Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Chocolate Chip Marshmallow Cookies

A couple of weeks ago, Matthew was begging me to make cookies. As the weekend approached, I asked him if he could come up with a cookie recipe.

He looked into the cupboard…pulled out a bag of mini marshmallows and exclaimed, “Can we put these in a batch of Chocolate Chip Cookies!” Sure…why not!

Matthew was going to help me whip up a batch…but the sun was shining and the lure of road hockey pulled at him…so I let him go get some exercise!

I just used my basic Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Chocolate Chip Cookie recipe and added some mini marshmallows to the batter. About an equal amount of marshmallow to chocolate chips.

The marshmallows really melted and changed the shape of the cookies…but the boys didn’t seem to mind!

I present, Matthew’s latest concoction

Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Chocolate Chip Marshmallow Cookies!

Reaching for a Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Chocolate Marshmallow Cookies

After washing their hands…they each enjoyed a cookie!

I am excited to be off today on a road trip, to visit my mom. Getting away on my own gives me a break from the vigilance of living with multiple food allergies. I can ‘let my hair down’, relax my rules and enjoy some one-on-one time with my mom! I am looking forward to ‘recharging’ myself! I think we all deserve some alone time now and again.

I always like to bake up a batch of Allergen Friendly Cookies and Dairy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Rice Krispie Squares for the boys before I embark on my ‘little adventure’.

I asked the boy’s what cookie they would like me to make. Does this happen in your house? Michael wanted my Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Chocolate Chip Cookies with Marshmallows and Matthew did not.

It turns out that Matthew prefers his ‘classic’ cookie to go untouched! I guess some things just do not need improving upon.

Michael, on the other hand, is all about trying new things. Perhaps his limited repertoire of food gives him that desire to try new flavours and textures. I have noticed, as he gets older, the more interested he is to try different foods. For example, he has just discovered he likes snow peas. I added them to a vegetable stir fry last week. He dished himself a portion and declared, “Hey! These aren’t so bad!”

In order to rectify the ‘cookie issue’…I compromised…half the batch would have marshmallows and the other half would be without.

Perfect! There will be no squabbles! Everyone is happy!

I fancied up the cookies by adding an Enjoy Life Chocolate Chunk to the middle.

Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Chocolate Chip Cookie

Yummy!

I did the same for the Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Chocolate Chip Marshmallow Cookies too!

Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Chocolate Chip Cookies with Marshmallows

Michael was quite impressed!

On my journey to my mom’s, I have the opportunity to try out my treats on some new ‘guinea pigs’!

A bucket filled with Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Chocolate Chip Cookies with and without Marshmallows

I am curious to see which cookie they like best!

I also have a little surprise for their mother! No peeking allowed!

Surprise allergen friendly gift

Something Gluten, Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free. I hope to fill you in on Friday.

My jars are full…

My cookie jars are full

I have a Pork Tenderloin marinating for their dinner tonight with leftovers for the next day. Friday is Allergy Friendly Pizza Night and Saturday is Barbecued Pork Ribs so that just leaves Sunday for Andy to surprise me with dinner! (hint, hint)

7 thoughts on “Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Chocolate Chip Marshmallow Cookies

    • Hi Jennifer, Allerenergy are corn-free marshmallows that you can order on-line. Never tried them and they seem expensive…you might just want to set aside the time to make them yourself. I really want to try making them…I will post them when I do.

  1. Pingback: My ‘Meet and Greet’ With Carla @ My 1/2 Dozen Daily | The Food Allergy Chronicles

Shall we discuss?

