Road Trip: Niagara Falls and Stratford, Ontario, Canada

The weekend before our Canadian Thanksgiving, I volunteered to drive my mother, her sister and their childhood friend visiting from England on a road trip.

grapes growing at a winery in Niagara region

Itinerary: Niagara-on-the-Lake for lunch, (unfortunately not enough time for a wine tour) a viewing of the breathtaking Niagara Falls and then on to Stratford for a matinée performance of the musical Camelot. (No Bieber sightings!)

It was a lot of driving…alot of driving in the rain. Our English friend sat up front with me entertaining me with his many tales of travel while the two sisters sat in the back chattering like school girls.

Luckily the sun came out when we needed it most giving us the most spectacular rainbow exhibition at Niagara Falls!

rainbow at niagara falls, ontario

“Hold on tight!”

rainbow at niagara falls

The ‘Rainbow Bridge’ in the distance.

rainbow bridge, niagara falls with rainbow

Check out the view from our hotel window!

view of Niagara Falls from hotel window

My mom and I.

mom and I at Niagara Falls, Ontario

Can I just gush a bit about my mom? You are looking at the ‘poster child’ for Type 1 Diabetes or as it was previously called, ‘Juvenile Diabetes’.

My mother was diagnosed with ‘Type 1’ Diabetes in her early 30’s. I remember the time exactly because for years I had a memory that I just couldn’t understand. Why are my brother and I living at our friend’s house? Where did my mommy go? Why does my daddy come for dinner, tuck us into bed and then disappear?

My mother turned 74 years old this year. I know…she looks amazing!

She has a clean bill of health for a diabetic: her cholesterol, blood pressure and eyes are all in check. Good management of a diabetic’s blood glucose levels can delay or prevent the many complications of both Type 1 and Type 2 diabetes: blindness, heart disease, stroke, kidney disease, and nerve damage. 

Her good health is attributed to the fact that she actually takes care of herself. She manages her Type 1 Diabetes with vigilance! She stays active and eats a well-balanced diet. 

In a world where Type 2 Diabetes is on the rise, my mom goes to prove that living a healthy lifestyle can make a difference. Research is suggesting that  Type 2 Diabetes can be avoided with eating healthy, physical activity and maintaining a healthy weight. For more information, check out the Canadian Diabetes Association web-site.

I think my experiences from my childhood of living with a mom that was ‘different’ than all the other moms’ helped prepare me for the life of living ‘differently’ with my boys.

Not only is my mom my ‘hero’ when it comes to living well, she is also a ‘hero’ to both my boys.  She sets a great example for all those living lives ‘outside the norm’: proving that living with a medical condition is not always the ‘end of the world’.

My mom’s and Michael’s ‘differences’ have definitely created a ‘special bond’ between the two…a connection only they too well understand. 

World Diabetes Day was celebrated on Monday November 14th 2011. It has been 90 years since Sir Frederick Banting, Charles Best, John Macleod and James Bertram Collip co- discovered insulin.

All those affected by Diabetes are forever thankful!

P.S. My husband was diagnosed with pre-diabetes summer of 2010. He was able to reduce his high blood-glucose by eating a healthier diet and increasing his exercise.

Does anyone you know have Pre-Diabetes, Type 1 or Type 2 Diabetes? Has living a healthier lifestyle made a difference in their lives? Please leave a comment.

P.P.S. As always, any products or sites I mention in these posts are my own personal recommendations. No one’s paying me to recommend them. They’re just what has worked for our family. Your own needs and preferences may be different!

2 thoughts on “Road Trip: Niagara Falls and Stratford, Ontario, Canada

  1. Beautiful photos!! I love the photo of you & your mom! 🙂 And I have to add, Camelot is a million times better than a Beiber concert with a million screaming 10 year olds!! lol! I love live theater… Next on my *wish list* to see is Jesus Christ SuperStar! 🙂

    • I was really hoping to take my boys to Jesus Christ SuperStar this summer but it didn’t work out. My mom saw it and loved it! My boys first Stratford experience was the musical Oliver Twist and then Peter Pan. The experience of live theatre is like no other! P.S. I agree with you totally on the Bieber thing!

Shall we discuss?

