Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Waffles

I surprised my boys this weekend with homemade, freshly baked Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Waffles!

A couple of Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Waffles topped with Vegan Becel Margarine and pure maple syrup

Scrumpdelicious!

I couldn’t believe my luck when I stumbled upon a recipe…already void of eggs…that I could easily adapt to meet Michael’s food allergens. (dairy, egg, beef, lamb, sesame, fish, shellfish, peanut/tree nuts, mustard and raspberries)

All I needed was a waffle maker. Again, luck was on my side when I discovered Cuisinart’s new product…Griddler Waffle Plates! As I already own a Cuisinart Griddler…the waffle plates were the perfect choice.

The original recipe comes from my Bon Appetit Magazine’s  March 2009 issue. Click here for their recipe. I substituted the 2 cups of buttermilk with 2 cups of Natur-a Soy Beverage mixed with 2 tbsp of white vinegar that sat in the fridge for an hour. (for a soy free version use Natur-a Rice Beverage) I substituted the 6 tbsp of melted butter for 6 tbsp of canola oil.

The boys hovered near by as the batter was carefully ladled into the waffle plates.  Michael started frying up some bacon to accompany the Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Waffles while both the boys anxiously waited for the waffle batter to bake.

Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Waffles in the Cuisinart Waffle Plates

Four minutes in the Griddler…perfection!

Topped with Vegan Becel Margarine and pure maple syrup…rave reviews soon followed.

Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Waffles topped with Vegan Becel Margarine and pure maple syrup ready to enjoy

Crispy and light…definitely a double thumbs up!

I saved a couple of Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Waffles for Michael to toast the this morning for breakfast.

Enjoying a Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Waffle

Enjoy!

8 thoughts on “Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Waffles

  1. Pingback: Enjoying the March Break 2013…With Food Allergies | The Food Allergy Chronicles

Shall we discuss?

