Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Chocolate Chunk Wholewheat Banana Bread

Much to my boys’ chagrin…I am always re-creating recipes to be somewhat healthier. I especially hear an uproar when I start adding healthy stuff like…wholewheat flour, flaxmeal and oatmeal.

I hear things like…”Why did you have to change it?…I liked it the other way.” or “Can’t you just make it the way it was?”

Such was the case this weekend…

Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Chocolate Chunk Wholewheat Banana Bread

Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Chocolate Chunk Wholewheat Banana Bread cooling

Matthew practically recoiled when he saw me adding flaxmeal to the dry ingredient bowl and Michael was all over me when he looked at the bread cooling in the loaf pan…”What are all the seeds?”

I found a kindred spirit in Lauren Coles of St. Catharines, Ontario…she re-invented her mother’s classic banana bread with honey, applesauce and a healthier oil. I discovered her recipe in the July 2011 Clean Eating Magazine. Click here for the original recipe.

The only adaptions for this recipe were replacing the 2 egg whites with a flax egg (1 tbsp of flaxmeal mixed with 3 tbsp of water, stir and leave overnight in the refrigerator) and the flaxseed oil…I used canola oil. For the chopped dark chocolate I chopped up Enjoy Life Mega Chocolate Chunks.

The loaf took much longer than the 25 minute baking time in the original recipe…I let it cook for at least an hour…checking at 5 minute intervals after the initial 25 minutes.

Okay…so I think it was the chocolate chunks that convinced Matthew to give the Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Chocolate Chunk Wholewheat Banana Bread a try…”Mmmmm, good. But I liked the other Banana Bread better.”

Sliced Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Chocolae Chunk Wholewheat Banana Bread sprinkled with icing sugar

When I ask him if he would like another piece the answer was a smile…and a “Yes!”

I pondered whether or not I should have cooked the Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Chocolate Chunk Wholewheat Banana Bread another 5 minutes or so…it was very moist… almost like it was still a bit undercooked.

Slices of Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Chocolate Chunk Wholewheat Banana Bread ready to enjoy

However, Andy practically ‘breathed in a slice’…dismissed the notion and snuck back for a second piece!

When I sliced a piece the next day…the texture of the bread was perfect. Perhaps it just needed time to  rest…I just couldn’t wait to try it while it was still lovely and warm!

Michael…well, he showed no interest in trying this particular adaption…however he did request me to add raisins rather than chocolate to the Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Banana Bread that was a hit last week. (recipe Matthew was referencing)

Now who is adapting recipes to be healthier! Click here for the post and recipe.

Do you like to not only adapt a recipe to be free of your allergens but also create a healthier option? What is the reaction of friends or family?

6 thoughts on “Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Chocolate Chunk Wholewheat Banana Bread

  1. I love this post! I do the same thing: mess with recipes to make it healthier, whether it’s cutting sugar or adding flax. Sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn’t!

    • I love this version of an allergen free banana bread…my boys, however, much prefer my unadulterated version of Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Banana Bread. Click here for the post and recipe. Thanks for stopping by! Enjoy! 🙂

    • It did seem strange as this has never happened to me before. I am thinking, perhaps, the cake had not the time to properly cool and set. I always like to let my baking cool at least 10 minutes in the baking pan before I release it to let it cool furthur on a cooling rack. Who can resist warm from the oven baked goods?! 🙂

Shall we discuss?

