The Toronto Star’s Day 12 Cookie Calendar Countdown: Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free ‘Sugar Plum Oat Fairy Cookies’

I was sooo excited to see The Toronto Star’s Day 12 Cookie Calendar Countdown Cookie…Jae Steele’s Gluten-Free Thumbprint Cookies…a cookie that was already dairy and egg free!

Love the name…’Sugar Plum Fairy Cookies’…plum jam is one of my favourites!

I knew this was a cookie I definitely wanted to try. Click here for the original recipe from The Toronto Star.

Unfortunately, I had forgotten how hard it would be to find brown rice flour let alone find one that was free of my son’s allergens…dairy, egg, sesame and peanut/tree nuts. I had no such luck…so I opted for oat flour.

Gluten, Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free ‘Sugar Plum Oat Fairy Cookies’

Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free 'Sugar Plum Fairy Cookie'

Combining three of my favourite flavours…cinnamon, oats and plum jam…I loved them!

In the end, I did need to adapt Jae’s recipe…I needed to increase the oat flour to 2 1/2 cups…it was still a bit wet and sticky but much more easily manageable. I also switched the nutmeg to ground ginger as a personal preference. I baked the cookies for 10 minutes, then indented them with my thumb and added the 1/2 tsp of plum jam and baked them for a further 6-8 minutes. I baked half the recipe at 350 F in the same manner as the above with similar results.

Who does not love the combination of cinnamon, oats and chocolate!

Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free 'Sugar Plum Fairy Cookie' with Chocolate

Try sprinkling in Enjoy Life’s Chocolate Chips for a kid friendly option!

Tip 1: For those that can tolerate wheat free oats…I found Chateau Cream Hill Estates product, Lara’s Whole Grain Oat Flour. Right on the front of the package it reads, “FREE OF: Wheat, Barley, Rye Triticale, Spelt and Kamut.” On the side panel, is an advisory stating that “Current scientific literature suggests that the majority of people with celiac disease can tolerate eating limited amounts of pure and uncontaminated oat flour…” ending with “Please check with your doctor and/or dietician before introducing oats into your diet.” Click here for a link to their website to read more about their products.

Tip 2: One can always make their own oat flour by processing whole oats in a food processor until a fine ground.

Tip 2: Incidentally, finding the Greaves Plum Jam was not hard for me to find…MacMillans Orchards in Ajax sells many varieties of Greaves products. My personal favourite plum jam, as well as my mother’s, is Mirabelle Plum by St. Dalfour. Their no sugar added jams are only sweetened with concentrated grape juice and are gluten-free.

I made some specifically for my mother to enjoy over the holiday season using St. Dalfour’s Mirabelle Plum Jam.

I will have to tuck them away to keep me from eating them!

P.S. Have you been following along with Jennifer Bain’s Cookie Calendar Countdown in The Toronto Star? Have you tried any of the cookies? What types of cookies entice you to bring out the bakeware? Would you consider adapting a recipe to suit your food allergens or do you prefer to buy prepackaged allergen friendly baked goods? Would love to hear from you!

2 thoughts on “The Toronto Star’s Day 12 Cookie Calendar Countdown: Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free ‘Sugar Plum Oat Fairy Cookies’

Shall we discuss?

