Dairy, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Raisin Irish Soda Bread

St. Patrick’s Day is this weekend…what better excuse to bake an allergy friendly version of Raisin Irish Soda Bread.

Dairy, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Raisin Irish Soda Bread

Dairy, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Raisin Irish Soda Bread

Next time, I will have to remember to drizzle the orange juice icing when the bread has cooled completely…it might not have drizzled right off the loaf!

I followed the directions from my Canadian Living Cooks Step by Step cookbook. It is a variation of their Irish Soda Bread. Click here for the original recipe and follow the directions for the variation…Honey Apricot Irish Soda Bread.

My adaptions: 

Substitute Natur-a Soy Beverage or Natur-a Rice Beverage mixed with 1 1/2 tbsp of white vinegar for the buttermilk.
I also used all raisins instead of using apricots.

The boys came in after a game of road hockey…sliced while still warm…the boys tried a slice of Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Raisin Irish Soda Bread.

Sliced of Dairy, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Raisin Irish Soda Bread

Moist, dense, chewy…yummy!

Quick and easy to make and bake…just in time for St. Patrick’s Day!

Enjoy!

P.S.  Guess what? Our family ‘stepped out of the box last night’…enjoyed a night out at a restaurant! Post coming for Monday!

Have you ‘stepped out of your box’ lately?

4 thoughts on “Dairy, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Raisin Irish Soda Bread

  1. That is so delicious looking. I’m hoping to get a loaf made sometime in the next week, but might be after St. Patrick’s Day…my boys are goofy about raisins, so I might just leave them out–so silly…

    • I know…I just love raisins baked in everything! My guys are also funny about raisins being baked in things…although, Michael really liked this one. He wants me to put raisins in the Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Banana Bread…go figure…maturity? 🙂

Shall we discuss?

