Girls’ Getaway: Vancouver here I come!

I am bubbling with excitement in anticipation of my Girls’ Getaway to Vancouver on Wednesday! (Rocky Mountains in Calgary are subbing in until I get there)

Perhaps not the time of departure…7 a.m…but excited none the less!

A little background information: My two best buddies, that I have known forever, live out in Western Canada…Calgary and Vancouver. Which to be quite honest is a bummer! I know there is email and the telephone but frankly…it’s just not the same.

My friend Anne lives in Calgary with her family. I have known Anne since Kindergarten when she lived up at the top of my street. Our friendship survived the many moves she endured growing up…proving long distance friendships can stand the test of time!

susan and anne

My friend Michelle lives in Vancouver with her husband. Our friendship began in Grade 10. She was new in town…we hit it off right away…and the rest, as they say, is history!

susan and michelleBoth Anne and Michelle are near and dear to my heart…knowing them since childhood…they are more like family! Sisters!

Turning 40 was a big year…we celebrated in style…New York City!

susan h. and her friends in NYCThat trip was the beginning of our Girls’ Getaways!

Lake Louise, Alberta 2010…breathtaking!

susan h. and her friends at Lake LouiseBeautiful Canmore, Alberta 2010…nestled in the mountains.

susan h. and her friends in CanmoreI look forward to our get togethers…tossing out my daily routine is liberating!

So far I believe, on our Vancouver itinerary, we are scheduled for a yoga class on Sunday (my last yoga session was this time last year with the girls in Canmore, Alberta!), a hike, dinner out at VJ’s (if we can get in) and a visit to Granville Island. Love all the funky shops and especially the Public Market: looking forward to selecting some fresh ingredients for an incredible homemade meal.

Visiting Stanley Park is also a highlight I hope not to miss! Stanley Park boasts 400 hectares of natural beauty…a 8.8 km sea wall encourages one to get out their walking shoes and take it all in.

No matter where we are or what we do…the comfort of friendship is what I will enjoy the most on this trip!

Planning my escape has a catch…my nephew is in a Double A Minor PeeWee Hockey Tournament in town this weekend…my brother’s family will be staying at our house!

Not to worry…I have a plan!

Basically, it is the meals that need to be organized: grocery store roasted chickens, rice, peas and corn for the first night, second night is made ahead and frozen Spaghetti with Meat Sauce and home-made frozen French Stick  (just needs reheating), and if the team is winning, the third night will be, made ahead and frozen Marinated Pork Tenderloins to be bbq’d, rice and brocoli. I have my Decadent Dairy,Egg,Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Brownies frozen they can defrost for a dessert.

I will also have my Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Lemon Blueberry Muffins (my nephews loved them this summer) and Pumpkin Oatmeal Muffins frozen and ready to reheat for quick breakfasts and snacks.

There will also be Dairy Free Rice Krispie Squares, Dairy,Egg and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Chocolate Chip Cookies and Oatmeal Chocolate Chunk Cookies (will be posted soon) on hand.

Lots of fresh fruit and cut up veggies will also be ready to grab for on the go snacks.

Yes, I will be busy in the kitchen for today and tomorrow, but it will all be worth it!

I am sorry that I will be missing my nephew’s tournamentsorry bud…but I know I will be there to cheer him on in his big tournament during the holidays…The Bell Capital Cup.

I adapted one of Michelle’s favourite treats that I make for her…shh…it’s a secret!

dairy free egg free rumballs from the food allergy chronicles

All will be revealed on Wednesday…until then here’s a clue…not recommended for children.

P.S. As always, any products I mention in these posts are my own personal recommendations. No one’s paying me to recommend them. They’re just what has worked for our family. Your own needs and preferences may be different!

7 thoughts on “Girls’ Getaway: Vancouver here I come!

  1. LOVE the pics, Susan!! It looks & sounds like you’re going to have such a fabulous time! I’m totally jealous!! 😉 Can’t wait to see & hear more when you get back!! Safe travels!!

  2. Have a great trip! And I think your friend Michelle will L-O-V-E the special treats you made for her. I was never a huge fan of said treats but I must say, after enjoying two, not just one of the samples you provided that you may have a convert here!!! Delicious in flavour and texture and just perfectly sized too.
    And what exactly is Anne’s special, thoughtful treat??? Cause you know that if Michelle shares, she is going to be jealous!

  3. Pingback: Coping With Multiple Food Allergies, Atopic Dermatitis and Asthma | The Food Allergy Chronicles

  4. Pingback: Day 3 in a Series on Cross-Contamination and Food Allergies: Purchasing Food Products | The Food Allergy Chronicles

Shall we discuss?

