My Aunt Mary’s Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Scottish Oatmeal ‘Flapjack’ Cookies

I have come by my love of oatmeal and ‘sweet syrup’ honestly…I am of British stock…my parents emigrated to Canada in the mid 1960’s.

Aunt Mary's Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Oatmeal 'Flapjack' Cookies

My Scottish grandfather used to soak a bowl of oatmeal every night before bed for his morning breakfast…a tradition my son, Matthew, continues. Although, Matthew does not soak the oats…he does enjoy a big hearty bowl of oatmeal with milk and drizzled with pure maple syrup…our Canadian version of ‘golden syrup’.

I have always been drawn to recipes that incorporate the use of oats…oatmeal cookies, oatmeal bars, oatmeal crisps, crumbles and of course, a hot steaming bowl of good old oatmeal…I love the rich taste of sweetened toasted oats!

It is with great pleasure that I have finally come to adapt an oatmeal recipe handed down by my Scottish Granny, to her daughter, my Aunt Mary. To this day, my Aunt Mary bakes these cookies for all my Scottish relatives to enjoy that are still living in a small town in Scotland.

My Aunt Mary’s Oatmeal ‘Flapjack’ Cookies have stood the test of time…I can still remember enjoying them on all my visits back ‘home’ to see all my Scottish relatives.

Aunt Mary’s Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Scottish Oatmeal ‘Flapjack’ Cookies

Aunt Mary's Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Oatmeal 'Flapjack' Cookies

1/2 cup Earth Balance Vegan Buttery Sticks or Earth Balance Soy Free Natural Buttery Spread
1 tsp Lyle’s Golden Syrup
1 tsp water
1/2 cup Demerara  Sugar

Melt the above ingredients and then add to the mixed ingredients listed below.

2 cups ‘porridge’ oats (quick oats)
1 cup ‘self-raising flour’ (1 cup unbleached all-purpose flour mixed with 1 tsp baking powder and 1/4 tsp kosher salt)
1/2 tsp baking soda

Combine all ingredients and then shape into a ball and flatten into a disc.

Tip:  For the first batch…I just left the dough in the shape of a ball. My mother informed me that my Aunt Mary’s cookies are more of the shape of a ‘Hobnob’. Click here for a picture. I found the ingredients to be too dry by the second batch…so I added 2 tbsp of water to the mixture…a bit sticky to work with…and then shaped them on the cookie sheet into a flattened disc…much like a ‘Hobnob’. By the time I was ready to shape the third and final batch…the cookie dough was much easier to shape.

Bake at 350 F for 15 – 20 minutes or until golden brown.
Cool on baking sheet for 10 minutes before transferring them to a cooling rack.

Enjoy!

Enjoying Aunt Mary's Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Oatmeal 'Flapjack' Cookies

Delish…rich tasting with that great toasty oat taste…just like Aunt Mary’s! Although, I sure would love a hands-on tutorial…I must get my baking gene from her!

P.S. I know just the couple that will enjoy a package of these ‘British treats’.

A package of Aunt Mary's Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Scottish Oatmeal 'Flapjack' Cookies for my neighbour

There is something so comforting about oatmeal…with a cup of tea…perfection!

3 thoughts on “My Aunt Mary’s Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Scottish Oatmeal ‘Flapjack’ Cookies

  1. Pingback: Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free ‘British Flapjacks’ | The Food Allergy Chronicles

Shall we discuss?

