about you, but I am still hoping to buy your safe-food/allergen-free cookbook there someday…

  2. Pingback: Two Recipes From The Toronto Star Cookbook by Jennifer Bain | The Food Allergy Chronicles

  3. Susan I loved having you there and was so glad you came early so we could talk (b/c it quickly turned into a blur). Glad you got to eat — the Cookbook Store made those dishes! I look forward to your book. Seriously. Do it.

    • Thank you! You’re ‘Go for it!” advice to start a blog has led me on an unforgettable journey…I am learning so much about myself along the way. 🙂 I hold your advice in high esteem…thank you for your confidence! I do so want to create something (a cookbook full of allergy friendly recipes, memories, inspirational words) for my boys to carry with them as they continue on this journey on their own terms. 🙂

Shall we discuss?

