Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Strawberry Pie…a tasty flop!

Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Strawberry Pie is one of the best tasting ‘flops’ I have ever tasted!

Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Strawberry Pie

Absolutely delish!

The crust was light and crispy, the filling was bursting with the taste of freshly picked strawberries and biting in to plump whole strawberries…oh my…was an added bonus!

A slice of Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Strawberry Pie

The slicing and presentation, however,  was a bit of a ‘goopy mess’…not sure if the filling set properly or long enough.

Having never tasted nor made a Strawberry Pie in my life, I am still not sure if this pie turned out the way a Strawberry Pie is meant to…any thoughts…tips?

To me…this Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Strawberry Pie was the ‘bomb’! 

I couldn’t stop raving about how ‘yummy’ it was…and according to my boys…”That’s all that matters, mom!”

Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Strawberry Pie was a ‘labour of love’…presented to my husband for his Father’s Day dessert.

The recipe was adapted from Canadian Living’s Country Cooking Cookbook…another recipe I have been longing to make from this cookbook.

This recipe requires a few steps, some patience with time to prepare and set.

Well worth the effort!

Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Strawberry Pie

Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Strawberry Pie

Pastry:

1 cup plus 1 tbsp of unbleached all-purpose flour
1/2 tsp kosher salt
1/3 cup canola oil
40 ml water

In a large bowl, mix the dry ingredients.
In a liquid measure, mix the wet ingredients.
Make a well in the middle of the dry ingredients and add the wet, stirring gently with a wooden spoon until just mixed.
Pat dough into a ball and place on a floured piece of wax paper.
Place another piece of wax paper on top and proceed to roll out the dough to fit a 10-inch (25 cm) pie plate.
Tip: Dough should be rolled out very thinly.
Carefully peel back the top piece of wax paper keeping with the dough attached and scraping up any dough that sticks to the bottom piece of wax paper.
Tip: This sounds finicky…it can be, however, do not fret…pastry is very forgiving and can be patched up once in the pie plate.
Place circle of dough in pie plate, flute edges and patch where necessary with excess dough.
Press dough into the pie plate and prick all over with a fork.
Bake at 450 F for 10-15 minutes or until nicely browned.
Press out any bubbles that may have occurred during baking and let cool completely.

Baked Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Pastry Shell

Strawberry Filling:

8 cups of strawberries divided (4 pints)
1 cup granulated sugar
1/4 cup cornstarch
1/2 cup water

In a food processor or blender, puree 4 cups of strawberries until smooth.
In a medium saucepan, measure the sugar, stir in the cornstarch then blend in the water and pureed strawberries.
On med-high heat, bring mixture to a boil, stirring constantly.
Reduce heat and simmer 1-2 minutes, stirring constantly,  or until translucent and slightly thickened.
Press mixture through a sieve and let cool.

Assembling Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Strawberry Pie:

Arrange washed and de-stemmed whole strawberries, tips up, in the cooled pastry shell.
Pour strawberry filling over top and refrigerate for at least 2 hours or until set.
Tip: I highly recommend to make this in the morning in order that the filling has ample time to set before dessert time!

A slice of Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Strawberry Pie

Enjoy!

Tip: I omitted 1 tbsp of butter (which I would have substituted for Earth Balance or Soy Free Earth Balance) to the strawberry filling just before the mixture is pressed through a sieve…not sure if this would have helped with the setting of the filling or not.

P.S. The next day, the pastry remained crispy and the filling firmed up a ‘wee bit more’…I am ‘in love’ with this recipe!

Question: Do you have a favourite Allergen Friendly Strawberry Pie your family loves!

Have you been out strawberry picking yet this season? What will you be creating with all your sweet berries?

17 thoughts on “Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Strawberry Pie…a tasty flop!

  1. Well it is comforting to know that you too have some things that don’t turn out exactly as you expect them to!! This sort of thing happens to my blueberry pies, both open-faced and traditional. And I always follow the same recipe! Sometimes the filling is runny and sometimes not runny enough?? Next time reduce the water and up the cornstarch. Thicken the mixture more by cooking it for longer and refridgerate for longer as well. Of course if it is then not juicy enough – well, – welcome to my world! 🙂 Advice on such matters is difficult to give when I DID NOT GET A SAMPLE!!! :[

    • Yes, it happen sometimes when we try to make something different. But with little variations the results can be better. I’ll definitely keep your valuable advise related to filling preparation.

      • Variety is the ‘spice of life’! I truly enjoy adapting recipes to create healthy, allergen friendly options for everyone to share and enjoy! Thank you for sharing!

    • My other idea was that the strawberries may have been too juicy…I measured exactly 1000ml of pureed strawberries…perhaps I should not have been so exact! lol Still some left…hurry over…better yet, I will save you a piece! 🙂

  2. Sigh, our strawberry season is over but I made at least 5 pies while it lasted. I would increase the cornstarch and cook until the mix in the pan starts getting thick, then you know it will set in the pie! I prefer to slice my pie berries but using whole berries is pretty dramatic, wow!! Glad that your flop tasted great! Presentation always takes a back seat to taste IMHO 🙂

    (But your pictures are so lovely, I’m starting to think about my presentation of our daily meals.)

    Try try again! I’m sure your guys will submit to eating another experiment!

    • Wow! 5 pies…that is a lot of strawberries! You are definitely the expert when it comes to strawberry pie baking…thank you for your tips! Can you freeze strawberry pies? The recipe called for whole strawberries, but I think I would slice them for the inside and decorate with the whole ones for the top. Years of pouring over magazines, meals in restaurants and being served beautiful breakfasts at bed and breakfasts have inspired me to take a little extra time with presentation…I am a very visual person! Thank you!

      • Nope, never was successful in freezing. The sliced berries get mushy when I freeze. Strawberry pies are a seasonal treat!!
        I however, do use frozen berries for a four-berry pie for fourth of July! Same basic recipe with a combo of fresh and frozen berries.

      • Having now made a Strawberry Pie, I can see it would not freeze well. Pies that can be frozen unbaked and then baked from frozen are my best bet for freezing! Thanks for your input! Four Berry Pie sounds yummy! What types of berries do you use…will you be baking one this coming Fourth of July?

  3. That was probably the best strawberry pie I have ever tasted!! Ever!! Still some left and I’m sure I will have to arm wrestle son and husband for it. Keeping my love of it secret for now, hoping they don’t notice it’s even in the fridge. Okay, it’s a long shot. A girl can dream, though!

    • Thank you! I know! Light, fresh and full of summer flavour! I think the freshly picked strawberries made the pie! So glad you enjoyed it as much as I know we all did!

  4. Well that was one BIG piece…..and I ate it all! I didn’t share one little bite. I tried to stop eating it but it tasted soooo good!

  5. Hi Susan thank-you for your page, my name is Trina and I am from New Zealand, my little guy is 2 and has what they call a mild to moderate allergy to egg, and peanuts, we have also discovered that he reacts to soya sauce and some spices its a bit of a trial and error at times. Oh yeah and banana acts as a good laxative. Fortunately he only has a mild reaction and they professionals say he could grow out of it. He also has a list of antibiotics he cant have either :0( and getting medication into him can at times be quite trying. I am thankful to Google for bringing your family to me during my recipe search for him. Like all kids he loves cakes and biscuits but cant always have them without a reaction. Of course I don’t want him to think he is different and miss, i am interested in your pastry, would it work as a sweet dough by replacing the salt with sugar for things like little lemon (neenish) tart types?

      • The pastry, literally, takes only a few mixes with a wooden spoon. The less mixed the better. I usually finish off the last bits of flour with my hands as I form it into a ball. I highly recommend to stay away from a processor…it will yeild a tough dough. A light and flakey pastry needs a light hand!

    • I think this pastry does not need to be sweetened for a lemon tart…I think being that your son is only 2 years old he will not know the difference between a sweet pastry and a non-sweet pastry. This pastry is delish as is for all fruit pies..try it as is and see how he likes it. I had thought to adapt this pastry to be sweeter for this pie…but I am glad I stayed with this recipe. Careful with the spices…it could be mustard…one of the top food allergens now recognized in Canada. Thank you for sharing!

  6. Pingback: Dairy Free Strawberry Banana Smoothie | The Food Allergy Chronicles

Shall we discuss?

