Christmas Past and Present: Adapting to an Allergen Free Christmas

Childhood memories at this time of year are priceless!

For me, it’s the smell of pine trees (we had a real tree until my mom figured out my dad and I were allergic to it),a turkey roasting and cookies baking in the oven while in the background, Johnny Matthis sings, “Chestnuts roasting on an open fire…” on the record player.

2011 Christmas tree As a parent, one hopes to fill their children’s memory jar chock full of them.

I often worry what kind of childhood memories my boys will have as they get older. Holidays are often centered on the food, which, when you have mulitiple food allergies…can pose some challenges.

Advent Calendars with little chocolate treats for each day, chocolate Santas in stockings Christmas morning, Christmas baking by friends and relatives, school parties with baked treats…all obstacles for my children with food allergies.

As a mother, it pained me to have them feel excluded from many of the traditional Christmas treats…therefore,  we came up with our own traditions:

An Advent Calendar with velcro Christmas decorations to adorn the tree.

first advent calender with velcro decorations for the tree

Maple Sugar Santas for their stockings.(from MacMillan’s Orchards)

maple sugar santa for the boys' stocking

Thank goodness for Guardian Angel…three years ago my boys enjoyed their first Chocolate Advent Calendar.

guardian angel advent calenders for the boys

I have perfected the Roasted Turkey dinner with Dairy Free Stuffing, Gravy and fresh Dairy Free and Peanut/Tree Nut Free French Stick on the side.

It gives me great pleasure to recreate my childhood favourite holiday cookies for my boys memory bank: Dairy, Egg and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Gingerbread, Dairy, Egg and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Chocolate Chip Snowball Cookies, Dairy, Egg and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Thumbprint Cookies, Dairy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Orange Shortbread, and especially…Dairy, Egg and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Chocolate Yule Log.

I hope you have been enjoying them too!

Creating new traditions in a society that holds on to their traditions with a firm grip has not been easy. I like to think our new traditions will help pave the way for generations to come!

P.S. Dairy, Egg and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Chocolate Yule Log will be posted Christmas Day.

4 thoughts on “Christmas Past and Present: Adapting to an Allergen Free Christmas

  1. Susan I realize you’re quite possibly younger than me, but will you adopt me?! 😉 lol! I say this often, but your boys are so lucky to have such a dedicated mother!! I bet they have many, many wonderful memories! 🙂 I’ve given you a well deserved award on my blog!

    • Hi Dora. Thank you for checking out my blog. Coincidentally, I read an article in the Toronto Star on Saturday about a Canadian company with all-natural skin-care products…Consonant Skin Care. The founder has contact dermatitis. They are located at 2479 Yonge St. Toronto. I guess that is only helpful if you live in or around the Toronto area, but I thought I would pass it on.

Shall we discuss?

