Cross-Contamination Series: Our Ski Vacation To Stowe, Vermont

Our first real family vacation in years…a ski vacation to beautiful Stowe, Vermont!

stowe vermont

Stowe Vermont

(Ignore the mess I have created above…not sure how to fix…sorry)

The boys were pretty ‘stoked’ to go…Andy and I too, come to think of it!

I felt the excitement hit as soon as we pulled out of the driveway…before that I was up to my ears in the preparations needed for us to have an allergy friendly vacation.

With Michael’s multiple food allergies to dairy, egg, beef, sesame, fish, shellfish, peanut/tree nuts, mustard and raspberries and Matthew’s food allergy to peanut/tree nuts…some thought needed to go into snacks, meals and food prep.

Here is what I did:

1)  I figured out our evening dinners: Sunday (day of arrival), Chicken Fajitas, Monday, Pork Bourguignon, Tuesday, Spaghetti with Meat Sauce, Wednesday, leftovers and Thursday (our last night), fingers crossed, we find a place for a night out for all of us!

2)   I prepped for the meals: I made a double batch of Pasta Sauce and froze it to bring with us. I made a meatless sauce as you can’t bring meat into the States. (The day I made it I saved some sauce and cooked up some ground turkey for a Spaghetti with Meat Sauce meal.)

I made the sauce for the Chicken Fajitas and froze it also.

Luckily, I still have a frozen Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Apple Pie frozen in the freezer ready to bake! It will be perfect for Tuesday’s dessert after our Spaghetti dinner.

3) Friday and Saturday I divided up the baking: Friday I made a few batches of Dairy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Rice Krispie Squares and 2 batches of Dairy, Egg and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Chocolate Chip Cookies. I also made Giada’s Pita Chips with 2 bags of pita.

Saturday I made Dairy, Egg and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Lemon Blueberry Muffins, Dairy, Egg and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Banana Blueberry Muffins, two loaves of Dairy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free French Stick and two loaves of Dairy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free loaves of bread.

4) I put together the flour and spices for the Pork Bourguignon in a ziplock bag to bring and some granulated sugar in a mason jar for hot chocolate.  Hoping to buy some Hershey’s cocoa. Packed my cinnamon for morning oatmeal and a ziplock bag of air popped popcorn.

5) Extra purchases I am bringing: Decaffeinated Green Tea, Natura Soy and Rice milk, tetra packs of Chocolate Soy Milk, Tortillas, a can of crushed tomatoes, vegetable broth, popcorn, salsa, Catelli Smart Spaghettini pasta, and mini pitas. I am bringing these products because I know they are safe and I don’t want to try different brands.

6) Extras: Tea towels, dish cloths, a few cutting boards, a paring knife with protective covering, parchment paper sheets in case we need to use cookie sheets, a slow cooker for the Spaghetti and Pork Bourguignon dinners and a hot air popcorn maker. Missing from the photo is a kitchen counter cleaner I like to bring to keep things sanitized.

7) The boys are also bringing their own pillows and I am packing a bottom and top sheet to exchange on the bed that Michael will be sleeping in. One never knows what they wash the bedding in and I would like to prevent any eczema outbreaks.

I packaged up all the above in one large cooler and a large plastic container. Nice and easy to pack in the truck. There is, of course, our suitcases…the boys share and Andy and I have our own, our ski boot bags, skiis and poles and a packed lunch for the road.

Whew! I think I covered it all!

We did a pit stop in Burlington, Vermont…Michael was lacking in the clothes department! We managed to purchase him 3 pairs of jeans (he currently fits into one pair). We lucked out…they were all on sale! Boys each found ski goggles also on sale!

Our 'little cabin in the woods' in Stowe, Vermont

After signing in and dropping off our luggage at our ‘little cabin in the woods’. We headed out for the main for the main grocery shop:  fruit and veggies, salading, chicken, pork and ground turkey, cereal, oatmeal, pure maple syrup, bread, olive oil, milk, cheese, mustard, and ham slices. The boys had fun checking out all the different packaging and products available here.

Of course we cannot forget the fun foods…after all,  we are on vacation!  Chips, pop, wine and beer.

Our first dinner, Chicken Fajitas was a hit. Quick and easy to put together… just let the chicken tenders marinade while I cut up the onions and peppers. Sautéed everything up and served them rolled up in warmed up tortillas.

allergen friendly chicken fajitas

They were delish!  Click here for the recipe.

Our first day on the slopes was awesome! The warmest skiing I have ever experienced. After a couple runs we had to de-layer…check out the boys ski look!

boys in their canadian attire skiing at Stowe Vermont

Do you think we looked Canadian?

Packed lunches were brought to the hills. I prepped our dinner for tonight in the slow cooker with the ingredients for our Pork Bourguignon before we left in the morning.  Set on low it braised throughout the day. The smell was incredible upon our return from our day on the slopes! I just cut up some carrots, potatoes and sweet potatoes and added them for another couple of hours.

Allergen friendly Pork Bourguignon in slow cooker

With the warmed up Dairy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free French Stick to dip into the rich broth…we will be eating like kings!

I had hoped to post this morning but our ‘little cabin in the woods’ was a bit too far into the woods to receive the free internet service…so here I am sitting in the main lobby by a warm fire.

I am hoping to finish in time for their complimentary wine and cheese event in the lobby at 5:30!

After dinner, we will be waiting the arrival of Andy’s sister, Shelley and her kids. They have booked at a local hotel and will join us for the next couple of days skiing.

I will be up early, prepping our Spaghetti with Meat Sauce for another days use of the slow cooker.

Well, I better finish up…people are milling about and I do believe it is time for ‘cocktail hour’  to begin!

P.S. Click here for the next post.

12 thoughts on “Cross-Contamination Series: Our Ski Vacation To Stowe, Vermont

  1. Pingback: Allergy Friendly Chicken Fajita’s | The Food Allergy Chronicles

  2. Pingback: Cross-Contamination Series: Travelling with Food Allergies to Stowe, Vermont: An Overview | The Food Allergy Chronicles

  3. Pingback: Allergy Friendly Pork Bourguignon | The Food Allergy Chronicles

  4. Pingback: March Challenge: My Food Allergy Life Has An Extra Bowl Of ‘Challenges’ | The Food Allergy Chronicles

  5. Pingback: My March Challenge Update: Sale Finds, Bedroom Switcheroo, Organizing and 1/2 Marathon Training | The Food Allergy Chronicles

    • I purchase Catelli Smart Pasta. I actually called the company to confirm that if it doesn’t state traces of egg in the product on the package, then egg is not an issue. I believe regular Catelli pasta has that disclaimer so I do not buy that brand. I will continue to check the packaging as I know a product can change so quickly! Thank you for your question!

      • Thank you so much for the response. I am loving your blog and your recipes sound to die for. Can’t wait to try some. My daughter is allergic to dairy, oats, chicken and egg. Peanuts are an unknown, she has never tried them, tests negative but allergist would like to do in office.. She was allergic to wheat but passed an in office to wheat in february of this year. It has opened up so many options.

      • Thank you for following me! Baking without dairy and egg is so do-able…I do hope you try some of my recipes. My boys favourites are the Dairy Free Rice Krispie Squares, Dairy, Egg and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Chocolate Chip Cookies…and when there are ‘perfect’ baking bananas…Dairy, Egg and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Banana Bundt Cake. Today, I was busy in the kitchen making the first two…I will be baking the third later this week. Have fun trying out the recipes!

  6. Pingback: Enjoying the March Break 2013…With Food Allergies | The Food Allergy Chronicles

Shall we discuss?

