Living with Multiple Food Allergies and Eczema: Loving Extra Virgin Olive Oil

Cheese Secrets Extra Virgin Olive Oil and Balsamic Vinegar from ItalyLOVE Extra Virgin Olive Oil. I love it drizzled on pasta, potatoes, fish, vegetables and yes…even toast with jam!

Extra Virgin Olive Oil has become a staple in our home…here’s our story.

My eldest son, Michael, suffered for many years with eczema and has mulitple food allergies: dairy, egg, beef, sesame, fish, shellfish, peanut/tree nuts, mustard and raspberries.

Reading and researching led me to believe that perhaps Michael’s diet was lacking in essential fatty acids…the body does not naturally produce essential fatty acids…due to his food allergies his daily diet intake would be very low.

Extra Virgin Olive Oil, Flax Seed Oil and Evening Primrose Oil are all essential fatty acids that Michael could tolerate…they became part of his supplemented diet.

Flax Seed Oil and Evening Primrose Oil in capsule form and Extra Virgin Olive Oil… drizzled straight out of the bottle!

Extra Virgin Olive Oil was added to the water for cooking rice and drizzled over pasta to eat plain. Once Michael could tolerate tomatoes, I still drizzled the pasta with Extra Virgin Olive Oil before adding the Tomato Sauce, which was also made with lots of Extra Virgin Olive Oil.

Michael loves Extra Virgin Olive Oil brushed over toasted homemade French Stick. Now that tomatoes are in his diet, he loves Tomatoe Bruschetta…which is also loaded with Extra vVrgin Olive Oil.

I think Michael realized how much in love with Extra Virgin Olive Oil he really was when my husband, Andy, brought home a couple of bottles of Extra Virgin Olive Oil he purchased from a friend at work that was brought straight back from Italy.

It was like ‘liquid gold’!

Michael was ‘lapping it up’ so quickly we started to have to limit his intake in order for it to last…it quickly became ‘Michael’s Oil’!

Eventually, the precious ‘right from Italy Extra Virgin Olive Oil’ ran out. I tried finding a replacement but none would compare…Michael would have to resort to the ‘good ole’ basic Extra Virgin Olive Oil.

Imagine my delight when, just this past weekend in Niagara-On-The-Lake, Andy and I stumbled upon imported Extra virgin Olive oil and Balsamic Vinegar right from Italy being sold at our favourite cheese shop!

Cheese Secrets!

Cheese Secrets in Niagara-On-The -Lake

The sight of the empty bottles just ready to be filled set my heart racing…I knew we needed to buy some!

Extra Virgin Olive Oil and Balsamic Vinegar from Italy at Cheese Secrets

When the owner asked if we would like to sample the 3 varieties of Extra Virgin Olive Oil and Balsamic Vinegar…we jumped at the chance!

Oh my gosh…I think we found it! The third and final fruity Extra Virgin Olive Oil was the winner.

However, it was the Balsamic Vinegar that really took Andy by surprise! If you have never tasted ‘good’ balsamic vinegar…the kind that can be drizzled over strawberries, watermelon or a slice of Niagara Gold cheesethen you too would be in for a surprise!

With our arms laden down with a variety of cheeses and our Italian Extra Virgin Olive Oil and Balsamic Vinegar…we cycled back to the Wine Country Bed and Breakfast,  ‘giddy’ with our purchases!

Back home…the cheeses were unwrapped, the bread was sliced, the Italian Extra Virgin Olive Oil and Balsamic Vinegar was poured, the olives were dished, and the white wine was poured.

A tray of cheeses, extra virgin olive oil and balsamic vinegar from Cheese Secrets, bread, olives and white wine

Andy and I thanked my mom, for staying with the boys, on our weekend away in Niagara-On-The-Lake, with her very own wedge of Roquefort Papillon Raw Sheep’s Milk…her favourite blue cheese… from Cheese Secrets and a bottle of Pinot Grigio from Pondview Estates Winery in Niagara-On-The-Lake.

However, the ‘piece de resistance’ was seeing Michael’s face light up when he heard we had purchased Extra Virgin Olive Oil from Italy…”Can I have some?” he quickly asked.

“But of course”, I replied.

Michael's plate of bread and extra virgin olive oil from Cheese Secrets

“Oh, this is awesome!”,  he exclaimed with a look of pure ‘bliss’ in his face!

Michael has been snacking on french stick dipped in Extra Virgin Olive Oil every evening since! I have been finding the reminants of crumbs, oil and dishes the next day. Although he has been using the regular Extra Virgin Olive Oil…I recently told him to try the ‘good stuff’!

“Really”, he said with a big smile on his face. “I will definitely be having some tonight!”

Plate of Michael's homemade bread and Extra Virgin Olive Oil from Cheese Secrets

Michael scooped up his plate, and as he made his way over to the basement I could hear his parting words, “Oh ho! I can’t wait!”

Followed by, “I really want to try it on pasta next!”

So the other day I asked Michael, “What is it about the Extra Virgin Olive Oil that sets it apart?” I got the typical teenage response of “I don’t know”  So I questioned him further…”What makes it taste better than the regular Extra Virgin Olive Oil?” He responded with, “Well, that is like asking you what does egg taste like?” Touche!

Pressed even further I got, “It just has ‘that’ taste’. The regular has it too but the ‘good stuff’, well, it just explodes in your mouth!” he explained with that look as if he was just tasting it now.

Okay, I get it now! It does have that ‘Je ne sais quoi’ taste that is above and beyond anything one can describe.

Have you discovered an Extra Virgin Olive Oil that you love?

Tip: Apparantly, Michael has suggested to me that he would eat more salad/veggies if he could have the Extra Virgin Olive Oil Dressing I make…”I just love the dressing! I would eat it every night at dinner if you would just make it!” he says with a sweet smile on his face.

Salad and tomatoes with Extra Virgin Olive Oil and Balsamic Vinegar from Cheese Secrets

“How’s the salad”, I asked Michael…”Sooo good!”, he replies as he munches down…last night we had salad and hot house tomoatoes with Extra Virgin Olive Oil and Balsamic Vinegar Dressing!

7 thoughts on “Living with Multiple Food Allergies and Eczema: Loving Extra Virgin Olive Oil

  1. The region in Italy known for its balsamic vinegar has been very recently hit with two earthquakes, one as recent as yesterday. The epicentres of these quakes were 40-60 km away from where my family now lives – Modena. Hence, Balsamic vinegar of Modena! It is also where Parmiggiano-Reggiano hails from. My cousin did say that some factories were heavily damaged in the quakes. It is good that you bought some vinegar, I am betting prices of the good quality imported stuff is going to go up.
    It wont be hard to buy you a special souvenir from there when we visit!

  2. Pingback: Loving Extra Virgin Olive Oil – The Food Allergy Chronicles | ClubEvoo

  3. The oils look & sound absolutely delicious!!! Yum!! Your cheese/olive/bread/wine platter looks just amazing, Susan! Quality makes all the difference I tell ya!! 🙂

  4. I had no idea that the imported Oil from Italy was so good. I’ll have to keep my eye out for it, it’s so good for you, that’s great that your son loves it!

Shall we discuss?

