My Favourite Winter Soup…Roasted Vegetable Soup

I have to say…one of my favourite winter-time soups has to be a bowl of this thick’n rich, delicious soup.

Roasted Vegetable Soup

A bowl of Roasted Vegetable Soup

Full of the rich flavour of roasted carrots, sweet potatoes and onions…all I can say is ..”Mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm!”

Roasted Vegetable Soup paired with Hearty Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Wholewheat Irish Soda Bread is the perfect meal to bring when you have been invited away for the weekend.

A bowl of Roasted Vegetable Soup with a slice of Hearty Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Wholewheat Irish Soda Bread

The soup can easily be made ahead and frozen…only to be reheated upon arrival or when ready to feed a hungry crowd.

I like to prep the Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Wholewheat Irish Soda Bread ahead of time too…just package up all the dry ingredients and bring along the Natur-a Soy Beverage or Natur-a Rice Beverage, canola oil and white vinegar (hosts may have them on hand, but if concerned about any cross-contamination it is always safer to bring your own)…combine together, knead and bake.

So easy to put together…you will delight your hosts…surprise any other guests and amaze everyone with your delicious, nutritious, homecooked meal.

The original recipe comes from the February 2004 issue of Canadian Living Magazine. Click here for the original recipe.

Roasted Vegetable Soup

I have made a few adaptions for my own personal tastes…I replaced the baking potatoes with sweet potatoes, the shallots with white onions and I used vegetable broth.

I just recently enjoyed the above picutured bowl of Roasted Vegetable Soup and Hearty Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Wholewheat Irish Soda Bread in my rush to get out the door for 5:45 p.m.
 
I was in a hurry to pick up my two friends, Linda and Leslie, enroute to PENNY & CO.’s ‘meet and greet’ with Cobi Ladner. Click here to view Michael Penney’s post on the event.
 
I was soooo excited to attend the event! I have always loved perusing through my mother’s Canadian decorating magazinesHouse and HomeStyle At Home…just as much as I have loved pouring over my mother’s Canadian cooking magazinesCanadian LivingChatelaine. Like mother, like daughter…I come by my love of magazines quite honestly.  It was just too bad that my mother was unable to attend herself.
 
Creating beautiful food and surrounding myself with the things I love are ‘two of my most favourite things’. After listening to Cobi speak about decorating one’s home…I think I am on the right track! Click here for more cobistyle.
 
I was ‘super excited’ to actually get to ‘meet and greet’ Cobi!
 
Cobi Ladner and me at  Penney & Co.
Very exciting!
 
I was thrilled to be able to ask Cobi about some of my family’s tartan wool…Ancient MacBeth…leftover from my wedding…my father brought it back from Scotland so it is very special to me.
 
Ancient MacBeth tartan
Pillows for my living room…tartan on the front with a soft velvet on the back surrounded with black trim. I just need to pick a colour for the velvet…Black? Cream/White? Emerald Green? Orange? Any suggestions?
 
How do you express your creative side?
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
2 thoughts on “My Favourite Winter Soup…Roasted Vegetable Soup

  1. I like the idea of black trim! But I’m loving the idea of orange velvet on the back! Orange is so warm and it works surprisingly well in a lot ways with a lot of different colours. It will be great with that gorgeous blue in the tartan.
    Can’t wait to see the finished pillows!

Shall we discuss?

