Fish, Shellfish, Egg, Peanut/Tree Nut Free Pad Thai

The opportunity for my eldest son to try tofu finally arrived!

Fish, Shellfish, Egg and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Pad Thai with broccoli

Fish, Shellfish, Egg and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Pad Thai!

Here is the background story:

For many years, I avoided soy in Michael’s diet…it was an allergy that he eventually outgrew. Michael’s remaining multiple food allergies, dairy, eggs, beef, fish, shellfish, peanut/tree nuts, sesame, mustard and raspberry, left him limited in his protein intake.

It has been quite the challenge to increase the protein in his diet. When beans were given the okay he just looked at me and said, in his sarcastic teenage voice, “Oh yeeeeah! Beans are not what I want to be able to eat.”

I get it, beans are not on the top 10 most desirable foods to eat as a teen!

Tofu has also, never appealed to Michael. I have to admit, my lack of experience with tofu was also a bit of a barrier. So you can imagine my shock when he announced that he would like me to add tofu into his diet!

To understand this transformation, I need to go back a few weeks to our Church Christmas Bazaar.

At our Church Christmas Bazaar,  Michael bid on and won a 6 month VIP membership to Extreme Fitness. Part of the membership included a fitness test. It came as no surprise when Michael came home after his fitness test and announced that the person who evaluated him concluded that Michael needed to up his protein intake…he came home that day wanting to have, of all things, quinoa.

I love quinoa…I prefer it to rice. Quinoa is a gluten-free seed very high in protein. Click here to read Allergic Living Magazine’s Shelley Case RD’s ideas of how to use and prepare the different forms of quinoa.

Michael enjoyed his rice topped with quinoa that night at dinner.

Last week, Michael mentioned he would now like to try tofu. As the only dish I have every made with tofu was Pad Thai…I decided to adapt my favourite recipe.

My favourite recipe for Pad Thai comes from the May 1993 issue of Canadian Living Magazine. Unfortunately, I could not find the original recipe online. The following, Fish, Shellfish, Egg and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Pad Thai recipe, is an adapted version to suit our families tastes and allergens.

Fish, Shellfish, Egg and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Pad Thai

1 pkg (454 g) Rice Stick Noodles (blue package)
1 cup low sodium chicken stock
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1/2 cup low sodium soy sauce
6 tbsp lime juice
4 tbsp ketchup
1/4 tsp hot pepper flakes (I omitted as the boys do not like the spice)
3 boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cut into chunks
1 pkg (350 g) extra firm tofu, cut into small squares
1 red pepper, diced
6 green onions, chopped
1/4 cup canola oil
4 cloves garlic, minced
1 bunch of fresh coriander, chopped
2 cups bean sprouts, rinsed (unfortunately, the ones at the store did not look fresh so I omitted them in this version)

Bring a large pot of water to boil.
Add the package of rice noodles.
Boil for 3 minutes…or until the noodles are completely cooked.
Drain, rinse and set aside.
Meanwhile, in a liquid measure, stir together the chicken stock, sugar, soy sauce, lime juice, ketchup and hot pepper flakes (if using).
On medium-high,  heat 1 tbsp of the canola in a large skillet.
Add the garlic and chicken cubes. Stir fry until no longer pink inside. Transfer to a bowl.
Heat remaining oil in the pan. Add red pepper and tofu, stirring occasionally until lovely and brown.

Browned tofu and red pepper

Re-rinse the rice noodles (they will have stuck together) and add to the pan.
Stir in the sauce and cooked garlic chicken.

Pouring the sauce in Fish, Shellfish, Egg and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Pad Thai

Sprinkle in the chopped coriander and green onions and stir-fry until heated through.

Fish, Shellfish, Egg and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Pad Thai

Enjoy!

Fish, Shellfish, Egg and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Pad Thai

Lovely with some steamed broccoli.

Overall opinion: Andy and I loved it! The boys did not hate it nor did they love it…it was okay…I’ll take that.

Tip 1: Andy and I sprinkled hot pepper flakes over our dishes…we like our dish hot, hot, hot!

Tip 2: Michael thought it was a bit sweet…perhaps next time I would reduce the sugar.

Tip 3: Even better the next day re-heated…looking forward to leftovers for dinner tonight!

6 thoughts on “Fish, Shellfish, Egg, Peanut/Tree Nut Free Pad Thai

    • Yes, I was so pleased! Michael wanted to know what all the fuss was about putting hot pepper flakes on our Pad Thai. He tried one speck…then quickly ran to the sink to drink a gallon of water. 🙂

  1. I want to try this! I’ve never even been in a Thai restaurant because of my peanut allergy but my boyfriend loves Thai food. Most recipes I’ve found call for either peanuts or some sort of fish sauce — I’m not allergic to fish; just shellfish, but ingredients like that always make me nervous anyway. As the parent of children with food allergies, I’m sure you can relate to that fear of the unknown!

    • I can understand your worry…fish and shellfish could easily be confused. You are right, the dreaded ‘fear of the unknown’ lurks everywhere when you live with multiple food allergies. I do hope you try and enjoy this adapted version of Pad Thai! Roasted sunflower, squash or pepitas would be lovely sprinkled on top to replace the crunch of the peanuts. 🙂

Shall we discuss?

