Who wants Daiya (dairy-free) pizza?

The other day Michael had a hankering for something “tasty” for lunch. “What can I have?” he whined. Apparently, boredom of the same old, same old has set in. I could practically see him thinking. A light went off in his head and he asked, “Can you teach me how to make the quick pizza dough?”

Michael's Dairy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Pizza with Daiya Mozzerella Style Shreds

Our family celebrates the weekend with pizza night every Friday. Because of the boys’ allergies, I make my own pizza dough. It is super easy and quite frankly tastes a million times better than store-bought dough or frozen pizza any day. (My friend Michelle agrees. She doesn’t have any food allergies and makes her own pizza dough, too. 15 minutes and stand mixer with a dough hook is all it takes. Plus a few hours rising on the counter.)

I use my Black and Decker bread maker. It takes an hour and a half for the dough to be created, including rising. There have been times in the past when the machine has failed me. But usually because I didn’t push the container in properly so the paddles couldn’t do their mixing job. Very important step in the use of a bread maker! In the event that I mess up and the bread machine doesn’t work, I have a back up plan. That is where “quick pizza dough” comes in handy and what Michael wanted to try.

QUICK PIZZA DOUGH
This recipe comes from no other than Better Homes and Gardens NEW COOKBOOK.

2 ¾ to 3 ¼ cups all purpose unbleached flour
1 package of active dry yeast or 1 ¼ tsp
1 cup warm water (120’ to 130’)
2 tbsp olive oil

In a large bowl combine 1 ¼ cups of the flour, the yeast and ¼ tsp sea salt. Add warm water and oil. Beat with an electric mixer on low speed for 30 seconds, scraping the bowl constantly. (Michael used our Kitchen Aid Stand Mixer and didn’t need to scrape down the sides.) Beat on high speed for 3 minutes. Using a spoon, stir in as much of the remaining flour as you can. (This turned out to be almost a cup more of flour.)

Michael rolling out the Dairy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free pizza dough

Turn out onto a lightly floured surface. Knead in enough remaining flour to make a moderately stiff dough that is smooth and elastic. (6-8 minutes in total, he did 7.) Divide in half. Cover, let rest 10 minutes.

Makes enough dough to make two 12 inch pizzas.

Spread dough with pizza sauce (home made recipe below) and top with desired toppings.

(Any leftover dough can be rubbed with olive oil, placed in a container and kept in the fridge for another time.)

Leftover pizza dough makes extra pizzas for the next day

Bake at 420 F for 25-30 minutes or until edges of crust are golden and top is melted.

(Michael ended up defrosting more pizza sauce and creating his second pizza of the day! He must be growing!)

BREAD MACHINE PIZZA DOUGH
I said it before and I will say it again….I love my bread machine! What’s not to love about pizza dough ready to work with in an hour and a half? With the Delay-Bake Timer you can set the timer to delay the completion of your dough for up 13 hours.

I have never been intimidated with my bread machine. Key points to remember are: keep your ingredients fresh, measure ingredients in the order they list and make sure your measurements are exact. Easy! I have even lived dangerously and played around with the ingredients. For instance, I replace the shortening with olive oil in the pizza dough and the butter/margarine with canola oil in the bread and sweet dough recipes.

Pizza Dough for my Black and Decker All-In-One Automatic Bread Maker

1 cup water
1 tbsp extra-virgin olive oil
1 tbsp sugar
1 tsp sea salt
2 ¾ cups all purpose unbleached flour
1 ¼ tsp bread machine yeast

  • Measure first 6 ingredients in order listed into Baking Pan.
  • Insert Baking Pan into oven chamber, twist to secure.  Close lid.
  • Select the Dough setting.
  • Press start.
  • When the cycle is complete, remove dough from machine.

Makes enough dough for two 12 inch and one 14 inch or one 15 by 10 inch pizzas.

I usually drizzle a little extra-virgin olive oil over the dough before spreading the sauce and adding toppings.

Bake at 420 F for 20-30 minutes or until edges of crust are golden and top is melted and enjoy!

HOMEMADE PIZZA SAUCE
In the process of trying to find the perfect pasta sauce, I discovered the perfect pizza sauce! (My kids detest canned premade and seasoned spaghetti sauces. Only canned tomatoes will do as a base for their sauces!) Our pizza sauce comes from Modern Classics Book 1 by Donna Hay. It is her Basic Tomato Sauce recipe. I make a batch and then freeze it in mason jars. I have decided to freeze some sauce in ice cube trays so Michael has just the right amount of sauce for his mini pizzas.

When cooking with garlic and herbs, I tend to play it by ear. The size of the garlic clove determines, for me, the quantity that I will use in a recipe. For this recipe, in the winter months when I cannot pick fresh basil from my garden, I use all the basil that comes in those plastic containers.

  • Heat a large saucepan over medium heat. Cook 2 tsp olive oil, 2 chopped garlic cloves (I use 3), and 1 chopped onion for 4-5minutes or until tender.
  • Add 2, 400g (14 oz) tins of lightly crushed tomatoes (I use 2, 796ml (28 oz) cans of crushed tomatoes).
  • Add 3 tsp sugar and ¼ cup chopped basil leaves.
  • Simmer for 10 minutes or until thick and pulpy.

The longer it simmers, the tastier it gets in my opinion!

Enjoy!

Michael’s Pizza Journey
Pizza has always been a favourite of mine. In my opinion, the combination of cheese, fresh bread and vine ripened tomatoes is simply divine! Growing up, we simply ordered our pizzas or went to our local pizzeria. That all changed when we wanted to introduce pizza to Michael: his dairy allergy means cheese is not an option for a topping!

Michael’s first pizza was pizza dough spread out on a pizza pan with a drizzle of extra-virgin olive oil spread on top and a sprinkle of sea salt and dried oregano. He liked his dough to be nice and thin and baked until it was golden brown and crunchy.

In the past few years, as he’s become a bit more adventurous in his tastes, his cooked pizza became used as a medium for different toppings. His first topping was bacon. (I like Country Naturals Bacon by Schneiders. It is free of preservatives and nitrites.) I fry up the bacon, let it drain on some paper towel and then he breaks it up and places it on his cooked pizza crust. Yummy!

Michael advanced to adding cut up Black Forest Ham with his bacon. (I like Natural Selections Smoked Uncured Black Forest Ham by Maple Leaf. It has no preservatives added.) A real meat lovers’ pizza!

Michael loved the smell of onions and mushrooms frying up in a pan. He was encouraged to try it on his pizza. He loved it! He even tried combinations of pineapple chunks and pickled hot peppers!

Have you adapted similar recipes for your own food allergy needs? I’d love to hear about them. Please share in the comments!

DAIYA MOZZARELLA STYLE SHREDS
Daiya Mozzarella Style Shreds is a dairy-free vegan product that melts, stretches and tastes great on pizza. It won the 2009 VegNews Magazine’s Best in Show Award before it even hit the market! It is free of the following common allergens: dairy (casein and lactose), soy, gluten, eggs, peanuts and tree nuts (excluding coconut).

A package of Daiya Mozzerella Style Shreds

Daiya Mozzarella Style Shreds has given Michael the opportunity to expand his pizza experience yet again! He now likes to spread his pizza dough with home made pizza sauce (recipe included), top it with some Daiya Mozzarella Style Shreds and finish it with toppings such as ham and cremini mushrooms.

I first found this product last year at The Big Carrot in Toronto, Ontario. (A bit of a drive for me out here in Whitby, Ontario!) The Big Carrot specializes in organic, GMO-free and environmentally safe products.

(The Big Carrot offers free store tours with a registered holistic nutritionist. You can book an appointment Monday to Friday 12:30 pm–6:30 pm and Saturdays from 12:30 pm–5:30 pm. The tours are generally 30–45 minutes long. I booked an appointment, excited to be able to discuss my concerns regarding Michael’s food allergies with a nutritionist. I found the tour and nutritionist helpful.)

Unfortunately, at that time, Daiya Mozzarella Style Shreds was only being sold in bulk. As I do not buy in bulk, (cross-contamination issues) I had to pass. The company was in the process of repackaging their product in to individual sealed packages. I would have to wait.

In November, 2010, I happened to be in Canmore, Alberta, and was drawn to their local health food store. I literally screamed with delight when I saw they had the new and improved packaging of Daiya Mozzarella Style Shreds (no, seriously, I screamed. My friends thought I was nuts.) Crazy as it may seem, I purchased a package to take home. I placed it in an insulated bag with a freezer pack and placed it in my suitcase. It arrived safe and cold ready for its debut.

Unfortunately, Michael was not initially taken with the Daiya Mozzarella Style Shreds the first time he tried it on his pizza. Earlier this year, though, I found Daiya Mozzarella and Cheddar Style Shreds at the Real Canadian Superstore and Foodland. Michael was keen to try pizza again with their Mozzarella Style Shreds. This time it was a winner!

I am thrilled with Daiya’s Mozzarella Style Shreds and look forward to trying it in our Dairy Free lasagne and as a topping to bruschetta.

Always CHECK INGREDIENTS before you purchase products.

PS: As always, any products I mention in these posts are my own personal recommendations. No one’s paying me to recommend them. They’re just what has worked for our family. Your own needs and preferences may be different!

14 thoughts on “Who wants Daiya (dairy-free) pizza?

  1. The pizza looks fabulous!! I haven’t had pizza in forever… I found an article on your family online and can totally relate to your family.I am allergic to so many foods it makes my head spin sometimes… 😦 I figured things out through an elimination diet, but I’m finally going to go in for allergy testing soon. I’d like to see if there’s anything else I’m missing because I still get hives almost daily, atopic dermatitis, eczema, asthma attacks, etc… it seems to never end. Do you mind my asking how your boys were tested for allergies? Was it very accurate? Thanks! 🙂

    • Hi Carla. Thank you for your comment! In regards to the allergy testing, our boys have had both the skin testing and the blood testing. Our experience has been a positive one. I suspect I’ll write about it some day soon! ~ Susan H.

  2. Hi Susan – I’m so proud of you for starting this blog! I’m sure lots of other families just like yours will find it to be a tremendous resource. And for those of you reading this who don’t know Susan – I can tell you. She is an AWESOME cook.

  3. Pingback: Barbecued Pork Ribs and Homemade Barbecue Sauce | The Food Allergy Chronicles

  4. Pingback: Dairy Free Macaroni and Daiya Cheddar Style Shreds | The Food Allergy Chronicles

  5. Pingback: My Boys’ Favourite ‘Flat’ Chicken | The Food Allergy Chronicles

  6. Pingback: Dairy, Egg and Soy Free Turkey Pot Pie | The Food Allergy Chronicles

  7. Pingback: Cross-Contamination Series: Travelling with Food Allergies to Stowe, Vermont: An Overview | The Food Allergy Chronicles

  8. Pingback: My Sunshine Award | The Food Allergy Chronicles

  9. Pingback: Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Chocolate Chip Marshmallow Cookies | The Food Allergy Chronicles

  10. Pingback: Cross-Contamination Series: Romantic Get Away For Two…Biking In Niagara-On-The-Lake | The Food Allergy Chronicles

  11. Pingback: Dairy, Egg, Soy, Sesame and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Irish Soda Bread | The Food Allergy Chronicles

  12. Pingback: Taking A Break From Multiple Food Allergies…The Plan | The Food Allergy Chronicles

  13. Pingback: Daiya Pizza With Natural Selections Sliced Pepperoni, Ham, Bacon, Mushrooms and Onions | The Food Allergy Chronicles

Shall we discuss?

