Allergy Friendly Pork Bourguignon

As a child growing up, one of my favourite meals my mother would make for the family was Beef Bourguignon.

A thick and flavourful sauce surrounding chunks of tender meat and mushrooms…welcoming at the end of a blustery Fall day or in the middle of a frosty Winter.

It soon became my husband, Andy’s, favourite meal…that is…with the addition of potatoes and carrots! Blasphemy…according to my mother!

Along came the children…food allergies and all…one just so happening to be to beef. Away went the recipe.

It has been many years since I have had the pleasure of enjoying the intoxicating aroma and delectable flavour of my favourite childhood dish…enough so, that I decided it was high time to reinvent it!

I introduce to you…Allergy Friendly Pork Bourguignon!

Pork Bourguignon with a slice of Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free French Stick

Not only is this dish amazingly delish…it is super easy to prepare!

A bonus in my books!

Basically, one puts all the ingredients in a pot and leaves it to braise…the longer the better!

Recently, on our trip to Stowe, Vermont, I brought along our slow cooker. I thought this recipe would be perfect for dinner after a day of skiing in the mountains…and it was! 

Timing for the veggies was a little off…but a quick high simmer on the stove cooked them up in no time for my hungry crew!

I also packaged up the pre-measured flour, salt, pepper and herbs in a ziplock bag . Just unzip and toss…as if you had a ‘store bought’ seasoning mix!

This recipe comes from Canadian Living Magazine. The recipe came from a special magazine published especially for Christmas 1977. It was called, The Best of Canadian Living’s Cooking, 101 Fantastic Recipes.

Allergy Friendly Pork Bourguignon

2 lbs boneless rib end pork roast, cut into cubes
1 pkg of pearl onion, peeled or 1 onion sliced
2 crushed garlic cloves
3 tbsp unbleached all-purpose flour
1 tsp kosher salt
1/4 tsp pepper
1/2 tsp dried thyme
1 small bay leaf crumbled
lots of cremini mushrooms, destemmed, peeled and quartered
1 28 oz/796 mL can of crushed tomatoes
1 1/4 cup vegetable broth
1 cup red wine

Combine all the dry ingredients in a large oven-proof dish or in a large slow cooker.

dry ingredients in large oven proof pot for Pork BourguignonPour in the can of crushed tomatoes, broth and wine and stir to combine.

wet ingredients added to pot for Pork BourguignonBake at 350 F for 3 or more hours.
In the last hour of cooking, I like to add peeled and sliced carrots, cubed peeled potatoes, and sweet potatoes. (a new addition as Michael and I love them)

peeled, cubed and sliced veggies added to Pork BourguignonThe amount of veggies is at your own discretion. Apparently, according to my boys, I put too many potatoes in and never enough carrots!


For the slow cooker, I have only cooked this dish this way the once while on our trip. I put it on low for about 8 hours…as we were away all day. The timing was a little off for adding the veggies so I am guesstimating here…I added them for an hour still on low but that was not enough…so I turned it to high but it was still not enough…so I took out what I thought we would eat and heated it up to a high simmer on the stove in a large pot until tender…perfect!

Pork Bourguignon ready to be ladled into bowls

Delicious with a tossed salad and fresh homemade Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free French Stick warmed up in the oven.

enjoying a bowl of Pork Bourguignon

Enjoy!

Tip 1: I brought along two of my Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free French Sticks wrapped in foil and popped them in the freezer when we arrived at our ‘little cabin in the woods’ in Stowe, Vermont. I reheated the bread, from frozen, in the oven at around 350 F for 20 minutes or so.

Tip 2: Great re-heated the next day or take out the potatoes and freeze. Potatoes tend to get mealy when frozen.

Question: Have you ever travelled with your slow cooker?


6 thoughts on “Allergy Friendly Pork Bourguignon

  1. Oh this looks just fabulous, Susan!! So hearty & filling I bet! Love what your mom said! Hahaha!! Too funny! Besides the win, this is something I could eat! You always inspire me to try making more food for myself & not get stick in a rut!!

  2. Pingback: Cross-Contamination Series: Travelling with Food Allergies to Stowe, Vermont: An Overview | The Food Allergy Chronicles

  3. Pingback: Cross-Contamination Series: Our Ski Vacation To Stowe, Vermont | The Food Allergy Chronicles

  4. Pingback: Cross-Contamination Series: Day 3 in Stowe, Vermont | The Food Allergy Chronicles

  5. Pingback: Cross-Contamination Series: Day 4 in Stowe, Vermont | The Food Allergy Chronicles

Shall we discuss?

