Dairy, Egg and Peanut/Tree Nut Free ‘Oreo’ Style Cookies

I couldn’t resist adapting the Toronto Star’s Cookie Calendar, Day 18 cookie: The all-time, go-to favourite store bought cookie of everyone’s childhood…The Oreo!

Now…Dairy, Egg and Peanut/Tree Nut Free ‘Oreo’ Style Cookies.

dairy,egg and peanut/tree nut free oreo style cookies

I thought these would be the perfect cookie to bring on our visit to my brother’s to share with his two boys.

There will be a lot of energy exerted over the next few days…it’s all about hockey when we visit.

My eldest nephew is in the Bell Capital Cup…we will be spending a lot of time in hockey arenas cheering his team on…Go Silver Seven Go!  My brother has built his annual backyard hockey rink for the boys to practice their shots in between games…and if that is not enough…there is always hockey in the basement!

Dairy, Egg and Peanut/Tree Nut Free ‘Oreo’ Style Cookies

dairy, egg and peanut/tree nut oreo style cookies

For the recipe click here.

For a dairy free version: I replaced the butter with Earth Balance.
For an egg free version: I used 1/2 tsp of baking soda and 2 tbsp of water.
For a soy free version: use Earth Balance Soy Free Vegan Spread

I didn’t follow the recipe’s instructions…I actually creamed the Earth Balance with the sugar. Added the water and mixed until combined. I combined all the dry ingredients separately and then added it to the creamed mixture. I followed the recipe for forming the cookies and baking them.

For the cream filling: I halved the recipe and used Earth Balance to replace the butter. I used the leftover Dairy Free Chocolate Icing from my Dairy, Egg and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Chocolate Yule Log to fill the cookies and created…

Dairy, Egg and Peanut/Tree Nut Free ‘Fudgeo’ Style Cookies.

dairy, egg and peanut/tree nut free fudgeo style cookies

Matthew opted to try the’ Fudgeo’ Style Cookie and Michael choose the ‘Oreo’ Style cookie…both declared them ‘yummy’.

dairy, egg and peanut/tree nut free oreo and fudgeo style cookies

Planning ahead is key for a successful trip away from home when you have multiple food allergies.

Along with the ‘Oreo’ cookies, I am bringing a batch of Dairy, Egg and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Chocolate Chip Snowball Cookies and of course…Dairy Free Rice Krispie Squares. Don’t leave home without them!

To help out with the meals, I am bringing a batch of our Spaghetti with Meat Balls that my hubbie whipped up and a Dairy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free French Stick. Both will be for the dinner the day we arrive.

I will also be bringing a Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Apple Pie I made in the Fall and froze along with a second Dairy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free French Stick. They will be perfect for our rescheduled Christmas Dinner.

Packages of homemade Dairy, Egg and Peanut/Tree Nut Pancake mixes, Dairy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Sub Buns, Natural Selections Smoked Uncured Black Forest Ham, Crackers, Natura Soy Milk, Ryza Rice Milk, Guardian Angel chocolate and Surf Sweet Candies will all be brought for Michael to meet his food allergen needs.

Spending time with my brother’s family is a highlight during the holiday season for my boys. Taking the time to prepare and plan for this trip is top priority to me. Where there is a will…there is a way!

I hope everyone is enjoying time with their families this holiday season.

P.S. How do you manage the holidays and travelling to family functions with multiple food allergies?

P.P.S. Can’t forget the World Junior Hockey Championship Tournament that is playing in Edmonton and Calgary!      Go Team Canada Go!

6 thoughts on “Dairy, Egg and Peanut/Tree Nut Free ‘Oreo’ Style Cookies

  1. Yum! It sounds like you’ve done a fabulous job preparing for sucg an exciting trip 🙂 Good luck to your nephew. Our Christmas was simple and sweet witb no food. I loved it! Have a safe and fun trip 🙂

Shall we discuss?

