Allergen Free Baked Ham

Wednesday night is the perfect night for a Baked Mini Dinner Ham.

Halenda's Mini Dinner Ham cooked and slicedA simple, easy to put together meal for a busy week. I love that there is always leftovers for dinner the next night for the boys (Andy I will have a fish dish), sandwiches for lunch and enough for an extra topping for Pizza Night Friday.

Not only that, the kids love it!

I like to purchase my Mini Dinner Ham from Halenda’s. Halenda’s has upon request, an ingredient list for all their meat products. Their ham does not contain nor does it come in contact with any of the boys’ food allergens…that works for me!

Baked Mini Dinner Ham

Bake the ham at 350F in a covered casserole dish with a little water in the bottom for 1 hour.

Halenda's Mini Dinner Ham in a casserole dish with a little water

Let rest on a cutting board covered in foil until ready to carve.

For this meal, I roasted some cauliflower while the ham was resting. I drizzled some extra virgin olive oil over the washed and dried cut up cauliflower and cracked sea salt and freshly ground pepper over top. Toss to coat. Bake at 450 for 10-15 depending on the size of your pieces. I just keep checking on them and toss once or twice.

Roasted cauliflower on a silicone lined cookie sheet

Our Mini Dinner Ham was served the night after our Pierogi Feast. Left over Dough Balls and Pierogi’s complimented the ham and roasted cauliflower.

A plate with a slice of Halenda's Mini Dinner Ham, roasted cauliflower and pierogi's

Enjoy!

P.S. The next night, Andy and I enjoyed a very simple Filet of Salmon dusted with Smoked Paprika and poached in a vegetable saute (garlic, leeks, eggplant, and cherry tomatoes). I served it with rice, quinoa and peas. Andy likes to add a touch of Frank’s Hot Sauce. It seems to go with everything!

Poached salmon in a vegetable saute with rice, quiona and peas

P.P.S. Poaching in Ratatouille is also a favourite. Quick and easy when there is a batch frozen in the freezer.

P.P.S. I try to incorporate at least 3 fish dishes a week for Andy and I. Michael is allergic to fish and Matthew used to eat it, but is not as keen these days. We are still trying!

Having leftovers for the kids to eat for the nights I bake fish eases the work load and lowers the risk of cross contamination.  

6 thoughts on “Allergen Free Baked Ham

  1. Roasted cauliflower sounds like such a tasty simple veggie! I like the way you prepare it. It has to be awesome to have a such a good vendor to buy allergy free meats. Leftovers are key in this house when I make things that aren’t safe for everyone. Ham is one of my favorites with it’s ability to stretch for 3 or 4 meals.

  2. Love this one, Susan. It seems to be simple enough that I can attempt making it for my son who loves ham. Am linking to this post on Allergy Foodie’s FB page and I just ‘liked’ you on your FB page too 🙂
    Cheers,
    Anu

    • Fabulous! I love the versatality of baking a ham…leftovers are perfect for reheating, sandwiches and one-pot suppers. Thank you for adding me to your FB!I’ll be sure to check it out!

Shall we discuss?

