My Allergy Friendly Turkey Breast Roast Minus The Trimmings

I often think it is a shame that I roast a turkey only twice a year…Thanksgiving and Christmas. I don’t do it consciously…it just happens.

Well, it just so happened, while out grocery shopping this past weekend, I stumbled upon a lovely looking Boneless Turkey Breast Roast by Lilydale.

I couldn’t resist trying it out!

I convinced my husband that it would be perfect tossed with a little olive oil, fresh thyme, garlic, salt and pepper. Roasted little potatoes on the side with, as my mother would say, steamed broccoli for a ‘bit of colour’!

It wasn’t a hard sell!

All I needed to purchase was the broccoli as I already had the other ingredients leftover from Easter.

I was excited to try this simple evening meal, my husband is always game for pretty much anything, Michael was intrigued at the thought of having a roast turkey in the ‘off season’ and Matthew…not so much.

The Boneless Turkey Breast Roast came in a netting. I decided to remove it and used kitchen twine to hold the roast together. To be honest, I was not keen on roasting the turkey with the netting. I wanted my herb rub to be rubbed right on the turkey for maximum flavouring. The outside bits are my favourite!

Turkey Breast Roast

My recipe for the rub is not exact. I just used up whatever was left of my fresh thyme, minced about 3-4 large cloves of garlic, drizzled the olive oil over the roast and used about 3/4 tsp of both kosher salt and ground pepper. I also added some water to the bottom of the casserole dish.

Lilydale turkey breast roast in a herb rub ready for the oven

Fresh rosemary would be a lovely alternative to the fresh thyme. The beauty of roasts…the possibilities are endless!

The Lilydale roasting instructions advised 1-1.5 hrs per kg at 350 F. My roast was 1.59 kg. I set the timer for an hour to remind me to add the potatoes for the last half hour of roasting.

lilydale turkey breast roast

I let the roast rest on a cutting board lightly covered in foil while I waited for the potatoes to finish browning and to steam the broccoli.

Roasted Sliced Potatoes and ‘Smashed’ Potatoes

I know my boys love their roasted potatoes diced or thinly sliced and tossed in olive oil, kosher salt and pepper. For a change, I thought I would try roasting some of the potatoes a little differently. I boiled 8 mini potatoes until they were tender. When they had cooled, I pushed down on them with the palm of my hand to ‘smush’ them and then tossed them in olive oil, kosher salt and pepper. I put all the potatoes on a baking sheet lined with a silicone liner.

The potatoes went in to the oven for the last half hour of the roast. As the roast was resting, I turned up the heat to 400 F to crisp the potatoes.

roasted sliced and smashed potatoes

The turkey was juicy with hints of garlic and thyme.

Lilydale turkey breast roast sliced

The meal was a success!

Lilydale turkey breast roast, roasted potatoes and steamed brocolli

I happened to love the ‘smashed’ potatoes…they were moist on the inside, crispy on the outside. The boys much preferred the roasted sliced potatoes and Andy declared, “I think you should have made more potatoes!” He loved it all!

An added bonus: there was enough leftover turkey for the boys to enjoy the next night for dinner.

I truly believe, meals put together with simple fresh ingredients gives me better control of avoiding any food allergens and frankly…they taste the best!

2 thoughts on “My Allergy Friendly Turkey Breast Roast Minus The Trimmings

Shall we discuss?

