Our Allergy Friendly Family Day Weekend Adventures in Ottawa 2012

Happy Family Day!

our family at calabogie peaks ski resort

We enjoyed a fun-filled Family Day skiing at Calabogie Peaks Ski Resort!

The more the merrier…my brother’s family.

my brother's family at calabogie ski resort

Our day started early…my nephew, Lukas, had an 8 o’clock hockey game. It was a tight game…but they pulled off a 4-3 win!

Then it was off to the slopes!

Bit of an adventure getting there…my brother’s GPS system sent us off piste! Kicking myself that I didn’t take a picture of my sister-in-law and I guiding my brother and husband backing out there Avalanche’s through a perilously narrow non-road through the bush covered in icy deep snow until they could finally turn around! So much for Navigational systems!

Calabogie Peaks is the perfect place for our first family ski day in 4 years!

calabogie ski resort

Luckily, the boys retained a lot of the skills they learned from their ski lessons and of course, they have a lot of hockey skills that are easily transferred over to skiing such as stopping! A must know skill!

Andy, my brother, Michael and his cousin John went their way and my sister-in-law, myself, Matthew and his cousin Lukas went ours.

Matthew and Lukas worked on their turning…amazing how much they improved in the few hours we were on the hill.

Matthew and Lukas on the ski hill

We packed a lunch to go…sandwiches (Michael brought a one of his Dairy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Sub Buns with Maple Leaf Natural Selections Black Forest Ham), fruit (bananas, apples, and mandarins), cut up veggies, slices of Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Banana Bundt Cake. It was so nice out we all sat outside on a picnic table.

Check this out…Matthew at the top of the run.

Matthew at the top of the ski hill

Matthew and Lukas at the bottom…impressive boys!

Matthew and Lukas at the bottom of the ski hill

Time for a break! Warming up by the outdoor fire and energizing with Dairy, Egg and Peanut/Tree Nut Free chocolate Chip Cookies and Rice Krispie Squares.

Matthew and Lukas taking a break by the fire

Boys will be boys…always looking to up the anty…they discovered a mini ski jump!

There goes Matthew…whooppee!

Matthew on the ski jump

Way to go Lukas…big air!

Lukas on the ski jump

John mid turn…and he landed it perfectly!

John mid flight on a turn

What a great day!

Arrived home for apres ski cocktails, and a ham in the slow cooker. Roasted cauliflower and garlic mashed potatoes with olive oil, salt and pepper that Michael perfected for us all finished off the meal.

Dinner was barely finished and the boys were back out on the backyard ice for some apres hockey!

the boys out for some backyard night hockey

I feel so fortunate to be able to create such great experiences and memories with family with my boys! Those that know me would never imagine I would have this close of a relationship with my brother…we fought like cats and dogs as children. Time heals and bonds grow…I am grateful!

On Family Day…may you all be able to find the time to spend the time or make the time to call those in your family that you love, to let them know what they mean to you!

Question: How will you be spending your Family Day?

4 thoughts on “Our Allergy Friendly Family Day Weekend Adventures in Ottawa 2012

  1. Love all the pics! It looks Iike you had a fabulous time!! 🙂 I’ve always wanted to learn how to ski, but I’d probably break a leg my first time out or something! Hahaha!!

    • I learned to ski in my early twenties…in French! I somehow managed to stay in one piece! I am so glad there are helmets for skiing now! My boys have always worn one. I purchased a helmet for this trip and feel much safer on the slopes…really keeps your head warm too!

  2. That looks like so much fun, and I hate the cold so that’s really saying something! I love how you did all that prep work (bag lunches and crock pot) without any complaints at all. Vacations are the times I always resent the allergies the most even though I realize that’s not productive and I try to not let that stop us from doing fun stuff.

    • I find, planning ahead is mandatory with all our food allergies. It’s like anything…the more you do it, the easier it becomes. When travelling, having a home base where I can store, prepare and cook our allergy friendly food is essential. There are certain allergy friendly dinners that my sister-in-law rotates. Perfect! Having Michael help with the allergen friendly mashed potatoes, takes some of the pressure off. Breakfasts and lunches are fend for yourself! lol Friday I am posting how we survive living with the limitations of multiple food allergies.

Shall we discuss?

