Vancouver Bound: Dairy Free Rum Balls en route

Time for the big reveal…not much of a reveal if you read the title…all the same…imagine a drum roll…Dairy Free Rum Balls!

dairy free rum balls

Dairy Free Rum Balls is a childhood holiday favourite of mine…not sure how that worked out…real rum and all…you might want to keep them away from the kids!

Over the years, my friend Michelle has taken a liking to my Rum Balls. I believe I even mailed her some the first Christmas she moved out to Vancouver!

Dairy Free Rum Balls have become the perfect hostess gift.

I can remember making them with mom…super easy…no baking required…for the original recipe. For my Dairy Free version, I substituted the Vanilla Wafers (due to my son’s milk allergy and the fact I wanted to create a dairy free version) with my Dairy, Egg and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Chocolate Chip Cookie recipe minus the chocolate chips.

dairy free egg free sugar cookiesBefore food allergies entered my life, I would roll the rum balls in chocolate sprinkles. For this version, I opted for a dusting of chocolate: I used my Magic Bullet to turn Enjoy Life Chocolate Chips  to a soft powder. Perfect!

dairy free egg free cookie crumbsMy mom seems to recall the recipe came from a friend…she put in a No Bake Cookie Recipe book my brother’s Grade School class put together to raise money for the school.

Dairy Free Rum Balls are a rich and heady treat…perfect for the holidays!

Dairy Free Holiday Rum Balls

dairy free rum balls

One batch of Dairy,Egg,Peanut/Tree Nut Free Chocolate Chip Cookies (minus the chocolate chips)
2 cups sifted icing sugar
4 tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder (dairy free)
1/2 cup white rum
1/2 cup light corn syrup

In a food processor, process the cookies in batches until fine and crumbly.

Stir in the icing sugar and cocoa.

ingredients for dairy free rumballsAdd in the rum and corn syrup, mixing until combined.

mixed ingredients for dairy free rumballs The batter was quite gooey so I refrigerated it until it firmed up.
Meanwhile, pulverize about 1/2 cup of Enjoy Life Chocolate Chips. I used my Magic Bullet.
When the batter is firmer, roll into tablespoon sized balls and roll in powdered chocolate. (I went back and did them all the rum balls a second time.)

rolling dairy free rum balls in cocoa powderStore in the fridge to maintain firmness.

dairy free rum ballsEnjoy!

Tip : Dairy Free Rum Balls can be made ahead and frozen.

P.S. I like them better than the original!

P.P.S. As always, any products I mention in these posts are my own personal recommendations. No one’s paying me to recommend them. They’re just what has worked for our family. Your own needs and preferences may be different!

2 thoughts on “Vancouver Bound: Dairy Free Rum Balls en route

  1. Oh my yum! I will be making these as soon as possible. Would using a dark rum be going too far from the original though? What a simple allergy free dessert! Thanks for sharing the recipe 🙂

Shall we discuss?

