My Secret Sister Gift Arrived!

Yesterday was a very beautiful day.

I woke up in an incredibly ‘happy’ mood…I had this feeling that ‘today’ was going to be ‘the day’ that my Secret Sister Gift, that Carla @ My 1/2 Dozen Daily hosted, would arrive!

Michael spilling his morning Dairy Free Hot Chocolate all over the kitchen table and floor two minutes before he had to leave for school, crazy drivers at the local grocery store, and even burning my first batch of Dairy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Rice Krispie Squares, using the last of my Earth Balance Vegan Sticks which meant walking to the grocery store in the baking heat of the day to purchase another box…could not damper my enthusiasm for the day!

Upon my second attempt at melting the Earth Balance and marshmallows the doorbell rang. There, sitting on my front porch, was the gift I had been waiting for…

My Secret Sister Gift on my front step

my Secret Sister Gift!

Unable to leave my post at the stove for fear of burning a second batch…I placed my Secret Sister Gift on a chair and quickly finished making the Dairy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Rice Krispies.

Upon finishing, my cell phone alerted me to a text…it was Michael…”It’s really hot out can you pick us up?”

As you know, Michael suffers from eczema…heat is a major trigger for him…as it was 30 C without the humidity factor, he was wearing his school uniform with pants carrying a heavy backpack and the fact he had papers to sort and deliver with his brother after school to deliver in this heat wave…

I left the Dairy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Rice Krispie Squares to cool with my Secret Sister Gift!

Dairy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Rice Krispie Squares cooling by my unopened Secret Sister Gift

First thing Michael said to me upon entering the car, “So…did you get it?” …”Yup!”, I answered smiling.

Now that both boys were home…my Secret Sister Gift was ready to be opened!

Wow! “Red wrapping paper with white polka dots!” Michael exclaimed, “No way!”…”How did you know?”

Inside my Secret Sister Box

I had told the boys to expect my Secret Sister Gift to arrive yesterday and there would be gifts wrapped in red wrapping paper with white polka dots…I must say…they were very impressed with my ‘Super Mom’ skills.

To be honest…I did a little sleuthing…put two and two together…and went on a hunch.

A lovely letter revealing the identity of my Secret SisterMutant Supermodel…was tucked inside.

However, Matthew was more interested in the opening of the gifts…the boys were each glad to help.

Secret Sister gifts revealed

A beautiful journal to write in, a lovely tea box and tea mug, Veg News magazine (a magazine I love to ‘treat’ myself too), and a gorgeous handmade ‘Nubby Scrubby’ that matches my kitchen!

Handmade 'Nubby Scrubby' that matches my kitchen

Seriously, do I have to use it as a cloth…it seems too pretty!

Of course, this gift was not in the picture as I had to put it on right away!

Beautiful apron from my Secret Sister

I LOVE it! How did you know I live in my kitchen…in an apron!

Thank you, thank you, thank you Mutant Supermodel so much for all the lovely gifts and kind words in your letter! I appreciate the time, effort and thoughtfulness of your gifts.

Mutant Supermodel ended her letter to me by writing… HAVE A BEAUTIFUL DAY!

Sipping my tea in my new tea mug and apron from my Secret Sister

Sipping my tea, in my new apron, from my new tea mug…it truly was…thank you!

P.S. Mutant Supermodel became a recent subscriber to my blog, wrote some lovely comments on some of my posts so I checked out her blog and came upon this…click here.…go figure, my hunch turned out!

P.P.S. Strangely enough…I completed a circle of Secret Sisters…click here to see what I mean!

P.P.P.S. This Sunday May 27, 2012 is the big day…Andy and I will be running in Whitby’s 1/2 Marathon starting at 7 a.m.! My first…Andy’s third…should be a great day!

6 thoughts on “My Secret Sister Gift Arrived!

  1. I am so happy you liked it. When I found the apron, I knew it was perfect for you and everything else started coming together after that. This was so much fun to do. I love that you sent to Joanna, Joanna sent to me, and I sent to you. That was too perfect for words. I love what you did with the boys and that they got into it too. I was a little worried to put up the sneak peek but I figured it’d be fun to raise the anticipation if you could figure it out too. XOXO!

  2. LOVE your SSS package! The wrapping alone was gorgeous, I love all the handmade items and the vibrant colours 🙂 My SSS package came on a day that needed cheering up too, and I also had to set mine aside before opening… worth the wait 🙂

    • My Secret Sister certainly had me ‘pegged’…everyday I am choosing my tea from the tea box, drinking my tea from my tea mug, wearing my apron to cook in, enjoying the site of the ‘Nubbly Scrubbly’ under my kitchen plant and hope to make something from the Veg News magazine…as I practically live in my kitchen…all were perfect!

Shall we discuss?

