Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Strawberry Shortcake and Sultana Scones!

Happy Birthday Mom!

Visiting my mom on her birthdayIn honour of my mother’s 75th birthday today, we are celebrating with Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Strawberry Shortcakes.

Mom's birthday Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Strawberry Shortcake

One of my mother’s favourite treats!

My mother is a Type 1 Diabetic…these Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Strawberry Shortcakes are low in sugar, can be cut in half to control carbohydrates and are allergy friendly for my boys to enjoy…perfect!

My mother loves whipped cream…I, on the other hand, am not a fan…not only that, but my eldest son, Michael has a dairy allergy.Typically, Strawberry Shortcakes are topped with a dollop of whipped cream…what to do?

Enter…Coconut Whipped Cream…so simple. Just place a can of Coconut Milk in the fridge overnight. Scoop out the firm coconut milk on the top…whip and et voila!

Coconut Whipped Cream for Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Strawberry Shortcakes

Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Strawberry Shortcakes are adapted from a recipe from one of my favourite cookbooks…Canadian Living’s Country Cooking. The recipe for Scones With Currants is easily adapted to be dairy, egg, soy and peanut/tree nut free.

I omitted the currants in half the recipe for the Strawberry Shortcakes and added Sultana raisins in the other half for a delicious selection of Scones with Tea!

Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Sultana Scones with Strawberries and Tea

High Tea anyone?

What better way to enjoy watching Queen Elizabeth’s celebrations for her 60th year in reign!

Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Strawberry Shortcakes

Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peantu/Tree Nut Free Strawberry Shortcake and Coconut Whipped Cream

2 1/4 cups unbleached all-purpose flour
2 tbsp granulated sugar
2 1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp kosher salt
1/2 cup Earth Balance Vegan ButterySticks (soy free version: Soy Free Earth Balance Natural Buttery Spread)
1 cup Ryza Rice Beverage mixed with 1 tbsp of white vinegar

In a large bowl, stir together flour, sugar, baking powder, gaking soda and salt.
Cut in the Earth Balance using a pastry cutter or two knives until the mixture resembles coarse crumbs.

Cutting in the Earth Balance into the flour mixture

Let the Ryza and vinegar sit for 5 min. Add all at once to the above mixture and stir with a fork to make a soft slightly sticky dough.
Flour your hands, so as the dough does not stick, and divide dough in half…add 1/4 cup of Sultana raisins to half the dough and press each into a ball. (I goofed and forgot this step…I ended up just pressing the Sultanas into the dough before rolling it out)
On a lightly floured surface, knead each ball gently 10 times.
Pat dough out to a thickness of 3/4 inch (2 cm).

Shortcake dough rolled out to 3/4 inch thicknessUsing a 2 1/2 inch (6 cm) floured cutter, cut out rounds.
Place on a parchment or silicone lined baking sheet. Combine the scraps together to repeat creating another round of cut outs.

Shortcakes/Scones on parchment lined baking sheetBake at 425 F for 12-15 minutes or until the scones are golden.
Let cool on a cooling rack.

Shortcakes/Scones cooling on cooling rack

To assemble the Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Strawberry Shortcakes:

Slice scones in half, top with sliced strawberries (we found local Ontario strawberries) and top with a dollop of whipped cream or whipped coconut cream.

Dig in and enjoy!

P.S. I thoroughly enjoyed making these whilst watching the Queen’s celebrations for her 60th reign…I was rolling my dough to ‘God Save The Queen’! My mom and I were literally glued to the television…we were almost late for church…then it was back to the ceremony! We have taped it for a later viewing…can you tell I have ‘British Blood’ in me!

P.S. I feel the need to highlight my mother on her special day…she truly is an inspiration for all those living with or without diabetes.

I have only ever known my mother as a diabetic. Testiing her blood sugar, giving herself needles, being careful about what she ate…these were all ‘normal mommy’ things to me. I can remember thinking it odd to see someone else’s mother eating cake or sweets. I would never think to offer a ‘mother’ those things. I would be in ‘awe’ just watching them!

When you think of it…my life now has not been that much different than when I was growing up. I am still living within a family with limitations…redefining what is ‘normal’…educating others along the way.

My mother set such a great example of how to live life to the fullest even when faced with a life threatening medical condition…she is my inspiration! Thank you!

Happy Birthday Mom!

6 thoughts on “Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Strawberry Shortcake and Sultana Scones!

  1. Gorgeous presentation! Hope your mama felt like a queen on her special day!

    Love your coconut milk whipped cream method, will try it soon as our blueberries are coming in.

    • Yes…she truly is ‘Queen’ for the day! The essence of coconut married nicely with the fresh strawberries…blueberries will be awesome! Enjoy!

  2. Both the shortcake and the scones look fantastic. I’ll have to give these recipes a try! I’m a nutritionist and I’d like to mention your website on my blog as a resource for moms who have family members with allergies to cook for. Beautiful site and great recipes.

    • Thank you Lynda! I am flattered that you would like to mention me on your blog! Helping others that are feeling frustrated and alone in the world of food allergies is my goal…thank you for helping me reach a broader audience!

Shall we discuss?

