A Cottage, Family Gathering and Multiple Food Allergies

Well, the family and I are back from our week in the woods.

My family, brother's family, cousin's family and Nana

We all survived!

All but my mom headed up to my brother’s cottage after a fun-filled week at Nana’s. Andy, the boys and my cousin from Scotland’s son did a ‘pit-stop’ at our house for a night to unload and reload with our cottage fare.

As the Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Decadent Brownies were a hit with all the family, I baked another batch to take to the cottage. I also made 2 loaves of Michael’s Dairy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free French Sticks, and a couple batches of Dairy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Rice Krispie Squares.

It was a grand week of boating, water skiing, wake boarding, knee boarding, tubing, fishing, kayaking, paddleboating, reading, and relaxing on the dock.

Michael and Matthew knee boarding at their Uncle's cottage

Check out my boys knee boarding!

Michael was thrilled to be able to put his boating license to good use…he was able to drive his uncle’s 9.8 horsepower boat around the lake.

Michael taking the boys out for a ride on the little motor boat

Michael loved being able to take the boys out for a spin or trolling for fish.

My sister-in-law prepared all the meals in advance…all allergy friendly for Michael. (free of dairy, eggs, beef, sesame, fish, shellfish, mustard, peanut/tree nuts, and raspberry) The one night we did have one of his food allergens…hamburgers, Michael had leftover chicken legs that were saved, put in the freezer and reheated.

Words cannot describe how relieving it was to have someone else think about and plan the meals with Michael’s food allergies in mind. Thank you, thank you, thank you my dear Angie! It truly was a holiday for me!

With all the chaos that multiple food allergies, asthma and eczema brings into our lives…my boys seem to always flourish in the summer. The sun or water seems to heal their skin, the stress of school is behind them, they look forward to spending time with family…especially their cousins, and their days are filled with fun-filled active activities!

Creating memories to last a lifetime!

Of course, the best part this summer, was being able to spend time with my brother’s family and my cousin from Scotland’s family whilst enjoying the great Canadian outdoors!

This will have been about the 6th summer we have visited my brother’s cottage…it gets better every year!

For me, nothing relaxes me more than being near the water…the sound of the waves lapping up on shore, the freshness of the air, scavenging the shoreline for beautiful rocks and shells, the natural beauty of the sunsets…priceless!

Sunset at my broher's cottage

All of us were just mesmerized by the breathtaking sunsets!  There is something so relaxing about watching the setting of the sun over a lake…so peaceful…the perfect ending to a perfect day!

Update: This was actually the moon! Just as captivating as a sunset!

P.S. I am taking another leave of absence as our family ventures on our final adventure this summer…we are renting a cottage! I am currently busy organizing our trip. I will be back to share our cottage experience!

5 thoughts on “A Cottage, Family Gathering and Multiple Food Allergies

  1. You must have been relaxed not to notice that it was actually the moon rising not the sun setting in that picture! :)

Shall we discuss?

