The Toronto Star 2012 Cookie Calendar Countdown: Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Shortbread Cookies

The Toronto Star’s 2012 Day 16 Cookie for the Cookie Calendar Countdown is no ordinary Shortbread Cookie…this recipe has a heritage.

Not only was Cathy Kehoe’s grandmother, Mary Ethyl Hare, creator of this Brown Sugar Shortbread Cookie but she was also the Private Secretary to R.S. McLaughlan, founder of General Motors. As I live in a neighbouring city of General Motors Canada…I felt it was fitting to whip up a batch. Click here for the original recipe at The Toronto Star.

Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Shortbread Cookies

Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Shortbread Cookies

I enjoyed the caramel taste the brown sugar lends to the cookie. I also prefer my shortbread to be a little more browned than most…just like my mom…so I made sure to bake some a little longer.

I adapted the recipe to be dairy free by replacing the butter with Earth Balance Buttery Vegan Sticks (for a soy free recipe use Earth Balance Soy Free Natural Buttery Spread). I cut the recipe in half and found that I needed to up the temperature to 350 F in order to bake the cookies for 10-12 minutes…depending on the size of the cut out and the thickness of the dough.  (Not sure if it was a misprint to preheat the oven and bake the cookies at 300 F)

I hope you are all enjoying my adaptations…any favourites so far?

Shall we discuss?

