The Toronto Star’s 2012 Cookie Calendar Countdown: Day 3: Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Date Drop Cookies

My BFF, Anne, is here visiting from Calgary…one thing we have in common is a love for dates.

It was serendipity when I read The Toronto Star’s Day 3 Cookie Calendar Cookie was Geoff Fleming’s Great-Grandmother’s family recipe from Germany…Date Drop Cookies. Click here for the original recipe at The Toronto Star.

“Oh, you have to make them!”, exclaimed Anne. So we did!

Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Date Drop Cookies

Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Date Drop Cookies

Oh my gosh…delicious! Each one is a Ittle nugget of yumminess!

I replaced the butter with Earth Balance Vegan Sticks (for a soy free version replace butter wit Earth Balance Soy Free Buttery Spread ), the egg with 1/4 cup cinnamon applesauce and omitted the walnuts.

“Aren’t you glad I made you make them”, Anne announced. “Oh my, yes!”…Anne knows me only too well!

Unfortunately, I could not interest the boys…my husband, Andy, on the other hand, couldn’t keep his hand out of the ‘proverbial cookie jar!’ He justified himself by stating, “But they’re so small”!

If you love dates as much as we all do…this is a must try recipe…sure to please those with or without dairy, egg, soy and/or peanut/tree nut allergies!

My parting gift for Anne…

A package of Dairy, Egg. Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Date Drop Cookies for Anne

…a package of Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Date Drop Cookies to tide her over on her flight home.

If you are wild about dates…you may want to try my Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Date Squares that I made Anne last year. Click here for the recipe.

Tip:  Next batch will be made with whole wheat flour…I think it will complement the richness of the dates similar to my Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Date Squares.

Shall we discuss?

